We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak to your Saves list
Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18/1 Moo 7 Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khaolak Seaview Resort & Spa managed by Centara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Confusion as to which review to believe as they are all so varied, either very good or very bad. I am a seasoned Thailand traveller and this hotel is typical of so many, yes it does need a little bit of work. But why the mixed reviews. It's down to the expectation of the guests, sure if you go looking for negative things you will find them. But for us we had no complaints as it delivered all we required. Clean room good breakfast and polite staff, well mostly. But from what we experienced most quests offered no basic manners like please and thank you. So my advise would be if you click your fingers and expect instant service you will be disappointed but for those who have a more relaxed approach you will enjoy your stay here as 85% of the staff are really friendly and the location is really good. As for eating, take the short walk to town and explore the various Thai restaurants, they all serve good food. The monkey bar has live music and there are a couple of other good bars, just be careful, don't go in the bars that only sell small beers as you will be ripped off, large beers are between 100 - 120 baht. Catch a taxi 150 baht to the moo moo Cabaret, they have a few bars near by that have live music that starts about 10 pm. Visit the cabaret for a different night out. Khao had a relaxed feel and is very enjoyable. The only slight negative for us were the Chinese guests, their manners were a little challenging. They will wake you up in the morning being very loud and they do not queue, while you wait in turn for you particular choice of breakfast they will go straight to the front, this had to be pointed out to one or two of them. But don't let this put you off visiting here. You will find it difficult to find ladies of the night looking for business and hawkers on the beaches are rare, also you can see the great beach as sun beds are not allowed on the sand so more good reasons to visit khao lak.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    33
    19
    9
See reviews for
95
58
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I were visiting Centara Seaview Resort from the 27th of March to the 11th of April.

Overall a good stay.

Some of the things we were unhappy with was;

the staff at the reception didn't have the best service face on, you could never get a smile out of them.

The staff at the bar at the beach was so rude. Never smile or anything, looked really mad and irritated that we ordered drinks. Never a thank you or anything like that. So unacceptable I think.

Other staff, restaurant/cleaning was very nice, as they should be. Especially Mr. Sek took good care of the customers and always have a quick fun comment or joke.

The food at the hotel (the buffets) was very bad. We only ate there once. The city is located very close to the resort so we went there every night. Especially the restaurant Mojo at the end at the little Street up to the city is soooo good. Good food and very nice staff.

There is a free shuttle to the city, for the lazy people. It only takes 5-7 min go walk, if that long.

One big fail for the resort, is that they don't cool down the Pool. So when the sun has been shining all day, around 1 pm the water in the Pool is warmer than the air (it was 36 degrees in the air). This was not very nice when you just wanted to be cooled off.


The cleaning of the rooms could also be better. The beds at the hotel was soooo hard to lay in. It was like laying on the floor so hard it was...

So to rap it up, we used the hotel to sleep and lay at the pool. We went to the city to eat every night. If you are travelling with children, you will find a water slide, with is fun, but other than that there is not much for the little ones,pool wise. There is a kids club, but I don't know the quality of this.

Katrine

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I don't usually leave bad reviews because I know it's hard work running a hotel and keep everything running smoothly. But this needs to be clarified to potential guests - Please note that the photos online of this hotel are deceptive. It may look nice in photos but in reality, it is a REALLY old hotel. Lobby still looks quite decent, but once in the room you'll realise that it is in need of a serious refurbishment. The air con vents are old and gives the room a musty smell. The tables are all scratched and feel quite dirty as they were rather sticky. Even the phone was old and the receiver smelled really bad from being used by many people, as if housekeeping hasn't given it a proper wipe in years.

I am generally not a picky traveller but really, the room condition was very disappointing for a 4-star hotel. This is especially the case after I got the chance to check out some other 4-star hotels in the area and saw that they were in MUCH better condition.

Internet was also down for some time. Same thing for the air con in the room - it stopped running halfway (never a good thing in a hot, tropical resort). To be fair, after reporting the problem to front desk, they had it fixed while I was out.

The service was also lacklustre; not much of that famous Thai hospitality that I can easily find in many other 4-star hotels in Khao Lak. I agree with an earlier reviewer who described them as "grumpy".

To sum up, this is just a pretty dirty and tired hotel (both in terms of rooms and staff). Even the cards/ keys for access into the rooms were sticky for some reason. Ew. For this kind of price, there are MUCH better options available in Khao Lak. Don't go with this Centara.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely place with nature surrounding.

We are living in Phuket and decided to spent Thai New Year Weekend here.

Over all experience was lovely. Swimming pool area was great. F&B was great. We loved to sit in Sport Bar, using facilities and had some drinks there.

The staff are extremely friendly, especially Khun Ying, Restaurant Manager.

We will be back!
Bella & Nick

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't think I've every seen hotel stuff who were grumpier and more unhelpful than those working at Centara Khao Lak. some of the staff clearly didn't want to be there, or simply didn't care about customers - I'm not sure which. everything was a hassle and I dreaded asking anything of the reception staff given the look of disdain I received each time I did so.
We initially booked a 2 bedroom unit, which was a few hundred metres behind the hotel in a concrete complex of apartments behind the main road. These units are part of mixed residential/commercial complex that went but and was overtaken by the Centara. The rooms were terrible and cheap and given the distance to the main hotel, the pools and the beach we moved to a few rooms in the hotel itself.
The beach was great and the sunsets are beautiful, but whilst your there, steer clear of the western food on the menu. The fish is frozen fish fingers, the chicken in the chicken burger was off and the ham in pizzas or sandwiches is SPAM.
Kudos to the housekeeping staff - the most friendly people in the hotel as well as Sek, the Food and Beverage Manager. The poor guy was clearly the hardest working person in the place

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorks, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We almost did not book this hotel due to negative feedback on here and the big blue flume photos, but I reminded myself that people have different expectations and am so glad that we went ahead.

We stayed (a couple in 50's) for 14 days in March in a pool villa (which was a delight) and enjoyed our stay enormously. You get what you pay for anywhere, and considering the very reasonable price we paid, felt we got a good deal. Yes, some things were not perfect - but we didn't expect perfection, just a relaxing holiday in a beautiful country.

As a couple without children we were concerned about the Big Blue slide and potential noise, however the photo makes the slide look a lot more visible than it actually is. Its tucked away in a corner of a very large pool and is really not noticeable. Anyway, there are 3 pools to choose from and the most amazing beach.

We found all the staff extremely polite and helpful, and did not experience any problems with language barriers. When we did have an issue it was sorted out quickly and within a few hours. The Food and Beverage Manager, Sek, was absolutely brilliant and is a real credit to the place. The waiting and reception staff were attentive and willing to help and the entertainment team were brilliant too and not annoying as we have experienced elsewhere.

The food was good, a huge selection at breakfast and a basic lunch menu, a fantastic barbeque event and also at the beachfront restaurant watching the sunset. We were only a few minutes from a range of other bars and food places and never had a bad meal or got bored with the food.

We had the most relaxing holiday ever, just chilled out and enjoyed!

Top Tips -
Get a taxi to Coconut Beach (about 15 minutes away) and spend the day there for a quieter beach atmosphere.
Walk past the row of little shops and then turn into beach, there is a lovely restaurant with live music that helps raise funds to support orphans from Tsunami.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did not intend to book this hotel as to be honest it looked like Butlins abroad with the huge blue flume ride etc. It is not the best Centara we have stayed at and we experienced several irritations whilst there. Will give an honest view of good and bad. The resort is large and divided by a road to the lobby and a few shops. One side is the beach side of the hotel with pool and beach restaurant and the other is the main lobby, breakfast room, pool, spa.

We arrived and was greeted by the usual warm Thai welcome. We were advised that we had been upgradef to the top room on the resort. We had paid extra for a pool villa anyway (only because I have cancer and no hair through treatment). We were taken to this room and I was initially disappointed as it looked shabby. Furniture had scratches over it and I felt a little disappointed. Our bath was huge - too big really as it took forever to fill. We had 3 showers, 2 loos and a huge lounge. The mini bars were filled with fanta, soda and a couple of beers but no other drinks or nibbles that you sometines fancy when you are away. Get back to this later - as there is a plus.

Our pool was green and slimey. Stupidly we went in it but had a film on our skin when we got out. We called reception for it to be cleaned. There lies a problem as English is not great and 5 phone calls later which was becoming annoying and having to be stern on the phone, resulted in a machine being put into our pool and this was connected for 4 hours to clean (during this time we could not use the pool and was told to use the main pool which went agInst readons for booking a private pool). Pool cleanef and all ok. We hsd an anniversary whilst there so ordered a bottle of sparkling wine - again this turned into a mission because of the language barrier. We also decided to order breakfast in our room one morning. We did everything it said on the form - oder it on the card, ring no.3 cateting and then leave it on the outside of the door for collection. 9am the following day and the card is still on out door. Grrrrr. Lots of little irritations but when you are on holiday you dont expect or want to deal with this.

Our room was furthest from the breakfast room but a nice little short walk. Sometimes - well always the little rivers that ran through the propery smellef of stagnant water.

We were a short walk from the shops and restaurants; hence probably no alcohol or snacks in the minibar - little supermarket selliing allsorts and cheap! We stocked up on a few goodies.

The restaurants are cheap and amazing. Great food - Mojos, Keepers (really cheap - 350 TB for 3 course meal for 2. . Our favourite restaurant is Spinach next to Keepers - amazing food. All the usual tailors etc on this road and people to book tours with. Shop Round they do vary in price. A restaurant called Black Pepper - run by an English guy married to a Thai can book trips for half the price any tour company can so book with him. He saved us 2000 tb a trip approx £40 each.

As it turned out we enjoyed our holiday. Yes there were a few issues - even on departure we requested a 5am wake up call - it never happened. It was ok. Good for children I would think. Close to shops and restaurants. A large site so never feels full. The main pool near our room/villa was mostly empty. The staff do their best to make you feel welcome but improvements need to be made. The room was shabby but I suppose we got used to it. Would we go back? Maybe but this isn't Centara quality.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak

Address: 18/1 Moo 7 Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khaolak Seaview Resort & Spa managed by Centara)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#27 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Seaview Hotel Khao Lak
Khao Lak Seaview Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.