We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phen's Restaurant

Phen's Restaurant
Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 192 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We ate here twice while staying at the JW Marriott. It was so nice being on the sand by the beach. We loved the service - very friendly, attentive, and fast. The food was very good! The Tom Yum soup was excellent! They were also so kind to slice some mangoes we had bought from the market, and also agreed to purchase some mangosteen and durian for us for the next day, since we wanted to try these in Thailand. Lastly, they even brought out a can of bug spray when they saw we were swatting mosquitos left, right and centre! It was a lovely restaurant operated by such kind people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    34
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went here for lunch, wide ranging menu. Service good and quick. Food good. Not as good as Andaman but not bad.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chittaway bay
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited Phen`s again this year after enjoying the great food from last year. The food is great and the price is excellent. Unfortunately we couldn't sit in our favourite seat from last year at the front of the restaurant as it was raining most nights. Its is a great location just up the beach from the JW Marriott. The food is great. There are several restaurants along the beach from the JW Marriott and each one has favourite meals that bring you back. Phen`s has great spring rolls and pad thai. The staff are great and very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent "Thai" Food you can enjoyable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Highly recommend for eat here. All variety of Thai food is great there, fresh ingredient, delicious and best service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food at Phen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed several meals at Phen restaurant and after the first time they remembered us. This restaurant certainly takes "waterfront dining" to a whole new level especially when the high tide is rolling in under the platform beneath you :)
We sampled Club sandwich & fries, Garlic squid with Pepper, Hot and spicy soup and, lemongrass salad with Prawn, satay chicken, springrolls, fried rice with vegetables, Lab Gai and salad with pork with rice, all of these were very fresh made in the. Most amazing kitchen, with drinks each meal was around AU$25-30max. We never got sick from eating this food so found no need to try any of the other restaurants nearby that were still open egBlue Mist and Andaman, will go again when we return to akhao Lak

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phen's Restaurant also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Phen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phen's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.