We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak

Save Saved
You added Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak
2.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Petchakasem Road 33 / 3 | Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful, accommodation reasonable, breakfast cooked very nicely for you and brought to you at your table (so much nicer than buffet style hotels). The pool and gardens are excellent and very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Chrissy5359,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Palm Garden Resort and found it your liking. Thank you for the comment on the service which is appreciated. We are glad that you relaxed in your surroundings and hope that we can have the pleasure of your company again in the future - maybe on your next trip?

Best wishes from Team Palm Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spend a night at the Palm Garden Resort in Khao Lak beginning of December. The bungalows are set in a tropical garden around a refreshing swimming pool. The rooms are tidy and clean. The restaurant serves fantastic food and the staff is always friendly. The beach is in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello Will T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our resort and that you found everything to your expectations. It seems like you were able to enjoy both the Palm Garden Resort in Khao Lak as well as our resort in Phuket. It is good to hear that you liked both of them and we hope to welcome you back again soon J

Happy New Year,

Team Palm Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I spent two weeks in the Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak. As many guests there I planned diving holidays (as See Beas diving center is directly on the ground of the resort), but due to a cold I had to skip diving and hence enjoyed more time in the resort.
The resort is not at the beach, but in a side street of the main road in Ban Bang Niang. Which makes it nice and quiet. The village with all its restaurants as well as the beach are in walking distance.
The resort has a beautiful garden with a very nice and large pool in the middle surrounded by nice and spatious bungalows. The pool is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the view of the adjacent hills as much as for a proper workout (25m lengths for all those who are serious about swimming). It's also fun to watch the dive classes from Sea Bees Diving do their practice in there.
The rooms are spacious, nicely equipped, in good shape and feature everything you need. Each room has a little terrace which is great to enjoy the garden view at night.
The whole team at the resort is super friendly and very attentive. The little restaurant features very nice food at a decent price.
Nevertheless it is worth to check out the abundance of restaurants in Ban Bang Niang. Ask the manager, she will be happy to give recommendations. Also check out Coconut Beach and White Sand Beach, Khao Lak Ram Nu National Park and the nice little hike to Small Sandy Beach.
Having checked out some other resorts in that area I want to say that Palm Garden Resort is not as fancy as some of the big resorts in Khao Lak, but if you prefer it more personal, private and cosy, it is the place to go. I will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear WiebkeBerlin,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our resort though we were sorry to hear you had to skip diving due to a cold.

But, as you pointed out, you will return and we are already anticipating your arrival! :-)

We will pass on your kind comments to the Palm Garden Team and wish you Season’s Greetings.

Team Palm Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roi Et, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Since 2006, I have stayed at this resort on a number of occasions. Each time I visit, I am amazed at the continued expansion. Additionally, the complex is well maintained and repairs are expeditiously made giving it a continual new look. The overall layout gives you a sense of privacy and intimacy. The rooms are spacious with all the conveniences you could ask for. A nice restaurant is located on the premises and, although it is not a “5 star”, the menu and service will please anyone. The staff is always helpful and available to assist you with whatever you need.
Complimenting the facility is the associated dive shop, Seabees. The staff is fully certified and professional. On top of everything, you can take your diving lessons on site, take a quick shower afterwards, and then relax with your favorite drink either next to the pool or in the restaurant/bar area. If you are not into scuba diving, a short drive will get you to the beach to relax, swim and get a nice suntan before returning home.
If you what a relaxing holiday, Palm Gardens Resort offers everything you can ask for at a reasonable price. I highly recommend giving it consideration in your travel plans to Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Wayne E,
Thank you for your review and for your patronage over the last years. As you have especially noticed the changes over the years and still return, this tells us that, although not five star, our efforts are appreciated. We passed your comments onto the staff regarding their efforts which they thank you for and send their best. The resort is not just geared towards divers but anyone who wants to relax and enjoy Khao Lak at competitive rates. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is not too long a wait.
Team Palm Garden Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Khao Lak for a week and a half to go diving and it was great. Palm Garden is a good basis for discovering Khao Lak.
Rooms are good and staff are friendly.
Its pretty quiet in Khao Lak (compared to Phuket) so be aware that the Palm Garden restaurant can be closed early at night.
Easy to rent a bike at the resort and go explore the neighbourhood.
I would recommend Palm Garden to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear ZandstraP,
Thank you for your review. As Palm Garden was designed with divers in mind, it allows you to make the most of the creature comforts you want at a competitive price. And, yes, its location does make it easy to go "either way" when discovering Khao Lak. Ye, it i quieter than Phuket but most of our visitors are grateful for that!
Best wishes from Palm Garden Resort staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The rooms are comfortable, the amenities are average. Don't expect 24 hour service though, this is a small resort and the staff leaves at 9pm and you are pretty much on your own. Had toilet overflow issues and air condition leakage in the night which got dealt with only in the day. All in all we liked the peace and quiet. Free wifi helps when the TV has nothing in english! The beach and town are a good walk away but the pool is nice. Overall experience was good with a few glitches. Beds are comfy but the pillows are rock hard. Please remember that you are in a tropical place and mosquitos, bugs, lizards, etc. are part of the territory. Go prepared. We dived with Sea Bees and loved it. Please read related review for them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

With the prices that we paid for that hotel, we were hoping for something amazing...but were disappointed...

The staff is amazing. Couldn't say anything bad about them at all. welcoming and helpful...

Now onto the rooms. upon entering, we were impressed. Looked clean and comfortable. Until we entered the bathroom. There was a stench of swamp and mildew that overran the place, the toilet was leaky, and hot water was not a constant. Another major issue was that it was infested with mosquito. we were being bitten in all hours. I had to go out and get insect inscents to keep them at bay. The staff all disappears by 8pm every night, and we had one night there without water for about 5 hours, and no one to reach by telephone or any other means.

The only reason we stayed there was because it was recommended by Sea Bees diving company, as they are attached to the hotel. I will dive with Sea Bees again if I ever return to Thailand, but will stay at another hotel...

Room Tip: The hotel next door has great rooms, from what I'm told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Pink Panda
Thank you for your review and we would like to answer your concerns.
We know that our prices are very much in line with the going rates and, in fact, are considered to be quite competitive.
Unfortunately, the infrastructure within the Khao Lak area means that the whole area suffers from power cuts, not just ourselves, and these tend to occur in the late afternoon/early evening at a time of maximum use.
We do realise that mosquitoes can be a problem, especially at dusk, but we try to avoid the heavy chemicals used by many resorts and instead use natural repellents such as citronella to contain them as much as possible.
We apologise for the staffing issue you experienced. This was a one-off situation and was quickly rectified by the Manager.
We do hope though that we can welcome you back in the future and that you had a pleasant stay overall in Thailand.
Your Palm Garden Team Khao Lak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak

Address: Petchakasem Road 33 / 3 | Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst a beautiful tropical garden, the Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak is comprised of ten bungalows now, located around an inviting large pool with waterfall and jacuzzi..... a perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Garden Resort Khao Lak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.