We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Khao Lak Gem of a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67/167 Moo5 T. Khukak A. Takua Pha | Bang Niang Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Khao Lak Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Just Returned From An 8 Night Stay At The Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa,and Enjoyed Every Minute Of Our Stay There.
We Arrived By Taxi From Phuket And Were Met By Markus And Bruno,the Owners, And Quickly And Efficiently Processed Us Through Check In And We Were Then Shown To Our Room.
The First Thing You Appreciate When Entering The Room Is Space And Cleanliness, And Just Wow,everything Has Been Designed With Attention To Detail,we Could Not Fault The Room,dark Wood Furniture And Bed,large Beige Floor Tiles,large Bathroom, All Decorated And Finished With Style And Taste,and A Great Balcony Over Looking The Bang Niang River And Andomen Sea,perfect.
The Rest Of The Hotel Is Very Much Like The Rooms, With Emphasis On Design And Style,from The Restaurant ,the Bar ,the Pool Area,all Very
Much Giving A Sense Of Quality And Elegance Without Being Over The Top.
We Opted To Take Room Only,but Did Manage To Make It Down For Breakfast Most Mornings,and Very Good It Was To,with Nice Selection Of Items From Ala Carte Menu,rather Than The Normal Thai Buffet Style All You Can Eat.
I Think The Hotel Has 27 Rooms,so Even When Full,it Will Have That Small Hotel/boutique Feel To It Rather Than Mega Resort Busy Busy,thats What We Wanted And Got, Definitely A Chill Out Place.
It Was Great To Come Down Early Evening For A Sundowner And Chat With Staff And Guests Over A Couple Of Drinks And De-Stress From A Long Day On The Beach !!!
You Will Find All The Staff Here Most Happy And Helpful,from The Smiles Hello's And Good Mornings To Serious Questions And Info About Anything You Need To Know.
The Resort Is A 2 Min Walk From The Beach,which We Did Many Times,and Approx 10 Min Walk From Town,or 5 Mins In A Taxi To Khao Lak Town,so Perfectly Placed For Exploring The Local Area.
Wifi is available in all rooms at a cost and in the bar/restaurant area for free.
All in all a very pleasant experience which we hope to indulge in again :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    22
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
123
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morges, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The best choice you can do!!! We could fully enjoy our holiday in this lovely hotel. Rooms are bright and spacious, with beautiful view on the sea from the bed. They are furnished with taste and style… and they are surely the cleanest that we found in Thailand. Beautiful green surrounding… Owners Markus and Bruno and as well their staff are really friendly, helpful and they are there for any question or wish you may have. Delicious food! We will surely go there again!

Mirka & Andreas

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We have just had the great pleasure of staying in a beautiful new resort. The location is, as described, next to a river which is tidal and joins the sea, which you overlook from your room. The scenery surrounding this hotel is stunning and the hotel and grounds themselves are beautiful.
The hotel is owned and run by Marcus, with his partner Bruno and their lovely staff, Nothing was too much trouble and they couldn't have been more hospitable, from showing us the sumptuous room to taking us to the bus station when we had to leave.
I would advise anyone looking for a perfect stay in Khao Lak to look no further than this resort, we would certainly not hesitate to book this accommodation again and hopefully will one day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

On our last day at Khao Lak the weather broke and we went out for a walk.  We headed for a newly built resort we had seen from the beach which looked most impressive.  We found this to be a place known as the "Riverside Resort & Spa".  We called in at reception and were greeted by the co-owner Marcus.  He was kind enough to share the history of the complex with us then showed us around providing us access to his restaurant, its kitchen, the spa, and two bedrooms.  The views from the hotel are truly magnificent.  The quality of the finish exceptional and the room rates very reasonable for the high standard of accommodation.  We can highly recommend it to anyone seeking a romantic setting with high quality accommodation and a sophisticated feel to it. 

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 67/167 Moo5 T. Khukak A. Takua Pha | Bang Niang Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa is located along Thailand’s beautiful west coast, 90 km from Phuket International Airport. Situated next to Bang Niang River, overlooking the unspoiled Bang Niang Bay and the sapphire Andaman sea just 80 meter from the golden sandy beach. A total of 27 rooms designed and built in Asian-style, are spaciously positioned on 7200 m2 that guarantees private and quiet atmosphere. All elegant deluxe double rooms are fully air conditioned with individual climate control, mini bar, Satellite television, in-room safe, bedroom with king size or twin beds, outdoor balcony with a splendid panoramic view over Bang Niang River and the Andaman Sea.Private washroom, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, shower cabin, hot and cold water, toilet and washbasin, bathtub with stunning river and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.