We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beyond Resort Khaolak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beyond Resort Khaolak to your Saves list
Beyond Resort Khaolak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 / 69 Moo 1, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Long Weekend for ME
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 588 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A great resort in all ways. The rooms are plush and spacious. The Palm Villa Premier room where we stayed, located in the 2nd row back from the main pool area was a perfect location - private verandah and garden for each villa, and a quick walk to the pool, beach and dining areas. The resort felt spacious and uncrowded, always plenty of room by the pool or beachside on the deckchairs. Visually appealing pools and poolside area, very easy to relax and enjoy. Wonderful experience swimming in the Andaman sea- a daily treat - beautiful water. Delicious food at the resort, with other choice a short walk along the beach to the beachside cafes. Siam Restaurant at the resort was special. The fish curry at the beach/poolside restaurant was delicious. We had a fab time meeting lots of new friends from Germany and Switzerland. Carsten the concierge was very helpful arranging a day tour to the spectacular Similan Islands (SiamAdventureworld.com), again not too crowded and plenty of activity in various locations swimming and snorkelling (amazing up close and personal snorkelling with amazing fish and a turtle) and climbing the beautiful granite rocks for spectacular views - great tour company - guaranteeing a great time and safety - impressive . The General Manager Robert Frei and staff were ever so helpful - thank you one and all. Our transfer back to the airport by luxury motor vehicle 'Destination Asia Thailand' is highly recommended also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear paula j,

thanks for your feedback. Glad to see that you enjoyed our services and the resort in general. We hope you can make it for a second round in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    117
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
449
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

First and foremost the initial thing I have to say is that the resort and it's location are absolutely stunning and way more than we ever expected for a resort located just out of Khao Lak town. Like many previous reviews we also took up the deal advertised in Australia and being yearly travellers to Thailand for the past 7 years we wanted to try something different, the thought of a resort catering only for adults was an instant yes let's book.

I have taken the time to review previous feedback and one thing that has stood out is when people make "suggestions" or "raise a concern" the response from management has been either comical or very tongue in check replies like it's an attack on the service and resort which they are not and nor is the following from our experience. The main point I would like to make is that this review is our experience doesn't mean it will be the same for the next arriving guests. :)

After arriving on a 12 hr flight we were greeted warmly at the airport and boarded our ride to the resort, it's only a small thing but with other establishments that collect you a crisp cool bottle of water awaits you along with the ride, this wasn't the case and we had to ask to stop to buy some. Check in was smooth and hassle free and we were quickly escorted to our room which was large spacious and very inviting.

The accommodation was excellent and private and secure and certainly made you feel like not leaving the room which of course we did. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained heading down towards to fantastic pool area where you have plenty of choices to sit and relax and watch the world go by. I know it has been mentioned before but having some staff wandering around taking orders for drinks or food would be advantage as for the most part you have to get up and head to the pool bar or to the beach restaurant to place an order which they happily bring to you anyway.

We ate at all the food establishments on site and have to say that the quality was outstanding and really good value for money. The food is fresh and depending on which waiter you get served with a smile. We also ventured outside the front gates to the local family run restaurants over the road which was also excellent value for money, there are a few beach eateries as well which we only tried one very close to the resort.

The following are a few things we experienced and they are not meant as a whinge more as things we observed and felt could have made us vote a 5 star rating.

Bike Hire- we approached reception to ask about bike hire, they had no idea and referred us to the pool bar(other end of the resort), pool bar then told us reception are the ones to ask?. Finally got it sorted but we feel that being front of house these simple things should be known.

Food: reception informed us that the only eateries are the ones on site or in Khao Lak via the shuttle bus(fee of course), there are food establishment at the front gate as well as along the beach plus down the beach are other resorts where you can eat as well.

ATM: Reception informed us there was no ATM on site and Khao Lak was the closest, in fact there is a Bangkok Bank ATM located at the mini mart left of the front gate. TIP- they seem to place out of order on it during the day we think to stop tourists draining it, try after 6pm as we had no problems. :)

Pool: For the first 4 days of our stay there were no day bed mats so we used just towels as we asked the pool staff who didn't know, then suddenly 5 days later the mats appeared. They may have been getting cleaned but no one seemed to know. You are provided with 2 beach towels in your room which is great however sometimes you need to grab a spare one especially after a storm ect so when we approached the 2 men sitting pool side with the towel trolley to get another we were informed that there are no towels after 2pm. We have stayed at resorts twice the size of Beyond and never had a towel shortage.

Music: eating at the beach side restaurant we found that on 3 days running the music seemed to be on repeat and not just a series of songs but the same song over and over again, although humorous at first it soon became annoying and when we mentioned it to the staff they seems shocked like they couldn't hear it them selves. We thought we were the only ones until a number of other guests also started requesting they change it.

Overall our stay here has been wonderful and we certainly would recommend it to family and friends alike, the resort is a beautiful place to escape the day to day grind of life and with a few little tweaks could be outstanding in our opinion. This is our 3 rd time in Khao Lak and we certainly will be back, would we stay here again?, yes we would :).

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the pools and beach as being located at the very start to the resort in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Drue S,

Many thanks for your detailed review. The mats on the loungers are brand new and did just arrive the day we put them out. The ATM Machine in front of the hotel is from the Siam Commercial Bank and not manipulated by anyone. The Broken Sign was on for a few days. We called the Bank often to speed up the repair, apparently something with he electric was broken. Now working is perfect condition.
I trust that Luxury Escape may contact you in the near future. There will be an opportunity to buy Vouchers again for the Beyond Resort Khaolak for a limited period.

Again thank you for being our guests

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We bought eight day package to stay here, which is our first visit to Thailand. The resort is fantastic and the amenities spotless. We have been very impressed by the courtesy of the staff and management. There has been a mixture of age groups here at the resort which makes for some good converstaions and people are from all over the world.

We usually go cruising and thought we would give this a try. We are converts to this type of holiday now. It isn't the place to go to if you want to part all night but if you want to relax and enjoy magnificent sunsets, great views and pools then this is your place.

We got a massages included in our package which I would recommend and had a Premier villa which was located close to the pool area. Having said that everything is close to the pools. I love the fact that there are no children here. So no splashing and screaming.

The food at the restaurants is very good. A lot of people were wandering to little restaurants and bars along the beach but I really couldn't understand as they were not that much cheaper. And the cleanliness of the kitchens and food handling is best world standard. I would rather pay a couple of extra dollars and know that I am not going to get ill from something I ate in an uncontrolled environment.

Feedback would be that a bigger wine list would be appreciated in restaurant especially red.

The beds are super comfortable and the room air conditioning worked a treat. The gym is well equipped also.

I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to kick back and relax.

We will definitely return

Room Tip: All appear good to me. The premier villas are in the middle of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Antoinette B,

Thank you for your excellent review off the resort. Happy that the Package you bought from Luxury Escapes was good value for money and we hope too have you back again in the not too distant future. Another promotion will be on Webjet as of next week. Can book now and use next year too.

Yours sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Where to begin... YOU MUST GO!!!
check in was amazing after a 27hr trip we were greeted with fruit and a cold towel also a glass of water. It was fast efficient and we were taken straight to our villa. The villa was out of this world, I have never stayed anywhere as beautiful in my life! It was spacious, light and beautifully presented. Really took our breaths away. The bed was also enormous :) the hotel overall was beautiful and could not be faulted. The staff were by far the friendliest people I have ever met in my life and for the people who complain about there limited English.... GO TO A ENGLISH SPEAKING COUNTRY ON YOUR HOLIDAYS in future! How ignorant! I found their English perfect alot better than my Thai anyway ha. And no they may not swarm around you every 2 seconds but I found Thailand a very relaxed country and if we looked over to them they came rushing over to help. What a lovely and fantastic group of staff they have, they made the holiday very relaxing. When I was stung by a Jellyfish they helped so much and again it's a risk you take when you go to these beautiful unspoilt countries but worth it. We were warned about jellyfish so our own fault.
The food at the beach cafe was simply to die for and although some people complained about prices compared to the beach cafe's, do you really expect to pay the same at a 4* restaurant than a beach hut? Although the beach huts were lovely nothing compared to the beach restaurant and we ate there most nights. Everything was so delicious and so reasonably priced for the quality of food you received.
The breakfast was also great. So much selection and everything you could think of. I had noodles a d waffles haha love it!
It was genuinely the most beautiful and relaxing holiday I have EVER been on!! I would not hesitate to come back again and recommend it to everyone I know.
The trips were also great and we sat down with a lovely guy a few days after we arrived so had chance to Settle in first.
The only suggestion I could say is maybe provide toilet brushes because although I found it hilarious my bf was a tad embarrassed having to get cleaners to come unblock the toilet due to his ... well you can guess what I mean haha but yet again the cleaner was lovely and very helpful.
Thank you for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear stace_the_face,

Thank you for your elaborated review of the resort. I am happy to read that you had a good stay with us. We have installed hand-showers in the toilets to help the flush and clean the toilets, I trust that is a much more hygiene solution than the standard brushes at home.

Anyway again, many thanks for taking your time to write your TA report.

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at Beyond Resort beginning of April for our first trip to Thailand and we are so glad we chose this hotel! So so many good points.

Check in was welcoming and calm, lovely cold towel and fresh fruit to eat whilst all the paperwork was sorted.

Our room was stunning. We had room 2401, overlooking the lagoon and the view was beautiful. Lovely sunsets and view across the lagoon to the sea. The room was huge! And beautifully decorated! The beds were so comfy and we LOVED the pillows!!! Because it is a premier palm villa, we got loads of extras like free mini bar refill and fresh fruit everyday which we really enjoyed! The toiletries provided were really good quality too.

The pools were our favourite part of the hotel, so beautiful and warm, and never felt crowded. We had some wonderful massages at the pool by Hna, foot massages were the best!

The food and drinks at the hotel were amazing. We loved the beach bar and ate there most evenings. We also loved the bbq buffet night! Fresh pasta cooked right infront of you! We loved the milkshakes and frozen cocktails too!

Carsten was really helpful booking excursions for us, our fave was a the elephant trekking and bathing!

I could carry on writing for ages, the hotel is amazing and we would definitely return when we come back to Thailand!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Charlotte H,

Thanks for your fantastic review. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed the resort A-Z.
We hope to have you back here soon again

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallentuna, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have just arrived back home to Sweden after 2 fantastic weeks at the Beyond Resort, Khao Lak in Thailand. This hotel is the most perfect place if you want to feel spoilt, to feel absolute relaxed, in wonderful green environment and at the most perfect beaches you can get!
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful! Upon arrival we asked to get a room closer to the pool area and we were lucky to get one! The reception staff were not at all sour for our request and helped us immediately! Thanks a lot for that!
The rooms are enourmous! And spotless Clean!! New beach towels and water bottles every day!
Breakfast is super! Anything you would like to have! Big selection of tropical fruits and juices!
Many of the staff are from the Phillipines and are very helpful and friendly! One of the waiters at the beach bar, Eddie, is also a fantastic singer!
The pools are the best ever seen! 5 different, even with jaccuzzi! Nice to relax after a long walk at the beach!
The so called White sand beach, which actually is south of the cape if you walk south at the beach, is not whiter than the beach at the Beyond Resort! We think the beach at Beyond is EVEN BETTER!!
Lots of nice typical Thai restaurants at the beach just North of the hotel! And lots of Thai Massage huts with professional staff!
The gym at the Beyond Resort is super! Both weights and Machines, stair Machines, running and cycling Machines.
We did not use the spa facilities at Beyond, as we think the prices there are far too high!
The area is very quiet and not at all crowded, just what we were looking for. A big + for your 18-year limit!!
The only negative thing we can think of is that we had to pay for rental of the cayaks or windsurfing equipment as we were travelling with Thomas Cook...It was free for other companies...
To sum up; If you are looking for a great hotel at a great peaceful beach, you have come to the right Place! Go to Beyond Resort in Khao Lak. We will definitely come back!!!
Stefan O and Marten R, Vallentuna, Sweden

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Stefan O

many thanks for your great review of our resort. I am very happy to see that you and Marten were happy here and you had a fantastic holiday. Sorry about the different Agent arrangements with certain things inclusive for some an not the others. As of May this year it will be chargeable for all guest, sports, bikes, shuttle busses etc. no more exceptions.

We are looking forward to have you back in the near future

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights at the Beyond Resort and it was absolutely perfect if you are looking for somewhere to get away from it all.
- Good pool/beach area with plenty of loungers
- Fantastic breakfasts with a huge variety
- Brilliant, spacious rooms which were cleaned to a high standard
- We ate at the beach bar once and it was ok - we preferred to head to the beach bars which were much better value for money and in our opinion really tasty - try the "Rasta Bar" (I think its also called Dawan Tang which had some amazing food! and also Elicious next door. Both brilliant
- No problems with communicating with any of the staff - all were friendly and spoke good english
- Spa - although more expensive then a massage on the beach was well worth it in my opinion if you are after a bit of luxury!

All in all a great place to chill out! Thanks for a fantastic week!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear PKB7,

thanks for your review and happy to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Next time you are in need of some R&R think of us

Best regards from Khaolak

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beyond Resort Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Khaolak

Address: 9 / 69 Moo 1, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Khaolak 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Creating memories, in romantic location... Beyond Resort Khaolak." Unspoiled sands, untouched nature, and undisturbed relaxation; Beyond Resort Khaolak is situated an hour north from Phuket International Airport. Famed for its white beaches, slow life style, and natural surroundings Khaolak is the quieter alternative to Phuket. Jungle-clad mountains, nature-based excursions, and boat rides are activities of choice. On the beach, looking out towards the Andaman Sea nothing stands in-between you and horizon's edge. Offering 177 luxurious villas in contemporary Thai-Style, Beyond Resort Khaolak brings the finer things in life right to your villa door.For our active guests we now offer Scuba Diving all year round.Note, this is an couples resort and allow only guests age 18 and older. Please note that if you pay your hotelbill by credit Card the hotel will charge you a 2% bank processing fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Beyond Resort Khaolak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyond Resort Khaolak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.