We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint place to go along with sweet service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Golden Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Khaolak Golden Place to your Saves list
Khaolak Golden Place
30/30 Moo 7, Soi Had Nangthong, Petchkasem Rd | Nang Thong Beach, Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 37 Khao Lak B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint place to go along with sweet service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a cozy place well furnished and a great locale. You can't beat the prices! This is run more like a hotel except the personnel go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need. You can tell that they care for their tourists and their pocketbooks.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Do stay with here. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located a few seconds walk from the beach. So location is very good. Restaurants and small shopping mart also opposite.

The rooms were great and all with free wifi.

Staff were very friendly and also very helpful.

As others have said this place is relatively cheap, that certainly doesn't mean you are getting a sub standard place though.

I was a little disappointed with khao lak to be honest, far too touristy and mediocre beaches. if you are going there though I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

ROOM:
We just left Khao Lak Golden Place and our experience there was amazing compared to the price that we paid for the room. The rooms were spacious, clean, and had everything you needed. (the safety box was not available, but they said they could leave our valuables at the front desk safe if we needed). There was a mini fridge, lots of places for your clothes, tv, free wifi, A/C etc. There is no pool, but the ocean is a 1 minute walk. The beds were slightly firm, but nice! NOTE, there is no elevator, so pack lightly! :)
LAUNDRY:
They had a wonderful cheap laundry service that we used and it was given to us the next day. I believe if you give it to them by 9:00am you can get it back the same day even. The clothes came back fresh and smelling lovely, folded neatly in a bag like your mom or grandma had just done it for you!
STAFF/BREKKIE:
The staff were so accommodating and sweet! Right when you walk down for breakfast, they approach you and seat you and give you fruit (watermelon and pineapple is what we got) and juice. You serve yourself water and tea/coffee. Breakfast consisted of 2 slices of bacon, plenty of eggs however you like them (scrambled, omelet), tomato, 2 slices of toast, 2 cold sausages and 1 slice cold ham. We asked the staff about how to get to Phuket town and they were very helpful. If you book tours, they come out in the morning to be a liaison
LOCATION:
Close to many shops and restaurants (10 minute walk if that)! We ate at Smile which had great food! Make sure to make a reservation there! Mojo's was also another good restaurant close by. The ocean/beach is big and nice and a 1 minute walk for the hotel!! We spent a day there and it wasn't too crowded. The water was slightly brown, but only if you're being picky. This place is also close to many minimarts (buy a big jug of water if you are staying for 5 nights!). We went to Karon beach after our stay and the bus stop is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel where the main road is. It only costs 120 baht to go to Phuket town from there and then there is a taxi booth to take you wherever you need to go to from there! AWESOME and EASY! Also, you can go on many snorkel day trips to Tachai Island (mostly recommend with Sea Star), Similan, and Surin (okay).

OVERALL:
Such a great value! Will stay there again hopefully soon! Love this place! Good people, good location, and good value!!!

Room Tip: Maybe a low floor since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was in Khaolak about a year and a half ago but I still remember the great service we received at the Khaolak Golden place. The rooms were clean, cozy and in a good location. The staff was very helpful and even offered to hold our luggage for us while we went on an overnight scuba diving excursion to the Similan Islands. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very nice, decent place close to the beach. i made a reservation with the lady in this place named Mon. She was extremely helpful with friendly hospitality. have a great offering by upgrade to their deluxe room was nice and clean. Lovely mountain view and listen to the wave. totally relax. The place is good if you can drive motorbike. as the most happening things are on main road. bed is a bit hard but it's alright. worth what we pay for. we will be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Lak, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Located in a perfect area, right on the main center of Khaolak Beach, you can easily enjoy all the attractions of this seaside resort town. Go on a dive to the nearby Similan Islands, explore the old town, and the Khao Sok National Park makes for an excellent day trip. With the rental service on site, you can explore the area at your own pace, alternatively the tour desk can help arrange excursions in Khao Lak. After a day out, you will find the room comfortable for your much needed rest. Khaolak Golden Place Hotel is a value for money accommodation choice in this seaside town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunchang, Jeollabuk-do, South Korea
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Perhaps we were just unlucky to get the room with the bathroom that literally smelt like putrid human waste, with a dirty brown water level ring around the inside of the toilet bowl, but when we informed the staff we were met with a very disinterested, dismissive reaction. I literally had to hold my nose to stop myself from gagging every time I went in there and showers were an extremely unpleasant experience. We ended up using the 'kitchen' sink in the main room to wash and clean our teeth as it felt slightly less like we were performing our ablutions in the sewer.
We were generally disappointed with the customer service, having asked the lady sitting at the desk under the 'information' sign what would be the best way to go to Bangkok to get our flight home, we received a shrug and "dunno" response. "Bus? Train? Plane?" I asked, again shrug and "dunno". Our friends received similar feedback when asking where there 'next day' laundry was three days later. Another time I asked about how to book a taxi and the woman turned to another girl in the office, said something in Thai and they both snorted with laughter and started hammering on the phone keys as if the request was an imposition. It was a pretty simple and not unreasonable request at an information desk.
After the fourth of our five nights we decided to cut our stay short and leave a day early because of our disgusting room and blasé reception. We asked if it would be possible to receive a refund for the night we wouldn't stay in the room. The immediate reaction was "dunno, I'll ask the manager later". When we finally met with the manager 12 hours later, we were immediately given the option to change rooms, but no refund for the final night. By this time we were so sick of everything we just wanted to leave, a change of room didn't cut it for the final night having informed them of the problems four nights earlier and we couldn't be bothered to uproot ourselves just for one night. You'd expect this of a cheap and grimy guesthouse, but this is a hotel averaging 4 stars. We were so deflated and disappointed.

Sorry for the rant, I just want to make people aware that this could happen. Not what you want on your only holiday of the year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Golden Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Golden Place

Address: 30/30 Moo 7, Soi Had Nangthong, Petchkasem Rd | Nang Thong Beach, Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Khaolak Golden Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Golden Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.