We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in khao lak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantary Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kantary Beach to your Saves list
Kantary Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   64, 65 Moo2, Kukkak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel in khao lak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We spent ten days at Kantary beach resort in khao lak Thailand. What a beautiful place tranquil relaxing awesome food very affordable in the off season the staff were wonderful so friendly and happy to help highly recommended. Look out for deals for the off season we had ten nights in a luxury villa for $300 AUD.

Room Tip: The villas are spacious and self contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    129
    28
    13
    2
See reviews for
114
213
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in many other hotels in Thailand I felt this was one of the lesser ones. Don't get me wrong, the rooms were very tidy and well equipped and the food in the only open restaurant was fine,but the attention to detail was just not there.
The breakfast buffet was ok but throughout our two weeks there was hardly any change to the choice.
The night time menu was strangely very limited on its choice of Thai food and was more intent on western style, garlic bread and pizza etc
Darren,the guest relations officer was very helpful with advice and recommendations and Thankyou to him.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
The Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak thanks you for your review. Your comments and recommendations are appreciated, and are taken into account as we continue to provide the best service and facilities possible for our guests.
Your statement of gratitude to Darren, our guest relations officer, will definitely be relayed to him as soon as possible.
Your remarks regarding our food and beverage options have been noted and will be taken into consideration.
We are glad to hear that our rooms met your expectations, and if you have any further suggestions or recommendations, please feel free to contact me at gm@kantarybeach-khaolak.com. Thank you again for your review, we truly hope to have an opportunity to see and serve you again.

Sincerely yours,

General Manager,
Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We spent 2 weeks here on our first visit to Thailand. The rooms were a good size with living room, microwave, sink and fridge, also a large balcony. The staff were very friendly and polite and always had a smile. The hotel is right on the beach and in July/August the beach and pool were not crowded at all. The hotel restaurant served great food, but if you want to eat elsewhere you need to get the bus or a taxi into town as it's too far to walk. It was perfect for a very relaxed holiday. There were trips available to book e.g. temple tours, elephant bathing, snorkelling etc.
We would definitely visit Bangkok or Chang Mai next time on the way there to see a bit more of Thailand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
The Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak thanks you for your thorough and comprehensive review of our hotel. We are elated to hear that you and everyone in your party had an enjoyable time while staying with us and that you find our beachfront villas spacious and comfortable. Your compliments to our masseuses and guest relations staff have been noted and will be relayed to them as soon as possible.
Our facilities and services have been refined in order to ensure that our guests have the most pleasant and enjoyable stay possible. We are proud to know that you and your party were able to have a memorable experience with the aid of our hotel. And we are happy to hear that you were able to explore the surrounding area and enjoy activities booked through our concierge.
Thank you again for your excellent review. We appreciate your kind words, and we truly hope to have an opportunity to see and serve the Slineys, Cooks, Limericks and Adamsons again.

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Not many positives to say.. Only spacious villas and the cleaning staff were great!

Apart from that the other hotel staff barely smiled or said hello. The breakfast staff bar one young man looked sad and were unhelpful. The breakfast it's self was poor compared with other hotels, even ran out of bread one morning.. Not impressed.

No wifi in rooms you have to pay extra.. And only get one key card so we locked our selves out..


Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeandKantary, General Manager at Kantary Beach, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Claire G,

The Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Laks thanks you for your visit and is glad to hear you found our villas spacious and clean. However, please accept my apology on behalf of everyone at the hotel for not meeting your expectations. We strive for perfection in every guests eyes and try accomplish every goal we have established to ensure a fantastic holiday. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@kantarybeach-khaolak.com. Thank you once more for choosing Kantary Beach, Khao Lak as your vacation destination and we hope this one bad experience does not stop you from returning again.

Sincerely Yours,
General Manager,
Kantary Beach, Khao Lak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at this resort. We have 7 villas, 2 of which are beachfront villas. The best beachfront villas are numbers 1169, 1168, 1167, 1166 and 1165. These are close to the restaurant. There are other beachfront villas but they aren't as well appointed as these 5. The villas behind these are great for the rest of a group/family who don't want to pay the extra. The villas are huge and really comfortable with nice balconies. The breakfast is really great and more than adequate. The egg station is wonderful. The Andaman restaurant is pretty good as well with a great selection. We found the Thai food to be pretty nice and the pizzas and pasta were actually very nice and a great option when the chilli takes its toll! The Similian restaurant was closed as it is currently low season. The beach is stunning and we spent hours floating around on blow up lilos which we purchased at the hotel mini mart. There is a tailor on site who is pretty reasonable and convenient. The staff here are fantastic! Darren the English guest relations officer was outstanding. Sadly he went on holiday the day we arrived, however he spent a good amount of time with us before leaving, giving us loads of local info and advice! Thanks Darren! Pascal, the German guest relations officer is outstanding as well and always helpful. The massages at the hotel are awesome - May, Ju and Nam - were exemplary! You don't need to go into town for massages, but book early as they get booked up quickly. Book the Elephant bathing and riding through the hotel - it is fantastic! We paid 1800 baht pp (little kids free). It was so much more personal than previous experiences and the guys really treated their elephants well. Khao Lak is a great little town. Fab markets on Mon Wed and Sat at Bang Niang. There is great street food at these markets that is safe to eat. Mars Bar in Bang Niang is quirky and cute. Mars is a legend! Thursday night is Ladies Night - so dress up boys and get half price drinks. If you don't have a dress, Mars has a selection on site! Hire scooters from the hotel if you are brave enough to ride one as it is cheaper to ride into town than continually get taxis. The hotel is about 10 minutes from town. The hotel has a shuttle a couple of times per day which costs 100 baht pp. We found this excessive as we had a group of 12 adults. It worked out cheaper to arrange with the town taxis to pick us up. We got the mobile number of one taxi guy (Oh) and he was very reliable. The taxis charged us 400 baht per taxi which was big enough for 6 people. If there are only 2 people, they will charge 300 baht.
Overall, we had the time of our lives at this resort. We are sad to leave and would not hesitate in recommending to others. NB though that they are a kid free hotel in the high season. However, we would prefer not to come here in the high season as it is a large resort and when it is full to capacity it may not be as relaxing as what it is in the low season. The weather here whilst we stayed was fine. We had some beautiful days and a bit of rain which was most welcome! Thank you Kantary - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! From the Slineys, Cooks, Limericks and Adamsons!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
The Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak thanks you for your thorough and comprehensive review of our hotel. We are elated to hear that you and everyone in your party had an enjoyable time while staying with us and that you find our beachfront villas spacious and comfortable. Your compliments to our masseuses and guest relations staff have been noted and will be relayed to them as soon as possible.
Our facilities and services have been refined in order to ensure that our guests have the most pleasant and enjoyable stay possible. We are proud to know that you and your party were able to have a memorable experience with the aid of our hotel. And we are happy to hear that you were able to explore the surrounding area and enjoy activities booked through our concierge.
Thank you again for your excellent review. We appreciate your kind words, and we truly hope to have an opportunity to see and serve the Slineys, Cooks, Limericks and Adamsons again.

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here in august 2014. Had a villa which had everything you need including an outside shower which was good. Had a microwave and cutlery etc. separate lounge area. Great pools and plenty of beach frontage. Pools were never crowded. Not many eating areas around other than hotel. Hotel for was good with happy hours which were good value. Shuttle bus into town. Will stay again. Breakfast great. Everything there.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
The Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel, as your feedback is quite valuable to us.
We are proud to hear that our rooms, facilities, food, staff and services all met your expectations, and we are happy to hear that you plan to stay with us in the future. If you have any further comments or questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@kantarybeach-khaolak.com. We look forward to seeing and serving you again.

Sincerely yours,

General Manager
Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was our second stay at Kantary Beach resort and we we once again bowled over by its charm and lovely staff. The villa rooms are amazingly spacious and for the price we paid (Groupon voucher) it was amazing value. We ended up staying only 4 nights out of the 7 as we decided to visit Krabi as we had hired a car.

If you decide to hire a vehicle this area offers some amazing sights - the national park at Khao Sak is beautiful and there are tons of things to see and do that are less 'touristy' than on Phuket.

Will be back for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We at the Kantary Beach Hotel, Khao Lak are quite pleased to know that you enjoyed your second stay with us. We strive to provide the most pleasant experience possible for all of our guests, and we are happy to know that on your second visit that our rooms and staff met your expectations.
Thank you very much for your review. We truly hope to see and serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kantary Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Beach

Address: 64, 65 Moo2, Kukkak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the few remaining stretches of pristine beach in Phang Nga, just north of Phuket, the Kantary Beach is simply breathtaking. Comprised of elegant and modern suites and serene and private bungalows, the hotel fronts a stunning beach and is surrounded by lush, tropical foliage, two relaxing lakes and the hills of Phang Nga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kantary Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantary Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.