We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smile Khaolak Restaurant

Smile Khaolak Restaurant
5/15 Moo 7,Phetkasem Road,Khukkak | 5/15 Moo 7, Phetkasem Road, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
+66833912600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 192 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Vegetarian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Finland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Friendly service and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

In Thailand I always order Tom Yam Kung soup to get right feeling about how kitchen produce food. I asked my soup Thai spicy aka Hot. Pretty close they made it and promissed even hotter for second visit. Beer is cold and atmosphere was ok. Christmas season pricing but still reasonable. My philosophy is supporting local family restaurants.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    95
    40
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“#1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

The owner ensures this small boutique restuarant lives up to its #1 position on Trip Advisor. Some lovely Thai dishes and great international cuisine with some free alcoholic beverages at the end.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent Food, Excellent service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

The food is fresh and authentic. The owner and his staff make you feel welcome. Have eaten here several times in our travels to Khao Lak over the last two years. It is always busy when we go.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food; very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

Based on the tripadvisor reviews we went to Smile, which is a very nice and cosy restaurant with a French owner and his Thai wife. The foods on the card, as well as the specials are shown by the service staff directly at the table on a real plate with the real food. She explains every ingredient.
We sat at an outside table and enjoyed the whole evening with excellent food. A big part of the success is most likely to be put down to the very nice, cheerful and charming owner.

First we received greetings from the kitchen with a plate of different fried won ton items – yummy. For dinner we had chicken satay as appetizer, Phad Kra Prao minced pork fried with hot basil, onions, in a young chilli sauce and Kang Dang (red) curry with fresh coconut milk, local vegetables, pork, sweet basil and kefir lime leafs. For dessert we had a mango, which was very tasty.

Food was fantastic and we would go back to Smile anytime and therefore highly recommend Smile to everyone who appreciates good quality food, Thai spices and a portion of French charm.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

The food was ok... The drinks were cold! The combination of Thai and western were interestingly tasty! Kids were well catered for even an offer to change the menu to suit their taste. If you are entering the Khao Lak centre Smile is worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile Khaolak Restaurant also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Smile Khaolak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smile Khaolak Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.