We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a paradise on its own in a making” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak to your Saves list
Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18/1 Moo 7 Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khaolak Seaview Resort & Spa managed by Centara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
india
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a paradise on its own in a making”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

if you add the name Centara to a hotel one starts getting an image of luxury class excellent service impecciable line of products on offer. But if you give the staffers a little breather these guys are doing very well settling in from a 3or 4 star resort into a Centara standard one needs to give them sometime. The management is training them well and the spread of the bufffet is pretty nice. Excellent choice of dinner areas and good variety. Khao Lak itself is a nice laid back pretty as hell place so soak in the sand enjoy the smaller and finer things one has on offer and relish it.

Room Tip: me and my mate wanted to soak all the luxury in so we went for a private pool villa beautifully main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    92
    34
    19
    11
See reviews for
106
68
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here in January, being to Thailand several times, this was however our first time in Khao Lak and we really enjoyed our 9 days in this beautiful spot!
We arrived late evening, and was warmly welcomed by the front desk staff. Who kindly showed us to our room on the Seaside. The hotel is devided between a small street with hardly no traffic. On the seaside you have hardly no seaview, except if you book one of the bungalows which are also very nice indeed, the rooms turn out to a nice garden. The Seaview area have a larger pool and a somewhat child friendly pool with a pool bar, probably the attention was to the more mature guests but the pool was mainly used for children and the bar hardly. Should you not like the pool, you have the sand between your toes with an instant and the beautiful sea right there as well. On the Garden side you have a much larger pool area with a children pool, a swimming pool and a "spa" pool, it is a very large area I would say and with plenty of space to the guests.

Travelling with an infant for the first time we were very curious on how it would go but we had no problems what so ever. We arrived late on the first night and enjoyed a meal in the restaurant by the beach. Compared to other places in Thailand and in the area, it was very expensive but tasted wonderful.
The breakfast is really nice with a lot of various options.

The staff at the resort are very friendly and very attentive and helpful. Not all speaks perfectly English but when we have been travelling in Thailand before we did not really think it was a big problem at all and nothing we expected either.

The hotel is excellent when travelling as a family a lot of sport activities during the day. And we would definitely return should we choose Khao Lak as a destination in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel also have a separate building close to the main street, I would recommend to ask for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We booked a villa about a month ago and wanted to arrive a day before (add an ekstra night). Therefore I have written to the hotel twice to change my reservation (Do to all the problems with check in that I have read about, I wanted to be sure that they would put it in their system as one reservation so that we wouldn’t have to change room after one night, so therefore I haven’t booked the night myself).
I have had no reply at all.
It is really worrying that the communication is that bad. I can understand that one e-mail slip, but not two!
Hope I can change this review to the better soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is no more than three stars ,all areas are clean and tidy ,staff very friendly and helpful food excellent, particularly the new year eve buffet,, the new year show entertainment was very poor , band was dull, compare seemed like she wanted it over and done with, nearly had new year 10 minuets early .
My room was kept clean and tidy ,even folded my garments that I had for washing.,swimming pool was maintained at least twice a day (tested) a quiet location just what I was looking for..

I would use. Hotel again if I go back Khaolak ,

Room Tip: Do not bother to pack pool towels they are supply's as required!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phuket
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I agree complains with staff at reception but waiters, housemaid etc... were professional . Yes, we waited also 45 mn to get a room surely much more wether I did not ask to promptly met the manager . Mr Dop came and fix everything within a minute and upgrade us to a pool villa . Location is wonderful. Sand pure white, water clean and our room was in excellent shape, clean, big and with disable access. Two huge swimming pools , one at backside of hotel for kids including tobbogan and games one and one front ocean will stairs to enter in water slowly. Buffet are very cheap regarding numerous choice as breakfast . I enjoyed the sunset on little lighthouse on the beach. Restaurant and town shops are at walking distance, sincerely I spend an excellent journey and I will come back soon. Thanks Mr Dop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotell is going down! It want to be 5 star but reaches 3 in my opinion. Poor service.

3 out of 4 people foodpoisoned on the extremely ecpensive new year buffet. Probably from the oysters.

Stopp in the toilet in our room two times. Faeces (human defekates) all over the bathroom without removing our ( or letting us) clothes, toothbrushes, diving equipment etc. The second time the staff finally suddenly disappeared without any information. We had to move to another room at 23.00 with to kids. Funny...

Denied hotellroom beside cotravelling family as promised. Tried to force us to upgrade and later we found out that our room type was fully booked. Who's problem is that!?!

Overprized:
For example selling nektar from the box as "fresh pressed juice" for 7(!)euros per glass. That would be cheaper anywhere in Norway.

Stay out of the restaurants - they are really poor and overprized.

Ok beach, clean. Never clear water. Nothing to see when snorkelling. Small surfwaves every afternoon. Ok poolarea but great lack of sunchairs.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Rikard R,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate feedback both positive and negative as it is through this information we are able to improve on what we offer.

Centara Seaview is a 4 star property although, we do offer many facilities you would also find in a 5 star resort, one of these includes an external run clinic for the convenience of our guests linked to the towns Doctor. There are no reported cases of people being sick and I can assure you comments like this we do take very seriously.

The New Years Eve buffet dinner on the beach included;- complimentary cocktail on arrival with entertainment by our in-house duo, wishing lantern given to every room, extensive buffet including lobster, New Zealand Oysters, fresh BBQ seafood and steak, Thai and international cuisine, fire dance show, Broadway Cabaret Show, live 3 piece band, 8 minutes of fireworks on the strike of midnight and prize draw including many free nights at various Centara hotels and resorts throughout Thailand - all of this for Euro 88 per adult and kids half price...

I was sorry to read of the issue experienced with your toilet and can appreciate the inconvenience especially with our team having to go back a number of times to keep clearing it only to have it blocked again. Engineering have been briefed in future should they need to attend to a guest blocked toilet to ensure guests are requested to remove their personal belongings.

With regard to room allocation a “request” to have rooms close together is just that a request and while we will do our very best to accommodate such a request it is not always possible especially when it is high season, the hotel is running at full and many guests are staying for long periods of time. I do appreciate though that sometimes to upgrade guests from hotel room to a pool villas is not always wanted.

Thank you for your price analysis not sure where you were drinking but in Centara Seaview chilled juice and fresh juice is charged at THB 130 and 150 respectively, that is equivalent to Euro 2.8 – 3.3 respectively.

Your comment on our restaurants and food quality without detail is very difficult to address and improve and certainly is not reflective of our intentions or of the general comments received so far from other reviewers, I would be happy to discuss further.

With regard to snorkelling / diving, Khao Lak is the gate way to the Similan islands which are well known throughout the world and in fact are rated in the top 10 dive sites so really not sure where you were snorkelling or if you just caught the ocean on a bad day.

Once again thank you for your comments.
Kind regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thaiand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A few staffs at the check in counter, it takes about 1.5hr to proceed the check in.
They told booked rooms was full, a staff offer the fake upgrade from garden view to the bigger rooms, but rooms located very far away from the main building of hotel and

-looks like empty shopping plaza.
-No windows
-No telephone
-Small swimming pool.
-No any hotel staff around and unsecured room, anyone in Khao lak can visit the resident area.

That was not acceptable. We came back to complain that all above. Finally the staff gave us the garden view room to us. They were trying to cheat us by keeping their rooms and give us cheap room.

Their garden view room was old, Breakfast is about average. Only thing I adore was the swimming pool.

So, before you book this hotel. Make sure there was not any room in Khao lak left. Any place is better than arguing on your holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Biggi,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor we do appreciate all feedback both positive and negative as it is through this information we are able to make changes and improvements.

Without actually knowing your true identity I am not able to comment on if you arrived prior to check in time at 2pm and were made to wait. Obviously guests arriving early (before 2pm) we do try to accommodate but, when the hotel is running very full (as it is high season), sometimes that is not always possible, I do apologise though for any inconvenience experienced.

The accommodation you were originally offered was an upgrade and, in fact these are our brand new family residence offering 58 m2 of modern living space (our normal hotel room 45 m2) Family Residence includes bathroom with rain shower, kids own bunk beds with their own flat screen TV, built-in wardrobes, King bed, desk area, great family lounging space another large flat screen TV, and a very large window looking on to your terrace and the court yard. In the court yard there is an amazing play area for the kids as well as the private pool just for the residents.
I would like to add we do have security 24 hours a day and the area is fully covered by CCTV – security is requested though to be a little discreet so as not to impose on your privacy.

The hotel is large space and it needs to be in order to accommodate all the facilities we offer including ;- its own helicopter landing pad, 3 restaurants, 4 bars, Premium lounge, Cenvaree Spa, 2x tennis courts, 1 x Squash court, small football pitch, snooker, pool, table tennis, gym, kids club, Ezone with computer games, library, two outdoor play areas for kids, 4 main hotel swimming pools including a Jacuzzi, slider and of course not forgetting the expanse of beach. Due also to our unique location we do extend from the beach to the main road making easy access to restaurants and shopping.
Thank you once again for your comments
Kind regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak

Address: 18/1 Moo 7 Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khaolak Seaview Resort & Spa managed by Centara)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#27 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Seaview Resort And Spa
Khao Lak Seaview Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Seaview Resort Khao Lak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.