We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond all expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beyond Resort Khaolak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beyond Resort Khaolak to your Saves list
Beyond Resort Khaolak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 / 69 Moo 1, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Long Weekend for ME
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 585 Reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond all expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

First impressions were fantastic, long driveway with large open spaces and imposing reception. Amazing resort, all outside areas were beautifully manicured! Rooms were superb, single storey detached villas, housekeeping service was impeccable. Breakfast was 5*, service and choices in restaurants and bars was first class (good steady supply of gin and tonic!). All the staff were genuinely friendly, helpful, very efficient and a pleasure to be with, they really added to the holiday enjoyment. The resort spa was fantastic value with a great range of treatments, which again was first class. The pools and loungers provided a perfect restful day in beautiful surroundings right on the beach, which was also immaculate. The local area, market and town provided a real Thai experience, the hotel provides efficient good value transport to and from. Overall Beyond resort has set a standard for us that will be difficult to better.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but if you can, treat yourself to a beach side pool villa - they are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Mark and Emily,

Thank you for your great response. Indeed the pool villas at the beach are somewhat spectacular and still in a very fair value for money relation compared to our "BIG" name brand competitors.
I am happy to see that your stay was enjoyful A-Z and we hope to be able to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sunny greetings from Khaolak

Robert Frei & the BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    117
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
446
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice Hotel, spacious and well designed villas (rooms), excellent food, marvellous beach.Staff is very friendly and efficient although communication is not always easy. You mostly notice only after a while wether they have understood or not. To understand their English can sometimes be some sort of challenge but goodwill on both sides leads you to the desired results. Once understood, requests are carried out promptly and efficiently. I liked the rather hard mattress, my wife did not. We particularly liked the local food section on the breakfast buffet, and the espresso. At the time of our stay nearly 100% of the guests were couples. Of all sexes. We appreciated the quietness of the place - no animation and no discotheque. We booked partly because of the prerequisite "minimum age 18" - so it said on the Internet - and hoped for silence. This was nearly 90% fulfilled. Exception was a rather noisy Italian child, the only one in the entire resort. And the strange singers in the bar in the evening - should get some musical training, perhaps. Really fantastic is the 8km sandy beach, clean and very nice for long walks. And with its cheap but good restaurants and massage spots. Altogether a great vacation. 2 Things I did not understand: you hardly can keep the room maid from exchanging the towels every day, in spite of the announcement in the room that towels will be changed only if left on the floor (no environmental concerns in Thailand?). And why are all prices in the hotel subject to add-ons of 10% ("Service") and 7% ("tax") whereas outside the hotel you do not find this strange habit? Moreover, the "Dertour"-folder in the lobby suggests that the "service"-Charge does not necesarily reach the employees...

Room Tip: We rather liked the position in the second row after the restaurant (seen from the beach) as there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Ul99,

many thanks for your lovely comments. First of all, I am very sorry about the unexpected child in the hotel, this is our first year of operating child free and some previous committments will see a kid here or there. Another minus was the singer at our @Beach restaurant, really not great and she is no longer with us now. But i am very happy to see that your overall experince was positive and you spend a couple of great days at the resort.
We hope to be able to welcoming you again, be that here or our sister property the Beyond Resort Krabi, another fantastic beach retreat.

Robert Frei, GM & the BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our first time to Thailand. Beyond Resort Khaolak exceeded all our expectations. The room was superb and beautifully presented. We particularly loved the sun beds in the shallow swimming pool. The breakfasts were fantastic with plenty of variety. We ate in the hotel a couple of times and it was lovely. We walked along the beach every day and found some fabulous beach restaurants for lunch and dinner. The Boatyard Restaurant was a particular favourite (a good 45 minute walk though). We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Geoff,

Thank you very much for your comments

We are excited to see your positive comments and hope that it will inspire many more potential guests to enjoy the splendors of Beyond Resort Khaolak, be that in a Palm Villa, Palm Villa Premier or one of our beach front pool villas

Yours sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & the BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Beyond Resort Khao Lak is a place that is surrounded by natural beauty and romance. Ideal for couples who want to relax. There are many delicious foods. The spa offers a very good service and employees. If you have a passion for the magic of the Beyond Resort Khao Lak course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Sawasdee Krap Khun Bhanuwat

Many thanks for your review and complements for our resort. We hope to be able to welcoming you or your friends and family back to Khaolak in the near future, to enjoy the natural splendor and sheer beauty of the hotels and surroundings.

Yours sincerely

Robert Frei, GM & The BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October. The two things that I really enjoyed there were the size of the villa and the beach. They are really amazing. You won't be able to find such beach anywhere in Phuket. The service is great. Very good place for a romantic retreat!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Julia,

thanks for your great response. With the no-kid policy in the hotel, true, we can about garantee a quiet and relaxing stay and with the Palm Villa Premier room type which we offer since 1.11. 12, a little more luxury at the top locations in the hotel is another plus point at Beyond Resort Khaolak. those room types are only bookable through the hotel though, agents do not feature those units. Hope we will see you again in the not too distant future

Robert Frei, GM & the BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and settings right on the beach. A very high standard hotel with nice staff. The beach and pools are great. The only negative thing for me about this hotel was the fact that it was à bit remote. It wasn't walking distance to shopping and restaurangs.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertthai, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Isabell85,

Many thanks for your great response. I beleive that in most agnecy brochures it is made clear that the resort is about 15 minutes away from Khaolak town. Indeed we are a bit away from the action, but we count ourselfs lucky to be in a more exclusive yet remote part of Khaolak, being able to offer our clients pure nature holidays, no traffic, no hassle from vendors, just being good neighbors with nature. For shopping and dining trips to town we still ooffer the 5 shuttle busses a day at local taxi rate, no rip off, not much expense. Furthermore do our Palm Villa Premier and Pool Villa guests enjoy still 3 shuttles per day free of charge.

But in any case, we are happy to see that only the distaance to town was a bit of a downer for you and the rest was to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Robert Frei, GM and the BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshafen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in Beyond resort for 9 nights. the resort is realy great. the bungalows are very well cleaned and have a realy good atmosphere. The pools with view on the ocean are amazing. The prices in the bars, restaurant and spa in the resort are good. The stuff ( housekeeping, Restaurant, Beyond Cafe - breakfast, Beach and Poolbar und Spa) was very helpfull, friendly and always very nice. Beyond Resort Khao Lak is a realy good place for a relaxing holiday.
It was a great holiday and we have to thank all the people how work at the resort and give it this good spirit. We felt very welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertthai1, General Manager at Beyond Resort Khaolak, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Andrea,

Many thanks for your response. Happy to see that you were happy with all services of the resort. As mentioned before i am very confident that our new Palm Villa Premier will even enhance guests stay more, best location, free amenities like schuttle busses, internet and much more at a very small surcharge. The pool villas you mention, correct, a dream by the Sea and for another 11 days at very little surcharge, as High season rates will become effective on 1.11.. But even then, compared with other regional resorts, we remain " fair ".
Again, many thanks for sharing your experience with others

Robert Frei/GM & the BRKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beyond Resort Khaolak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Khaolak

Address: 9 / 69 Moo 1, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Khaolak 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Creating memories, in romantic location... Beyond Resort Khaolak." Unspoiled sands, untouched nature, and undisturbed relaxation; Beyond Resort Khaolak is situated an hour north from Phuket International Airport. Famed for its white beaches, slow life style, and natural surroundings Khaolak is the quieter alternative to Phuket. Jungle-clad mountains, nature-based excursions, and boat rides are activities of choice. On the beach, looking out towards the Andaman Sea nothing stands in-between you and horizon's edge. Offering 177 luxurious villas in contemporary Thai-Style, Beyond Resort Khaolak brings the finer things in life right to your villa door.For our active guests we now offer Scuba Diving all year round.Note, this is an couples resort and allow only guests age 18 and older. Please note that if you pay your hotelbill by credit Card the hotel will charge you a 2% bank processing fee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Beyond Resort Khaolak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beyond Resort Khaolak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.