We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de La Flora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa de La Flora to your Saves list
Casa de La Flora
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 / 213 Moo 5, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

If you'd like to find a place to hide yourself from a hectic world or a place to pamper yourself, I highly recommend you booking at Casa de la Flora. A one-hour-limousine drive from Phuket international airport to Na-tien beach, Patong , Pang Nga. The hotel itself has a very distinctive nice architecture and corporate design. With a cement base building collaborate with wooden furniture, it's quite a new mixture that you hardly find in such hotel in Thailand. Simple, elegance, peaceful but yet cozy atmosphere are the feelings from me towards the Casa. We spent 3 nights there and feel like it's not enough. Once you walked into the Casa, you don't feel like doing anything just sit back and relax. Every afternoon, we were treated with a small portion of nice-decorated-Thai-dessert to wake up our appetite to be ready for dinner. Our spacious room come with a pool and jacuzzi which give us a privacy enjoyment. A breakfast at La Aranya, the hotel's bar and restaurant, came in a various sets of Thai, Japanese or European style upon your request with unlimited fresh fruit juice and a very nice selections of cheese. Every dishes not only came with a very nice decoration, but yet fresh recipe and tasty that you can't bear yourself picking up your camera before you grasp a fork. We were indeed very happy with the time and money spending here in Casa de la Flora. And already booked in mind of revisiting here again so soon. 

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear pynxpanter,

Thank you very much for taking your time to left valuable comment here in Tripadvisor. We all pleased to know that your staying was an enjoyable one.

It is nice to hear that you already consider a re-visit us, and as you have mentioned "wpent 3 night and feel like it's not enough", 2 weeks stay for your next trip would be nice :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    44
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
220
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We spent 3 days there at beachfront pool villa. Really fall in love with everything esp the sea view from our room. The hotel itself is newly furnished with modern and contemporary touch of style. It is a real piece of art!!! The staffs are very helpful and service-minded. We really got a very warm welcome and a great service here. The food is also amazing. They offer variety of food and drink here at the restaurant. We really enjoyed our big breakfast as well as lunch and dinner. We really had a blast time here at Casa de la Flora. We did enjoy staying in our room that we barely left the room...Just chill out on the balcony with the sea breeze..sunbahte and swim in our very own private pool...nothing we could ask for more!!! You shouldn't miss out the infinity pool too...another piece of art...Love it :) We definitely come back here again next time we visit Phang Nga..."Casa de la Flora" is highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear PatChaikul,

It is nice to see your review here in Tripadvisor, especially when you started with "Best get-away beach trip ever :)"

We all pleased to know that you have had a memorable experience and enjoy your staying with us. As you have mentioned, we look forward to welcoming you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Disappointing: the price doesn't correspond to the performance!
This November we have spent 1 week in Casa de la Flora, Thailand. Recommanded as a design hotel, opened April 2011 with special beachfront villas. We booked the 75m2 version. First disappointment: 75m2 was inclusive the garden and small pool! (the room and the bathrom was without a divider wall but with a bath tube of ca.4m2 (who the hell needs such a bath tube?). No sofa, no chair in the room. We could only sit on the bed. The small wardrobe (for us - 2 ladies) was more a big joke. We paid then € 40,- per night for the upgrade to the suite (again 110m2 incl.the pool and garden). 2nd disappointment: the restaurant: our mistake - we booked incl.the dinner. We couldn't get one fresh fruit juice during the whole week, everyday the same menue card- and - without any fresh dishes - only deepfrozen (fish, meat, prawns): they offered sphagetti siciliana and lasagne....!!The breakfast was also very poor. We can give a positive feed back about the service qualitiy and friendly staff: but : have you ever met someone who was not friendly in Thailand?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Hella B,

Thank you very much for spending your holidays with us recently and we really appreciate your constructive comment sharing here.

We all regret to know that there were some issues disturbing you during your stay. Some we already tried to solve during you were here, some we just implemented after we experience from our customer and some are on process of improvement. This kind of constructive comment is the key of our success, we always take all comments into our consideration and try our best to ensure we are all moving to the same direction.

We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back here once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
596 reviews 596 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Casa de la Flora from 1-7 November and we stayed in Room #2311 . Resort Manager, Michael Gaehler, personally greeted us at the reception area and allowed us to see two types of rooms on the property. Both room styles were stunning and we opted for the split level, deluxe studio. Mr. Gaehler made it a point to make sure we were happy with our selection before he handed us over to the reception staff for check-in. Mr. Gaehler was extremely understanding of our situation and made our check-in processing a breeze.

Basically here is a synopsis our of stay at Casa de la Flora:

Reception: Greeted us with professionalism and were just full of spirit and smiles and were extremely helpful during our entire stay. Teenapat Puangwong (Poppy) was a pleasure to deal with at the reception and he also assisted with a tour of the entire facility and also later assisted us with operating the lighting/entertainment system in our suite. His smile was contagious and his assistance was invaluable in addition to the entire reception staff and also the gentleman that had the small counter around the desk that assisted us with loaning us the free hotel bikes!

ROOM: Extremely modern room design dominated by cement and woods layout in a cubical form and with the latest offers in technology. Ipod adapters/hook-ups, advance lighting/entertainment/air conditioning system. All could be operated from the bed, but the master switch seemed to be located on the upper and lower floors, not the main entry level. Open showers were nice, but drainage seemed slow/awkward. Free daily beverage service (beer, water, soda, juice, coffee, tea, espresso machine was much appreciated. A little treat was placed in the room each evening. A private balcony pool w/jacuzzi and lounge chairs was an extremely nice touch with our studio. The TV internet computer option seemed to shut down after about fifteen each time I used it and the TV box needed to be reset each time. The bed was huge and there was an amazing view of the ocean each day and you could see the moon while you slept at night.

HOTEL POOL: A very sophisticated looking pool area, seem to be going for the 'South Beach Miami' look with music playing in the background (the volume could have been softer). Loungers located in the shallow water and also under the protected roof. The gentleman working their really took care of everyone by offering a refreshing cloth, iced water and even some sliced fruits and a cool mint spray bottle.

RESTAURANT: Breakfast- The offerings were very nice with options of traditional Thai to normal Western specialties were all inclusive with the room rate. Unlimited fresh juices, coffee, tea, water, and a nice bread selection with preserves. The staff was extremely attentive and always repeated your order to make sure it was correct. Dinner-I felt the dinner selections were good, but could definitely be spiced up a bit more. The only dish I felt really needed a make-over would be the Tom Yum soup. Evening cocktail Hour- Nightly free cocktail service from 1800-1900 was nice and you could really enjoy the sounds of the waves and have an extremely relaxing view of the fishing boats off the horizon. On Fridays, the hotel manager invited all the guests for meet and greet cocktails, which was a nice touch of appreciation. We dined with another couple one evening and we both commented about the projector image off the building which did not seem to 'fit in' the setting.

FITNESS CENTER: Still somewhat under construction, but there are adequate machines for a good workout. Water, towels and fruit available.

MR DREAM MAKER: Jowell was a pleasure to chat with each day. He was always in his office early and I would stop by just to have a chat with him after my early morning fitness center workout. Jowell specialized in organizing any and all excursions. He provided invaluable information for sightseeing with official hotel sponsored events or with touring on your own. He was extremely proficient in providing us information on scuba lessons, biking in the area, restaurants, and sightseeing. He also would stop by at various times during the day to make sure we were enjoying our stay and if he could be of assistance to us. It was a pleasure to just sit with him and have nice conversations!

An area of concern: The entertainment system allowed one to view their bill and on a couple of occasions during my stay the bill was incorrect, but after speaking with reception the issues were taken care of immediately.

Overall, our stay at Casa de la Flora was extremely relaxing and we enjoyed the more secluded area of Khao Lak and the endless beach for walking and collecting shells. Also, it was a nice surprise and a class act that a birthday cake was delivered on the evening of my birthday! I would highly recommend Casa de la Flora Resort for a relaxing beach stay and/or a central location for many diving destinations. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Split level unit #2311 was very nice. Inquire about upgrades at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear FormerCliBoy,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays recently and we all pleased to know that it was an enjoyable and relaxing week on for you.

Apart from your nice review on each aspects, we also take your constructive comments i.e. water drainage, TV /internet box and bill posting to your account, to our consideration. Please reassure that we will work on these to ensure that our guest will be treated with the top class of services and facilities.

Thank you very much for your time leaving very useful comment here and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent 6 nights at Casa De La Flora and my only regret is that we didn't stay for longer. From the moment we were collected at the airport to the moment we were dropped off again, we were treated like royalty by the staff who are unanimously lovely. Everyone we had contact with was courteous, friendly and kind and a big thank you goes to the front desk staff for noticing my husband's birthday fell during our stay; they arranged a lovely cake for him at dinner that evening which was a really nice touch.

The hotel is beautifully designed. We stayed in a studio pool villa which is the smallest of all the accommodation but still provided plenty of space. The villa was very private, quiet and comfortable, and the tech touches were appreciated by my husband especially. My only very minor point would be that it would be useful to provide some instructions in the room for the different systems like the air con and lighting!

The food at La Aranya was good and really well presented. Breakfasts were equally good with lots of choice. The location of the hotel is pretty good too - right on the beach of course and a short walk to other restaurants, shops and bars in Bang Niang. Taxis are cheap and easy to find if you want to go further.

We really have no complaints from our whole stay, and we'd love to go back, especially as the hotel is so new and you can see developments happening all the time. I think next year Casa de la Flora will be even more special than it is now. Although it is luxurious, it's unpretentious and friendly and we really appreciated the fact that a lot of thought has clearly been put in to the design and the way the hotel is run.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear KateMcP,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your recent holidays here in Thailand. It is so nice to hear that you have had an ejoyable stay and even more special to be part of your husband's birthday celebration.

We are working on in-room instruction or manual for our guest, hopefully you will experience this during your next visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasmineHolidays
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Am writing this review in the restaurant at Casa de la Flora, overlooking the beach to the sound of waves gently breaking.

Have already checked out after an all too brief stay. It's a new resort - a little under a year old, and offers something totally different in Khao Lak.

If considering staying here, bear in mind that this is a member of Design Hotels - it's modern, slick, contemporary and has lots of swish techonological features in the rooms. The villas are designed on 3 levels - a living area on the ground floor opening on to the private pool, the completely open bathroom on the entry level and then the bedroom in a loft area which has the advantage of offering great sea views. The bed is really comfortable.

Design features in the rooms include a sophisticated tv/entertainment/internet system. Wifi is super quick. The lighting system in the room is geeky but press the buttons enough times and you soon figure it out (or not!). Embarrasingly I had to call reception to help with the air con, having spent 5 minutes looking for the 'remote'! Of course, the geeky air con panel is located in the bed-head - it works perfectly, the air con is great - I'm just clearly not cut out for the world of design hotels!

Honestly speaking, the villas aren't going to suit everyone - they're really modern, not Thai style at all and being on 3 floors was occaisonally a pain having to go downstairs to fetch something, or vice versa. There's a lot of 'clean lines' going on in the design - sharp angles - techie features - it's not a villa you can walk into and just 'flop'! But for the style of hotel it is, I found it very nicely done.

The staff are very good - friendly and helpful without being super slick. I have to mention Khun Oil who is a charmer on reception! Casa de la Flora needs to keep people like her. A few small things could be better. Room service delivered the Pad Thai (which was lovely) - but it came with a knife and fork (no spoon) and no chilli etc. The girl delivering it wanted to leave it on top of the wash basin, which was a little bit funny, but she soon figured out that wasn't the best place to leave it. Maybe she's also a little bit uncomfortable with the Design Hotel set up as well. The problem with design hotels can be that practicality is sometimes sacrificed for the 'design'. It sometimes seemed like Casa was a little like this - but that's really a minor gripe.

Breakfast was nice and the location lovely. I just read the previous review about the eggs benedict which was funny and sort of matched my experience. Shame about the coffee too - but I'm very fussy when it comes to coffee :-)

The resort has a little spa and a 'Dream Maker' - a sort of 'fancy pants' tour and acitivity organiser - an in-house Jimmy Saville, fixing up your dreams (god bless).

The location is great, on the beach and within easy walk of lots of restaurants and facilities in Khao Lak. The resort will lend you bikes too.

Overall I think Casa de la Flora is a great little resort - unique in Khao Lak and perfect for the right person - you really have to like modern, design orientated hotels and appreciate the techie features.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear JasmineHolidays,

Thank you very much for your recent staying with us and for taking you time left your valuable comment here in tripadvisor. We are all pleased to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us recently, especially Khun Oil who extremely surpriseed when we shared this to her personally. You are right, she is our role model for any other staffs and we are aiming to have this kind of spirit throughout the hotel.

Apart from this, we also appreciated your constructive comment regarding in-room dining service and set up. We are looking into the solution of how we could do better in regards to this. Hopefully, you will experience our improvement during your next visit.

Once again, thank you very much indeed and we all look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Beautiful holiday . Fantastic pool villa. Great service from GM to driver.
Will definitely be back .
Thanks to all at CDLF who made it a memorable holiday .
Take care and hope to see you all soon.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at Casa de La Flora, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Akunderth,

Thank you very much for your time, leaving nice review for us here in tripadvisor and for choosing us for your recent holidays. We are all more than happy to know that your visit was an enjoyable and memorable one.

We all look forward to welcoming you back here once again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de La Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de La Flora

Address: 67 / 213 Moo 5, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa de La Flora 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de La Flora, one of the best new hotels by Conde Nast Traveller’s Hot List 2012 is located directly on the beautiful, palm-fringed beach of Khao Lak, just one-hour drive by car from Phuket International Airport. This ultimate design resort with stunningAndaman views as well as its friendly service warmly welcome visitors from across the globe. We are proud of being the first modernist hideaway in Khao Lak, presenting cutting-edge architecture and unique design amid tropical nature. Whether you’re looking for a romantic hideaway or a luxury holiday experience, Casa de La Flora is definitely a perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa de La Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Flora Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de La Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.