We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak to your Saves list
Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Petchakasem Road 33 / 3 | Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I love the pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Me and my friends stayed here for a month while we were training at the Muay Thai camp. Due to it being raining season the resort was closed but we sent an email and they opened the resort up for us. The kitchen wasn't open but the cleaners came in every couple of days to clean our rooms, it was lovely having the place to our selves. The rooms are decent and pool is amazing. Perfect for travellers who still won't resort style whilst on a budget. Thanks for the great stay

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Ayla R,
Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to accommodate you and your friends and although we could not provide all of our services, we’re glad it all worked out so well, I am sure that the pool was a welcome respite after all the hard training. It isn’t often one gets a resort to oneselves – don’t tell anyone, they’ll all expect this! ☺ You picked a great area to be in for your training and we hope we can welcome you back again.
Team Palm Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We planned our diving holiday in Khao Lak, to dive the Similan Islands and Richelieu Rock and decided to book at the Palm Garden Resort and Sea Bees Diving. The Palm Garden is a low-budget resort, somewhat far from the beach. Actually, you don't need the beach because the Palm Garden had a very nice pool. The rooms are clean, quite standard and the bathroom/shower is very spacious. I liked that!
The staff is very friendly and of course always willing to help. We had some communication errors we all had to laugh about. Don't expect the staff to be around 24/7, since Khao Lak is a quiet place with not many people around. The Palm Garden is in walking distance from the Tsunami Memorial, the Khao Lak Market and many places to go for drinks and food. It has a diving center located on the resort, so many divers book this place.

Only negative point I can think of is the noisy frogs and crickets that try to keep you from sleeping at night, but hey, you're sleeping in the middle of nature! Love the place and I would come again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear DeReuf,

Thank you very much for reviewing us. We are glad you had the possibility to experience both our resort and dive shop and we are even more pleased you liked both of them :-) Your comment on our Tripadvisor Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak site is also very much appreciated.
You are right, the Thai hospitality is very special and it is good to hear you enjoyed it.
We are sorry to hear that the frogs and crickets kept you from sleeping but, as you put it, this is Mother Nature! :-)

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here with our three kids for a week in february -13. Nice resort with one large swimming pool (wich the children loved), good service and nice staff. The food is average.

The bungalows have two separate one-room apartments, so if you're a family, be sure to book apartments in the same building (send an email to the resort when booking.)

Its a walk to the beach, but lot of pickups to take you there for a reasonable price.

A dive resort, but suitable for other low budget traveleres. Quit and peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Oystein K,

Thank you very much for reviewing us. We are glad you and your kids enjoyed your stay with us – and of course the big pool ☺
Your comment about our service and staff is very appreciated and we hope to see you back soon.

Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful, accommodation reasonable, breakfast cooked very nicely for you and brought to you at your table (so much nicer than buffet style hotels). The pool and gardens are excellent and very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Chrissy5359,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Palm Garden Resort and found it your liking. Thank you for the comment on the service which is appreciated. We are glad that you relaxed in your surroundings and hope that we can have the pleasure of your company again in the future - maybe on your next trip?

Best wishes from Team Palm Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spend a night at the Palm Garden Resort in Khao Lak beginning of December. The bungalows are set in a tropical garden around a refreshing swimming pool. The rooms are tidy and clean. The restaurant serves fantastic food and the staff is always friendly. The beach is in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello Will T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our resort and that you found everything to your expectations. It seems like you were able to enjoy both the Palm Garden Resort in Khao Lak as well as our resort in Phuket. It is good to hear that you liked both of them and we hope to welcome you back again soon J

Happy New Year,

Team Palm Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I spent two weeks in the Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak. As many guests there I planned diving holidays (as See Beas diving center is directly on the ground of the resort), but due to a cold I had to skip diving and hence enjoyed more time in the resort.
The resort is not at the beach, but in a side street of the main road in Ban Bang Niang. Which makes it nice and quiet. The village with all its restaurants as well as the beach are in walking distance.
The resort has a beautiful garden with a very nice and large pool in the middle surrounded by nice and spatious bungalows. The pool is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the view of the adjacent hills as much as for a proper workout (25m lengths for all those who are serious about swimming). It's also fun to watch the dive classes from Sea Bees Diving do their practice in there.
The rooms are spacious, nicely equipped, in good shape and feature everything you need. Each room has a little terrace which is great to enjoy the garden view at night.
The whole team at the resort is super friendly and very attentive. The little restaurant features very nice food at a decent price.
Nevertheless it is worth to check out the abundance of restaurants in Ban Bang Niang. Ask the manager, she will be happy to give recommendations. Also check out Coconut Beach and White Sand Beach, Khao Lak Ram Nu National Park and the nice little hike to Small Sandy Beach.
Having checked out some other resorts in that area I want to say that Palm Garden Resort is not as fancy as some of the big resorts in Khao Lak, but if you prefer it more personal, private and cosy, it is the place to go. I will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear WiebkeBerlin,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our resort though we were sorry to hear you had to skip diving due to a cold.

But, as you pointed out, you will return and we are already anticipating your arrival! :-)

We will pass on your kind comments to the Palm Garden Team and wish you Season’s Greetings.

Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roi Et, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Since 2006, I have stayed at this resort on a number of occasions. Each time I visit, I am amazed at the continued expansion. Additionally, the complex is well maintained and repairs are expeditiously made giving it a continual new look. The overall layout gives you a sense of privacy and intimacy. The rooms are spacious with all the conveniences you could ask for. A nice restaurant is located on the premises and, although it is not a “5 star”, the menu and service will please anyone. The staff is always helpful and available to assist you with whatever you need.
Complimenting the facility is the associated dive shop, Seabees. The staff is fully certified and professional. On top of everything, you can take your diving lessons on site, take a quick shower afterwards, and then relax with your favorite drink either next to the pool or in the restaurant/bar area. If you are not into scuba diving, a short drive will get you to the beach to relax, swim and get a nice suntan before returning home.
If you what a relaxing holiday, Palm Gardens Resort offers everything you can ask for at a reasonable price. I highly recommend giving it consideration in your travel plans to Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Wayne E,
Thank you for your review and for your patronage over the last years. As you have especially noticed the changes over the years and still return, this tells us that, although not five star, our efforts are appreciated. We passed your comments onto the staff regarding their efforts which they thank you for and send their best. The resort is not just geared towards divers but anyone who wants to relax and enjoy Khao Lak at competitive rates. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is not too long a wait.
Team Palm Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak

Address: Petchakasem Road 33 / 3 | Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst a beautiful tropical garden, the Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak is comprised of ten bungalows now, located around an inviting large pool with waterfall and jacuzzi..... a perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.