We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place and nice bungalows for this less money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fanari Khaolak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fanari Khaolak Resort to your Saves list
Fanari Khaolak Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   53/10 Moo 5, Khuk-Khak | beach of Bangniang, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 Khao Lak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lauwe, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place and nice bungalows for this less money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotelis really good for this price! We paid 90 euro for 3 nights for 2 people with breakfast included! Received very nice bungalow which was only 2 meters away from the pool! Nice rooms ! No remarks at all!

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows near to the pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    47
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I booked what was supposed to be a romantic weekend with my girlfriend in this supposed beautiful resort....Wrong, what I got was a smelly room which needed a good airing, two single beds instead of a double. When I asked for a new room I was told there were none. Yet in the morning I saw many rooms empty. The staff member on the desk seemed to be very lazy, he showed us to the room and left. No explanation about the restaurant, the wi-fi or the resort. We stayed one night and then booked a room somewhere else. They sprayed some smelly stuff in the room which got rid of the smell for about 5 minutes, and pushed the two single together which is NOT a double bed. But simply two singles side by side. I would not recommend this place to anyone, there are lots of bargains in Khao Lak, this place is not even in Khao Lak it is 10kms from the town centre and it is not a nice place to walk around at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

very pleasantly surprised by this resort given the low,low price. Pool access rooms were fabulous and incredibly convenient. Pool and grounds are wonderful, location is superb for beach and restaurants. Staff are fantastic - friendly and sincere.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were booked into the Beach Front Hotel for a romantic week. When we arrived at the hotel we were transported by a relative who lives in Thailand, he had spoken to the reception at Fanari Courtyard who confirmed that this was were we had to book in for the Beach Front. We had to wait 20 minutes to book in (as the one receptionist had a number of people) therefore relative/transportation left.

When we managed to book in, we were informed that the Beach Front hotel had suffered damage from a large wave which had damaged a wall and resulted in the hotel being closed the previous week, they had transferred us to the courtyard!

The receptionist confirmed that they had made no attempts to contact us, and just shrugged when asked why they had not contacted us or informed us when we first arrived. There response was sorry, followed by a big smile! The level of English speaking was very poor, however it was later evident that they had selective understanding.

We were extremely disappointed that we had not been informed of the change either before we arrived or when we arrived and asked to speak to the manager, we were advised that the manager lives in Bangkok, but was presented with a very young man who had the least command of the English language of any person we spoke to in our month in Thailand.

As we were basically stuck with no transportation or anything else to resolve the situation, we booked in. They informed us that we had been upgraded to their best room and given a discount for our inconvenience. However, this was not correct. We were given a pool front room in the block of rooms. The price on the internet sites was cheaper than we had been given, and the rooms in the courtyard sat empty, but as the pool in the court yard was very dirty we did not ask to move. When we raised about the difference in the price, we was just given a smile, they had lost their limited understanding of English.

When we queried about paying, we were informed that the hotel would tell agency that we had booked throw that we had not arrived at the hotel and we would not be charged, we were very clear that this must not happen and that they must inform you of their actions and that we had received accommodation that was not what we had booked. They agreed to this, but sadly they later told the agency that we had not turned up!

On walking to the beachfront hotel, it was clearly evident that this had been closed for a while. Two other hotels that neighboured this hotel were also closed. The issues evident was that major renovation works were being undertaken on the sea wall, and whilst I do not dispute that this may have been impacted on by the sea it was evident that this work had been carried for a a significant period of time and that the hotel could not remain open through this process. It is our belief that at the time of our booking this hotel, that the hotel was not use able, therefore the hotel should not have been taking bookings.

The rooms we were given was small, with two double beds in, clearly designed for a family with young children (and ideal for a family). When we asked for one large bed, so we could both fit in! They laughed and told us to sleep in a bed each! Romantic holiday disappeared!

Given that we had set off this stay on a bad foot we tried to make the best of our time there, the pool outside of our room was small but use able (there was a lack of cleaning but not too bad).

Breakfast, the egg station worked well, but the rest of the breakfast was horrendous. Instant coffee that was luke warm, soggy cereals, warm milk and the croissants were semi edible when they had been through the toaster three times. The list of problems was endless and included food running out, waiters in filthy clothing, dancing around the room as they just had no idea of how to present themselves. When I raised that the food was stale, the response was 'thank you'. We ended up having eggs and then eating elsewhere.

When we arrived at the hotel, the towels in the room were not use able as they were so old, the cleaning staff replaced these, and to their credit were excellent. They would enter the room when people went for breakfast and undertake an appropriate clean with a large smile. They were the only aspect that worked well in this hotel.

The bathroom was terrible, indeed we should had taken heed and left immediately. A small issue, but reflective of the hotel was that there was no soap to wash hands, but there was bath foam, alas no bath!

We had a power cut that lasted from around 10 pm to 4 am, the emergency power did kick in, but this resulted in us trying to sleep in a room with no air condition and the emergency light shining all night.

On our first night we were able to shower, but on the two following nights the water pressure was so low that we could only take a cold shower, resulting in us being dirty. The final straw came when I walked from the pool area to the room (if you were not accessing via the pool ie are dry, you could only gain access by either walking through the other rooms' balcony area or via reception or the restaurant). I had walked via the restaurant, and was horrified to see around 12 members of staff playing football in the restaurant (I had previously heard a ball being kicked for the two previous days, and had just thought it was staff kicking a ball on an outside wall, and whilst it was inconsiderate it was not really an issue). But playing football inside the restaurant is never acceptable. We booked out.

Room Tip: Only go if you get the rooms very cheap and you are back packers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

When you arrived at the hotel you recieved a warm welcoming, it's a nice and clean hotel, room was very spacious for a couple, great view when you are in the 2nd floor. Breakfast area was clean and comfy but the food was tasteless! however they had a friendly staff to accommodate you always! NOT enough parking space when i park my motorbike :)

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The location of this resort is fantastic! The beach is just across the road and we were spoilt for choice for dining options! The service is as good as any 5 star hotel! unllimited number of pool/beach towels provided. Very friendly front desk staff! We got the courtyard room by the pool.So it was great. We had wifi access and didnt have to go to lobby for it.They have a cooking course, which i took and it was great. The chef doesnt speak much english but is super friendly! The breakfast was great. the restaurant staff are super friendly as well. Def recommend it!

Room Tip: the courtyard rooms by the pool are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel had good breakfast, rooms were cleaned in time and prepared well. Staff was very friendly and willing to help at all times. Pools were bit smallish but very well maintained. Location on Bang Niang beach and I strongly recommend renting scooter for daily transportation to anywhere else than the beach (and also restaurants are close) because you avoid sweatting and tiredness due to the hot weather in March. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fanari Khaolak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Khaolak Resort

Address: 53/10 Moo 5, Khuk-Khak | beach of Bangniang, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fanari Khaolak Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small deluxe boutique hotel and ultimate luxury resort on an idyllic location. Fanari Khaolak Resort is located on the beautiful golden sandy beach of Bangniang Beach; one of the most favorite destinations of Khaolak. Only an hour ride from Phuket International Airport and five minutes from downtown Khaolak. Tropical Boutique Resort offering garden view bungalows, beachfront bungalows, deluxe bungalows and duplex suites, which are decorated with a Siamese flavor, while the modern fittings and facilities ensure that guests experience every possible comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fanari Khaolak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Beach Resort And Spa
Fanari Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanari Khaolak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.