We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beyond Resort Khaolak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beyond Resort Khaolak to your Saves list
Beyond Resort Khaolak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 / 69 Moo 1, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
X-Mas in Paradise
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We went to this hotel for a special occasion after reading many a write up and review and we weren't disappointed. Its a stunning hotel
staff really do look like they love their customers and enjoy giving good service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear CJett1987,

Thank you for your review. I see that you rate sleep quality with only 3 points. I assume its the solid beds? Next time please ask for a topper, it will soften the beds by quite a lot. The second thing is cleanliness where we scored not well. Kindly let me have your room number. ( robert@katagroup.com )

Again thanks you and I hope you have another special occasion soon to celebrate in Khaolak.

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    115
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
443
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

April 2014

We have just returned from the Beyond Resort and can't wait to return. Our accommodation was a standard bungalow which was very luxurious and was nearly as big as our house!!
An added bonus was couples only, so no screaming children around the pool.
The pool area was very clean and tidy with lots of sun loungers.
Beach front setting was beautiful and so clean, again with lots of sun loungers and umbrellas.
Thai people are so welcoming and the staff were no exception.
We only ate breakfast in the Hotel, but there was lots of choice and good quality.

Pam (Ipswich, Suffolk)

Room Tip: As far as we were concerned, all rooms looked good, although some of the villas had pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear AV14CYP,

Hi Pam, happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in the resort. too bad you had no dinner at the Resort, it's "Beyond" good. as you correctly observed there are 3 1 bedroom pool villas and 2 two bedroom pool villas right at the beach. stunning views. We also build another 22 Palm Villa ELITE rooms and will have them ready for a very private stay. 120 square meters completely fenced in with Jacuzzi on the terrace and a tropical rain-shower in the garden promise even more luxury.

Hope to have you back soon again

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

we booked with Hayes and Jarvis who we found the beyond resort and were able to include the weekend trip to elephant hills. we went at the easter break and found this to be a good time to
travel to Thailand as the weather is just right. The Hotel staff were amazing and so helpful at all times.The food was absolutely incredible in the hotel and there is lots of choice. inc Thai/European/ steak bbq etc and only a short walk up the beach if you want a change.we stayed in a premier room which we found had everything we needed and the little extras were appreciated.
5 pools with jacuzzi bubbles in each and a pool bar !!! beach was out of this world ,
KHAO LAK is beautiful national forest - quiet with a nice friendly vibe - taxi 20 mins to market x3 a week
we would love to return within the next couple of years and highly recommend the HOTEL BEYOND -personal thank you to the manager Robert who personally helped us throughout our stay - a holiday we will never forget - amazing -

Room Tip: go for the premier suite - maybe ask to be near beach -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear darenpeary,

Many thanks for your super review. Happy that you enjoyed thee resort and we hope to be able to welcoming you back for a another bite of Thai hospitality. BTW Hayes and Jarvis is our exclusive agent in the UK, so no need to shopping around too much....

Your sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was our first visit to Thailand and we will be returning to Beyond Resort again next year without a doubt. Upon our arrival at Phuket Airport we were greeted by our driver who did have cold water and soda for our journey to Beyond. On arrival at the resort we were warmly greeted and seated to enjoy a cold towel and fresh fruit cup with chilled water. We were promptly driven to our beautifully appointed room where our dinner arrived within minutes and it was the most divine Pad Thai Chicken we have ever eaten. What a wonderful start to our holiday. Each morning we enjoyed the Gym which caters for both cardio and strength training, is perfectly air conditioned with fresh towels and chilled water. Following our exercise regime each day we headed straight to the Beyond Cafe for breakfast which caters for every possible appetite.Our days were spent enjoying the magnificent white sandy beach and the Andaman sea which turned on the most incredible sunsets each evening without fail.The pools were spectacular and there was always plenty of choice with seating either by the sea or by the pool. The staff were so warm, welcoming and attentive.Throughout the day they would ask if you would like to enjoy a cocktail or refreshment by the sea or the pool without ever being intrusive. Extra towels were always available. The Beach Bar provided outstanding Thai cuisine, each meal was presented beautifully with all of the flavours of Thailand. Just when we thought the food could not get any better we attended the BBQ Buffet night and could not believe the taste sensations we experienced here. The entertainment each night was very relaxing and enjoyable. Our room was cleaned and our bed turned down each evening, the bed was very comfortable and the pillows were soooo good.We took the resort shuttle bus into the Khao Lak markets on a Saturday and certainly enjoyed this experience and seeing the Thai culture up close and personal. We caught a Taxi back to the resort for 300THB. This resort being adults only holds great appeal to us and just makes the ambiance of this place completely relaxing. We honestly felt like we were living the dream in paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm Villa Premier Rooms which provided adequate privacy, a small verandah with tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Cherie S,

thank you so much for your review and compliments. you will be contacted soon by Luxury Escapes and they will repeat their offer to our "ex"-customers as a tn=hank you for being our guests in the first place.

Looking forward to have you back with a friend or 2

Best regards

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A great resort in all ways. The rooms are plush and spacious. The Palm Villa Premier room where we stayed, located in the 2nd row back from the main pool area was a perfect location - private verandah and garden for each villa, and a quick walk to the pool, beach and dining areas. The resort felt spacious and uncrowded, always plenty of room by the pool or beachside on the deckchairs. Visually appealing pools and poolside area, very easy to relax and enjoy. Wonderful experience swimming in the Andaman sea- a daily treat - beautiful water. Delicious food at the resort, with other choice a short walk along the beach to the beachside cafes. Siam Restaurant at the resort was special. The fish curry at the beach/poolside restaurant was delicious. We had a fab time meeting lots of new friends from Germany and Switzerland. Carsten the concierge was very helpful arranging a day tour to the spectacular Similan Islands (SiamAdventureworld.com), again not too crowded and plenty of activity in various locations swimming and snorkelling (amazing up close and personal snorkelling with amazing fish and a turtle) and climbing the beautiful granite rocks for spectacular views - great tour company - guaranteeing a great time and safety - impressive . The General Manager Robert Frei and staff were ever so helpful - thank you one and all. Our transfer back to the airport by luxury motor vehicle 'Destination Asia Thailand' is highly recommended also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear paula j,

thanks for your feedback. Glad to see that you enjoyed our services and the resort in general. We hope you can make it for a second round in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

First and foremost the initial thing I have to say is that the resort and it's location are absolutely stunning and way more than we ever expected for a resort located just out of Khao Lak town. Like many previous reviews we also took up the deal advertised in Australia and being yearly travellers to Thailand for the past 7 years we wanted to try something different, the thought of a resort catering only for adults was an instant yes let's book.

I have taken the time to review previous feedback and one thing that has stood out is when people make "suggestions" or "raise a concern" the response from management has been either comical or very tongue in check replies like it's an attack on the service and resort which they are not and nor is the following from our experience. The main point I would like to make is that this review is our experience doesn't mean it will be the same for the next arriving guests. :)

After arriving on a 12 hr flight we were greeted warmly at the airport and boarded our ride to the resort, it's only a small thing but with other establishments that collect you a crisp cool bottle of water awaits you along with the ride, this wasn't the case and we had to ask to stop to buy some. Check in was smooth and hassle free and we were quickly escorted to our room which was large spacious and very inviting.

The accommodation was excellent and private and secure and certainly made you feel like not leaving the room which of course we did. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained heading down towards to fantastic pool area where you have plenty of choices to sit and relax and watch the world go by. I know it has been mentioned before but having some staff wandering around taking orders for drinks or food would be advantage as for the most part you have to get up and head to the pool bar or to the beach restaurant to place an order which they happily bring to you anyway.

We ate at all the food establishments on site and have to say that the quality was outstanding and really good value for money. The food is fresh and depending on which waiter you get served with a smile. We also ventured outside the front gates to the local family run restaurants over the road which was also excellent value for money, there are a few beach eateries as well which we only tried one very close to the resort.

The following are a few things we experienced and they are not meant as a whinge more as things we observed and felt could have made us vote a 5 star rating.

Bike Hire- we approached reception to ask about bike hire, they had no idea and referred us to the pool bar(other end of the resort), pool bar then told us reception are the ones to ask?. Finally got it sorted but we feel that being front of house these simple things should be known.

Food: reception informed us that the only eateries are the ones on site or in Khao Lak via the shuttle bus(fee of course), there are food establishment at the front gate as well as along the beach plus down the beach are other resorts where you can eat as well.

ATM: Reception informed us there was no ATM on site and Khao Lak was the closest, in fact there is a Bangkok Bank ATM located at the mini mart left of the front gate. TIP- they seem to place out of order on it during the day we think to stop tourists draining it, try after 6pm as we had no problems. :)

Pool: For the first 4 days of our stay there were no day bed mats so we used just towels as we asked the pool staff who didn't know, then suddenly 5 days later the mats appeared. They may have been getting cleaned but no one seemed to know. You are provided with 2 beach towels in your room which is great however sometimes you need to grab a spare one especially after a storm ect so when we approached the 2 men sitting pool side with the towel trolley to get another we were informed that there are no towels after 2pm. We have stayed at resorts twice the size of Beyond and never had a towel shortage.

Music: eating at the beach side restaurant we found that on 3 days running the music seemed to be on repeat and not just a series of songs but the same song over and over again, although humorous at first it soon became annoying and when we mentioned it to the staff they seems shocked like they couldn't hear it them selves. We thought we were the only ones until a number of other guests also started requesting they change it.

Overall our stay here has been wonderful and we certainly would recommend it to family and friends alike, the resort is a beautiful place to escape the day to day grind of life and with a few little tweaks could be outstanding in our opinion. This is our 3 rd time in Khao Lak and we certainly will be back, would we stay here again?, yes we would :).

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pools and beach as being located at the very start to the resort in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Drue S,

Many thanks for your detailed review. The mats on the loungers are brand new and did just arrive the day we put them out. The ATM Machine in front of the hotel is from the Siam Commercial Bank and not manipulated by anyone. The Broken Sign was on for a few days. We called the Bank often to speed up the repair, apparently something with he electric was broken. Now working is perfect condition.
I trust that Luxury Escape may contact you in the near future. There will be an opportunity to buy Vouchers again for the Beyond Resort Khaolak for a limited period.

Again thank you for being our guests

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We bought eight day package to stay here, which is our first visit to Thailand. The resort is fantastic and the amenities spotless. We have been very impressed by the courtesy of the staff and management. There has been a mixture of age groups here at the resort which makes for some good converstaions and people are from all over the world.

We usually go cruising and thought we would give this a try. We are converts to this type of holiday now. It isn't the place to go to if you want to part all night but if you want to relax and enjoy magnificent sunsets, great views and pools then this is your place.

We got a massages included in our package which I would recommend and had a Premier villa which was located close to the pool area. Having said that everything is close to the pools. I love the fact that there are no children here. So no splashing and screaming.

The food at the restaurants is very good. A lot of people were wandering to little restaurants and bars along the beach but I really couldn't understand as they were not that much cheaper. And the cleanliness of the kitchens and food handling is best world standard. I would rather pay a couple of extra dollars and know that I am not going to get ill from something I ate in an uncontrolled environment.

Feedback would be that a bigger wine list would be appreciated in restaurant especially red.

The beds are super comfortable and the room air conditioning worked a treat. The gym is well equipped also.

I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to kick back and relax.

We will definitely return

Room Tip: All appear good to me. The premier villas are in the middle of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Antoinette B,

Thank you for your excellent review off the resort. Happy that the Package you bought from Luxury Escapes was good value for money and we hope too have you back again in the not too distant future. Another promotion will be on Webjet as of next week. Can book now and use next year too.

Yours sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beyond Resort Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Khaolak

Address: 9 / 69 Moo 1, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Khaolak 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Creating memories, in romantic location... Beyond Resort Khaolak." Unspoiled sands, untouched nature, and undisturbed relaxation; Beyond Resort Khaolak is situated an hour north from Phuket International Airport. Famed for its white beaches, slow life style, and natural surroundings Khaolak is the quieter alternative to Phuket. Jungle-clad mountains, nature-based excursions, and boat rides are activities of choice. On the beach, looking out towards the Andaman Sea nothing stands in-between you and horizon's edge. Offering 177 luxurious villas in contemporary Thai-Style, Beyond Resort Khaolak brings the finer things in life right to your villa door.For our active guests we now offer Scuba Diving all year round.Note, this is an couples resort and allow only guests age 18 and older. Please note that if you pay your hotelbill by credit Card the hotel will charge you a 2% bank processing fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Beyond Resort Khaolak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyond Resort Khaolak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.