We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous place to stay...!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67/167 Moo5 T. Khukak A. Takua Pha | Bang Niang Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Fabulous place to stay...!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were met by Bruno/the owner around midnight who didn't know of our booking.He graciously let us stay in our room till morning to see if everything was ok with sawadee.com...Everything worked out fine..!!...It was great to see Bruno's smiling face everyday,not to mention the smiling faces of our maids,Bruno's wife and all of the workers at the resort....
Riverside is a very happy place....!!....
Our room faced the ocean with a fantastic view of the long tail boats in the river,the trees lining the beach and the huts on the beach too....Our large side window faced the river...Another incredible view....!!....
We rented a canoe off Bruno one day and paddled up Bang Niang River to discover some wonderful natural sights,and even an abandoned long tail most likely left there after the 2004 tragedy.....The elevator made life easier to transport your luggage to your room....TV reception was great even tho' there are blackouts during storm periods but that's not Bruno's fault....
As has been said before,this resort has to be the cleanest I have ever stayed in anywhere....The cleanliness is just wonderful...!!....
Little geckoes run around on our room walls which we just loved....Little fireflies flying onto our balcony was like a fairy tale.....And the view from our huge arched bathroom window was a picture of perfection of typical Thailand....
Of course we have no complaints as Bruno was always there to help us out with anything....The perfect host....!!

Room Tip: Our room number was 201...Great views..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    25
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
133
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The Riverside resort and spa is an excellent choice for those who wish to chill out in a well run modern hotel/B & B. The grounds are immature but you can see that in a couple of years time they will be when fully grown absolutely superb. The planning and decor that has gone into the hotel has been cantinued into the planning of the grounds as well, and no expense has been spareed in that respect. The pool is beautiful and well maintaned by Bruno and the grounds staff, Bruno complete with aqualung even scours the pool bottom once a week to ensure no mould is allowed to grow, and the pool staff are always attending to any minor grounds maintenance.

The rooms are exctly as shown on the website, roomy, very clean, lovely balconies and the two staff that clean every day are great they must have obtained and "ology" from Bangkok university in cleaning, couldnt fault them at all, their smiles every day are a pleasure to behold.

Markus had a lot to do with the overall design and planning and building of the hotel as did Bruno, but the decor is modern and very well thought out and would do credit to any 5 star hotels around the world. The little touches are so nice to see and the overall thought that has been lavished in the design must be seen to be appreciated.

Breakfast is good with a wide choice and in 12 days did not get bored, service very good, because we were two of anly 10 guests at the time no evening meals were being served, but so what, in Thailand most people prefer to eat out anyway, but if you want to stay in a hotel all the time the Riverside IS NOT FOR YOU.

The beach is only about 200 mtrs away, so you have the best of both world at this location. Beach bars all along the beach give a good choice of snacks and drinks, and the main hotel has sunset views second to none, (when the sun is out which it wasnt for most of our trip)

Overall I think that this is without doubt the best B & B we have ever stayed in, and it is a credit to Bruno and Markus who were involved from the very beginning of the build, post tsunami, a real gem in Thailand. Good luck to them both for the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. The Hotel is new, and the location is quiet and close to the beach.

The hotel is beautifully designed with perfectly manicured grounds, green surroundings and a very big and clean swimming pool. The rooms are bright and spacious, all furnished with taste and style. The bathrooms are especially nice, with a huge picture window over the bathtub.

Owners Markus and Bruno are really friendly, helpful and they will make sure that you get the best stay possible helping you with whatever you might need. The staff was very smiling and helpful. The two girls who cleaned our room were amazing. We have never seen a cleaner hotel room, spotless!

Wi-Fi is available in all rooms at a cost and in the bar/restaurant area for free. Very good breakfast with a nice selection of items from À la carte menu.

The location is excellent, only a short walk to Bang Niang beach and the main tourist strip, but it's far enough away from other hotels and restaurants that you'll never have to worry about noise keeping you awake at night.

We would advise anyone looking for a perfect stay in Khao Lak to look no further than this resort. We would certainly not hesitate to book this accommodation again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 14 days. Actually the rest of our travel campanions stayed on another hotel and moved to this one insted after visting us. The hotel is run by Marcus and Bruno which you are likely to meet at check in, and their presence is aiming to make sure that you get the best stay possible helping you with whatever you might need. Very helpful and friendly staff.

The Hotel is new, and the location is quiet and close to the beach. This is a perfect place for relaxation, and if you prefer to do some activites there are enough to choose form within short walking distance.

The cleaning of the rooms where incredible! The best I´ve seen, which is a surprisingly important thing when you get sand etc in the room after a day on the beach. It really makes a difference! Even our last day checking out at 5 pm we got our room cleaned as soon as we sat down ) at the breakfast table (apprenetly they planned to time it like that) even though we where supposed to be checked out just a few hours later.

Great value for money, and the personal service you get compared to bigger resorts makes it a much more luxorious stay. Thanks Marcus and Bruno!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

If you want a quiet and relaxing holiday in this nice area there are really just one choice and that is this hotel. We stayed here for 11 nights and we where well taken care of. The hotel is driven by two swiss guys and there staff, and they where are all doing the best to make the stay perfect. The staff was smiling and helpful, we want to give an extra thanks to the two girls who cleaned our room. We have never seen a cleaner hotelroom, spotless. Good breakfast in quiet and relaxing surroundings. If we ever come back to Khao Lak the hotel choice is easy. This is highly recomendable.
So, Markus and Bruno, please give our best to the staff and keep up the good work !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Blanca, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Hidden gem, better than expected looking at the pictures. Very clean hotel, close to perfect breakfast and very close to a loooong quiet beach.
Thanks Bruno & co!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My wife and I just returned from seven days at the Riverside Resort and Spa. The hotel is beautifully-designed, from the perfectly-manicured grounds to the extremely spacious, well-lit rooms. The bathrooms are especially nice, with a huge picture window over the bathtub. The location is excellent; it's only a hundred yards or so from Bang Niang beach, and a short walk from the main tourist strip between the beach and Highway 4 (the main road.) But it's far enough away from other hotels and restaurants that you'll never have to worry about noise keeping you awake at night. Our hosts were pleasant and helpful, and our rooms were kept immaculate by the housekeeping staff. My only suggested improvement is the bed -- we found it to be extremely firm and difficult to sleep on (my wife really had trouble falling and staying asleep due to the very hard mattress.) Having said that, we would most likely stay here again, and I can heartily recommend this hotel. I cannot think of a nicer hotel that I've stayed at for the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa

Address: 67/167 Moo5 T. Khukak A. Takua Pha | Bang Niang Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa is located along Thailand’s beautiful west coast, 90 km from Phuket International Airport. Situated next to Bang Niang River, overlooking the unspoiled Bang Niang Bay and the sapphire Andaman sea just 80 meter from the golden sandy beach. A total of 27 rooms designed and built in Asian-style, are spaciously positioned on 7200 m2 that guarantees private and quiet atmosphere. All elegant deluxe double rooms are fully air conditioned with individual climate control, mini bar, Satellite television, in-room safe, bedroom with king size or twin beds, outdoor balcony with a splendid panoramic view over Bang Niang River and the Andaman Sea.Private washroom, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, shower cabin, hot and cold water, toilet and washbasin, bathtub with stunning river and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.