We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Oriental Resort

Save Saved
You added Khaolak Oriental Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Khaolak Oriental Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed a this lovely resort and it met all our expectations and more.
We booked a pool access room and it was lovely to wake up in the morning and hop straight in the pool. The breakfast was well presented with many choices, it is a short walk to the main shopping area, we ate mainly at the resort because it has a well priced menu and quick service. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We also went to the spa at the sister resort and found it to be very relaxing and good value.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor sharing about your stay with us. I am very happry to hear that you had a lovely relaxing holiday with us in every way. As you mentioned about breakfast food and staff service, I am sure to pass your compliment to them all ka

Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back in Khaolak Oriental again in the near future ka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have just returned home after a 5 night stay at this lovely small hotel. We opted for a step into the pool room and loved every minute of it. Relaxing on your balcony or lazing by the pool it is a very quiet resort with no kids allowed.
Rooms were comfortable and all the amenities you need are there.
across the road from the beach and within walking distance to fabulous restaurants and markets it really was an enjoyable stay.
Special mention to Winnie at the front desk who always had a smile and a hello.
Breakfast buffet was a lovely selection of hot and cold dishes with eggs 'your way' available.
The hotel next door is affiliated with this hotel and we had treatments in the day spa which were good value.
We look forward to going back for longer.

Room Tip: Pool access room was lovely. Nice balcony to sit on and then jump straight into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your kind review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a relaxing time us during your holiday with us in every way. Thank you once again for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back and stay here longer at Khaolak Oriental as your wish ka :)

Have a nice weekend!

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hidden little gem metres from the beach with all you need for a comfortable relaxing stay. We stayed in a pool access room which was clean and very nice indeed considering how little the nightly tariff is which included a very high standard buffet breakfast. The gardens through out are lovey and help set the chilled vibe the place has. If your looking for a traditional Thai inspired experience on a budget look no further

Room Tip: Ask for pool access room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your kind review on tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed your holiday with us recently including the standard of breakfast buffet as you mentioned here I will inform my team to keep it up for the standard which reminds me our boss word that " The most important thing is to start the morning with good breakfast and our guest will be happy till rest of the day"

Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Khaolak Oriental family again ka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great location opposite the beach, restaurants and main rd only 8mins walk. Staff here were very efficient and friendly, pool side food was very good. There are a couple of things that were disappointing; we like to use a gym whilst on holiday they had one but it didn't have any floor mats, no complete sets of lower end weighs the running machine is broken and gathering dust and the cross trainer is out of date. This really frustrates me if gyms are not going to be kept up to date they should just be closed. This is an adult only resort and the pool bar closed at 5, so you can't sit and have a drink whilst the sun goes down. We had a cooking lesson whilst it was good fun we felt it was very over priced.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't face the wall, the side ones do and don't get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you are happy with hotel staffs and the pool. In further comments about the gym I am so sorry that the machine is broken during your stay however we tried to fix as soon as we knew but the technician said this problem takes longer time then finally we replaced the new machine in the gym. Also for your suggestion about stretching mats I already informed team to provide in the gym since now ka.

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestion as I trusted that all your feedback are always highly appreciated which the hotel can moving forward and improving ourselves each day :)

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in Khaolak Oriental Resort to see our improvements naka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Would like to thank Bok, Ian, Tom and all of the other staff, you went to such lengths to make sure our time in Khao Lak was memorable they really did go above and beyond. The pool and breakfast was beautiful, have to try out the Thai dinner in their restaurant not to mention the cocktails, was in walking distance to shops and beach. Thanks again and we look forward to bring our children to your new resort The Haven in the next few years.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am really happy to hear that our staffs made your holiday memorable and I am sure to pass your compliments to them. Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are really looking forward to welcome you back in The Haven Khao Lak with your baby ka.

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a good stay here at the oriental resort. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite basic but really clean. The breakfast was good, pretty standard sort of breakfast offered in Thailand. They don't have their own spa but you just walk across to the resort next door to use theirs which is no problem and very nicely done. It is as close as advertised from the beach. If you walk about 20mins right on the beach past the sands resort you will find some awesome little bars and affordable restaurants right on the beach! Amazing cocktails too! :) this area is a great place to stay in khaolak away from all the hustle and bustle and great beach right out front. Very relaxing stay probably not a great resort for kids as it was just such a quiet resort. -must try smile restaurant in town it was amazing went 3 times it must book! Also a must do is the local market :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Valued guest,
Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for sharing your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us as of the staff services, breakfast food including Bhandari spa service from our sister resort next door.

Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday in Khao Lak and we are looking forward to welcome you back again on your next visit here ka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We arrived late and Nui was so very helpful, he deserves a staff award for exceptional service. The other staff were fantastic as well. the shower was very odd, and the rooms ordinary. The breakfast buffet had great variety and was mostly good food.
We had a pool access room opposite the pool bar and felt like we were on display every time we went outside to the balcony. The bed was too hard and caused my back to faker up with pain.
The nearby beach is disappointing compared to other beaches in Khao Lak.
But all in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pool bar if you don't want to be gawked at when using the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a great holiday with us and for your special compliment to Nui I am sure to pass your word to him. Thank you very much for all your comments which i have noted for our further improvement ka.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again to our place on your next visit to Khao Lak
With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Oriental Resort

Address: 13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Oriental Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Oriental Resort is an Oriental Style resort situated on Nang Thong beach, the sister hotel of Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa! The hotel is reserved for An Adult hotel only. No child under 12 y is allowed to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Khaolak Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Oriental Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.