We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, relaxing and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Banana Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Banana Bungalows to your Saves list
Khaolak Banana Bungalows
4/147 Moo 7 | Khuek Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Simple, relaxing and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Banana Bungalows are great! They offer simple accommodation in an individual bungalow setting with a pool and restaurant near by. The staff that run this place are very helpful and friendly - particularly Min and Tan.

We stayed here for about 5 days while we did a dive course and then returned a month later to stay before and after a dive liveaboard for about 5 nights again. The location of this place is great as it is 60m to the main street where there are many places to eat and drink. It is also only 5-10 mins walk to the beach which you can swim at.

The bungalows are simple, have air-con or fans, fridge, safe, bathroom (hot water) and another an out door shower and front veranda/sitting area. The windows have fly screens which is great for mozzies! The resort also has a pool/motor bike rental and you can eat at the Dive In restaurant is next door or head to the main street. Overall, I found the sleep quality to be good.

This place is no fuss, easy going, friendly, clean and affordable!

One thing - it would be good if they re-opened the bar area in the evening as it is a nice area to sit around.

Room Tip: Depends what you like but we got a room two rows behind the pool area but the pool area is generally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
1
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great basic cheap accomodation with great staff.
Nice swimming pool. Free WIFI. Aircom rooms with large bathroom.
Min on the front desk was excellant for advice and help.
Off the main road so quiet.
Nice place to stop while moving onto the live aboard diving boats.
Will use again.
Didnt use the restaurant at all. Great food at the end of the road on the right.... sit outside the mini mart. Cheap as chips and very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Bungalows are quit nice for the price. there is a small swimming pool and location is quit ok in town. 15 minutes walk to the closest beach. Free WIFI. Nice place to stay so !
Only one bad thing is the owner of the restaurant Banana Dive In Restaurant.
She was really awful and each time we get there. She move out guess when she want to close the restaurant even if we didn't finish to eat. She yell on the poor staff. She ask us to move inside the restaurant and not on the terrace because I use a computer. As i use computer during breakfast she want to change me 80THB (without said anything before). The girl give a very very picture of thailand ! the rest of the staff are very friendly specially people at reception.

Room Tip: dont go the Banana Dive In Restaurant !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was the fourth time I stayed here and its always a pleaser to come back here. You have free wi-fi and access to a pool. The managers (Min and Teng) both speak good english and where very helpful. If you plan to stay a bit longer it could be an idea to ask for a "better price".

Room Tip: Depending on what you like it could be a good idea to choose a room close to the pool. Then you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The rooms were clean and well equipped, nice quiet location with short walk to everything that you need.
Good pool which was kept fairly clean.
Main disadvantage was the internet was fairly sporadic in when it would allow you to use it. However the wifi at the front desk did work all the time and if you asked a couple of times they would let you connect to that.
Generally for the price quite a nice place.
Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at Banana Bungalows after a diving cruise in the Similan Islands and it was just perfect for me.

The bungalow had no frills but it was clean and spacious, with A/C, Wi-Fi, TV, safety box and swimming pool at an unbeatable price. The place is quiet and you feel almost in the jungle.

The staff is very nice and helpful. They arranged an excursion to the James Bond island at a very reasonable price and also hired a taxi for us for a very early ride to the airport. We also rented a motorbike.

The place is in a very quiet area but near to the main road of Khao Lak.

I would come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We found this place in our lonelyplanet guide and thought we would give it a try.
the room was moldy and smelled that way too. The bathroom hadnt been cleaned (toothbrush-stains on the sink). Just way to expensive for the shape the room was in. I would advise anyone to just look for a place when you are on location. There are much cheaper places that are cleaner. We checked out after the first night and stayed at another place that cost less than half the price and was better.

Room Tip: have a look into the rooms before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Banana Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Banana Bungalows

Address: 4/147 Moo 7 | Khuek Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Khaolak Banana Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Banana Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.