We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a little gettaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beyond Resort Khaolak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beyond Resort Khaolak to your Saves list
Beyond Resort Khaolak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 / 69 Moo 1, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Long Weekend for ME
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a little gettaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Beyond in Nov/Dec 2012. It was quite a nice expirience. The Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The Staff was very friendly. The Breakfast Buffet was the highlights of my stay, because they had real coffee, not this dark colored water they insist is coffee, that you get served in other hotels. You are a bit limited in choice because the hotel about 10 Minutes outside of Khao Lak. There are a few on the beach which serve good food at fair prices.
Just for completness sake, the weather was terrible as it rain almost every day. And a Grüezi to Robert the Manager, I finally got around to write a short review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Gruetzi Lightstorm,

Many thanks for your review. We understand that there is a limited choice of eateries and entertainment in the immidiate surrounding of the hotel, but for us this is a selling point, ensuring the promissed seclusive setting of the resort, giving a guarantee of privacy and charm of being good neigbours with nature. I am, nevertheless, gald that you have overall enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to have you back here again soon.

Yours sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    115
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
443
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Have just returned from a ten night winter sun break and wanted to add to the previous reviews.

This hotel is five star in all but name and is very good value given its location and facilities. You could not be closer to a typical Thai white sand beach with its smattering of rustic restaurants and open air massage beds.

All staff are very friendly and helpful, we had a car for our stay and the tour office had plenty of ideas for excursions in the surrounding area.

We do not tend to sunbathe but there were always spare beds if we wanted one. Happy hour spent watching the sunset sitting on the beach was a real pleasure and the hotel prices generally were reasonable.

"Captains Cocktails" with the hotel manager were enjoyable, (hello to Sue and Sue) and a good opportunity to meet other guests.

All in all a lovely hotel, quiet and peaceful yet within easy reach of the town may not suit younger guests looking for a wild nightlife.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Chris G.

Thanks for your entertaining review of our hotel. happy to see that you have enjoyed yourselfs here. We hope to have you back here in the near future again, should your travel plans bring you to southern Thailand

very best regards

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Beyond resort is just perfect. If you're looking for a relaxing beach getaway, Khaolak is a preferred choice over mainstream-too-commercialized-touristy Phuket.
We chose this resort for a 4D 3N stay when we chanced upon it in Groupon and after reading raved reviews about it here, we never look back.
When my bf and i first arrived, we were greeted warmly and given welcome drinks, fruits and cold towels. The receptionist then brought us to our resort room and gave us an orientation to the room. It was a pleasant surprise we were upgraded to the Palm Villa premiere, which is closer to the restaurants, pools and the beach.
The resort itself is beautiful, serene and opens out to the beach.
The pools are clean and there are plenty of beach lounge chairs for everyone.
The room is clean, spacious and the bed is comfortable.
There were not much toiletries provided so please do bring your own toothbrushes. The head-to-toe shampoo body wash wasn't great so bring your own too.
Not many English channels on tv; there's Cartoon Network (?) channel however this resort only accept guests aged 18years n above so what's the point.
Buffet breakfast was ok, I guess. They had a lot of pork as savoury dishes and too bad, my bf and I can't eat pork.
We dined at the resort restaurant for lunch and dinner. A combination of western and Thai menu. A tad expensive but delicious. If you're looking for cheap great food, head out right to the restaurants along the beach. But be prepared to be bitten by insects when night falls in. Good thing is, they provide insect repellants to all diners.
We booked for tours (elephant trekking and Similan islands tour) through Carsten (I think that's his name) on our first day. He's very friendly and helpful in offering advices regarding the tours. I would highly recommend to book via the resort as I believe they engage a tour agent that takes in small groups at a time so you can spend more time and have more fun.
We went for spa at the resort and it was very relaxing and nice. The spa therapists were professional and did a great job as we both asleep during the massages!
It was my bf's birthday on our third day stay here. After we came back from a tour, Carsten wished my bf a happy birthday when we saw him at the lobby. It's a nice gesture that he remembered small details like this as I did lightly mentioned abt it when we booked the tour on our first day.
What even more surprising was, there's a small birthday cake waiting for him in the room! It's great that the resort does things and surprises like this to make the guests feel special.
We were invited for a management cocktail that evening and that's when we met Robert, the manager. He's nice and friendly and really knows how to run the resort well.
All the staffs here exude warmth, graciousness and smiles.
We wished we could stay more in this relaxing resort but we had to head back to our hectic lifestyle at home.
We will be back for sure and would definitely recommend Beyond Resort to our friends!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Krimie

Thanks for your very nice review of the resort. I have already ordered Shampoo, Gel and Conditioner to replace the 2 in one. Thoothbrushes are always available through House Keeping. I trust you are the Singapore couple... it is only common for Asians to travel without thoothbrush :-), but again we have it on hand.
We hope that you are able to make it here again soon as for you its just a 3 hour travel affair from home to Khaolak and thank you for recommending us to your friends. Please check out Tur great green seaason offers with your local travels agents like Tradewinds.

Again many thanks

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We used Tripadvisor to find this hotel, and based on the earlier reviews here we had very high expectations for our stay Jan17th to Jan 26th. We were NOT dissapointed! Friendly staff, very good food, excellent location(best beach we saw in the area), new spacoius clean rooms, excellent pool area, sunbeds on both beach and pool...what more can you ask for! A special thanks to Head of Reception Oh for sorting out a double"booking" of taxis on arrival. Thanks again for an excellent stay in a fantastic resort!

Room Tip: Do a premium upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Tns1897

Many thanks for your review and we are happy to see that the services and standard of the hotel was to your satisfaction. And having a double booking upon arrival is better than have no booking at all..... as long as you only need to pay once.

Again, thnak you very much for your response and wwe hope to have you back here soon again.

Best regards

Robert

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Writing this on our last day before sadly returning to a cold and snowy UK. Our needs are a relaxing quality adults only property on a superb beach and the Beyond met our requirements 100%

Flew with Eva Air Elite class for around £300 each more than Thai economy. Timings were excellent from London (late night departure and day flight return) to minimise jet lag with very efficient connections with Bangkok Airways to Phuket. Well worth upgrading for very comfortable seats and great food/service.

Location of property is on beautiful quiet beach 15km from main town. There are numerous beach shacks within 5 mins walk. Favourites were Pason next door to hotel and Siam over the rickety bridge where you got a free lantern to light. Food and drink prices vey cheap (90 bht) for large Chang. This is how Thailand was 20 years ago before the brash resorts developed.Massages were available at all the shacks for 350 bht for 1 hr.

Palm Villas are detached and set in rows with amazing greenery and flowers. No view as such but lovely terrace to sit out on. Villas are extremely spacious with large bedroom/living room then separate dressing room & bathroom (large shower but no bath).

Pool area next to beach with plenty of comfortable beds. 5 interconnected pools with jacuzzis. Plenty of space for a decent swim.

Food & Bars: Our tour operator gave us great offer on half board which is not necessary in Thailand but the hotel food was generally excellent. Breakfast choice was extensive with great coffee. We alternated between lunch and dinner in the beach restaurant (no shoes required). The lunch and set dinner menus were great. The buffets were less successful but we are not keen on buffets personally. Drink prices were reasonable especially if you took advantage of happy hour.

Service from all staff was outstanding. Nothing was too much n, trouble and everyone was very genuine. We thought the standard of English spoken was excellent and never had communication issues.

We took advantage of an exchange trip to Krabi and really enjoyed our 2 nights there. The property is very contemporary in design on a great beach. We had a superior sea view room and it was great to have beautiful views of the sea from our balcony. Transfer took around 2.5 hrs by the hotel minibus. We could not wait to get back to Khao Lak as it is much more our style of resort and location.

In summary this was a truly relaxing holiday at a great resort and we thoroughly recommend it for a stress free quiet break.

Room Tip: We upgraded to Premier Villa. Physically the same accommodation but great location near pool and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Rhoosecatlover,

many thanks for your comments. Happy to see that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope you can make it a few days longer and really relax at the resort. Again many thanks for taking your time to write the review.

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

No kids, soft and a lot of international travellers, fine bungalows, clean, good service (when your english is understood). Mostly couples from whole Europe.
Fine pool area with chairs both on the beach and besides and in the pool ( the staff by the pool made their own business with marking pool chairs, gained some tips , I thought it was German people or Swedish people who did it already at 8 AM, but I was wrong , haha!).
Nice management, daily Englishspoken paper.
The bad side is the food, had halfpension paid and it wasn´t worth the money. Asian food, quite boring and nothing was warm, some of the buffets were ok when you had your meat or poultry when it was taken directly from the grill or from the wokpan, otherwise it was kept warm in traditional buffet style and cooked like some hours before, European food had lack of taste in generel, Of what I heard an improvement of food and also food safety was in progress just while we left in early January. Food on New Years eve was excellent, breakfast quite good, bread not so funny but there were many other choises. But overall if food is better and also things that should be hot there had been 5 of 5 in total.
Only thing my body didn´t like was sleeping comfort, hard beds, as often in Asia.
Friendly staff with a smile on the lips but not so professional for a four star resort and sometimes it is more preferable than professional smiling.
During our visit they hang up new flags by the beach, really ugly, and looking tucky, but that is a matter of taste.
Wish them good luck and with small improvements this is an ideal place to take some vacation in the warming sun- written in Stockholm and minus 16 degrees.

Room Tip: Either pay for an upgrade if you like to have close to breakfast or restaurant and closer to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Traveloholicman,

many thanks for your interesting report. regarding the food, I have a plan to introduce a " Cuisine a Mache " wheras all foods on buffet are cooked in very small portions and replaced with new items, hot and fresh, all the time. This will certainly eliminate that the food will be standing for a long time and guarantees fresh and hot.
We have toppings for beds for those who like it softer, including variety of pillows on hand.
I will move the flags away from the beach-front to the left and right of the hotels beach in order to have undisturbed views again, thanks for the tip.
You may not be aware of the staffing situation in Thailand. It is very very difficult to find any staff, virtually impossible to find good and qualified staff, lets not even tak about english. If i compare my front staff's English with those of our International 5 star competitors; I am VERY happy!

anyway the staff training will be starting again in 3 month, hope that we will be able to improve all levels of service and English on top of that.

Thanks again for taking your time to write your response

Have a nice winter by -16 degrees, we will enjoy another day with 33 + degrees.

Robert Frei GM and the BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I have just recently returned from a wonderful vacation at Beyond resort at Khao Lak. Everything was perfect. Wonderful, modern, clean, romantic, quiet and a lovely place. Good value for money. The friendly and helpful staff is excellent and the management knows how to run a resort of this kind. I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Anders

Many thanks for your short but excellent comments. Hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Actually its a great place in the May-October period too, last 2 years the weather in July and August was almost better than in high season, at very attractive rates.

Anyway, again, many thanks

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beyond Resort Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Khaolak

Address: 9 / 69 Moo 1, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Khaolak 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Creating memories, in romantic location... Beyond Resort Khaolak." Unspoiled sands, untouched nature, and undisturbed relaxation; Beyond Resort Khaolak is situated an hour north from Phuket International Airport. Famed for its white beaches, slow life style, and natural surroundings Khaolak is the quieter alternative to Phuket. Jungle-clad mountains, nature-based excursions, and boat rides are activities of choice. On the beach, looking out towards the Andaman Sea nothing stands in-between you and horizon's edge. Offering 177 luxurious villas in contemporary Thai-Style, Beyond Resort Khaolak brings the finer things in life right to your villa door.For our active guests we now offer Scuba Diving all year round.Note, this is an couples resort and allow only guests age 18 and older. Please note that if you pay your hotelbill by credit Card the hotel will charge you a 2% bank processing fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beyond Resort Khaolak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyond Resort Khaolak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.