We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely kid free little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Oriental Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Oriental Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Oriental Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely kid free little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great location opposite the beach, restaurants and main rd only 8mins walk. Staff here were very efficient and friendly, pool side food was very good. There are a couple of things that were disappointing; we like to use a gym whilst on holiday they had one but it didn't have any floor mats, no complete sets of lower end weighs the running machine is broken and gathering dust and the cross trainer is out of date. This really frustrates me if gyms are not going to be kept up to date they should just be closed. This is an adult only resort and the pool bar closed at 5, so you can't sit and have a drink whilst the sun goes down. We had a cooking lesson whilst it was good fun we felt it was very over priced.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't face the wall, the side ones do and don't get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you are happy with hotel staffs and the pool. In further comments about the gym I am so sorry that the machine is broken during your stay however we tried to fix as soon as we knew but the technician said this problem takes longer time then finally we replaced the new machine in the gym. Also for your suggestion about stretching mats I already informed team to provide in the gym since now ka.

Thank you very much for your comments and suggestion as I trusted that all your feedback are always highly appreciated which the hotel can moving forward and improving ourselves each day :)

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in Khaolak Oriental Resort to see our improvements naka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Would like to thank Bok, Ian, Tom and all of the other staff, you went to such lengths to make sure our time in Khao Lak was memorable they really did go above and beyond. The pool and breakfast was beautiful, have to try out the Thai dinner in their restaurant not to mention the cocktails, was in walking distance to shops and beach. Thanks again and we look forward to bring our children to your new resort The Haven in the next few years.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am really happy to hear that our staffs made your holiday memorable and I am sure to pass your compliments to them. Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday and we are really looking forward to welcome you back in The Haven Khao Lak with your baby ka.

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a good stay here at the oriental resort. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite basic but really clean. The breakfast was good, pretty standard sort of breakfast offered in Thailand. They don't have their own spa but you just walk across to the resort next door to use theirs which is no problem and very nicely done. It is as close as advertised from the beach. If you walk about 20mins right on the beach past the sands resort you will find some awesome little bars and affordable restaurants right on the beach! Amazing cocktails too! :) this area is a great place to stay in khaolak away from all the hustle and bustle and great beach right out front. Very relaxing stay probably not a great resort for kids as it was just such a quiet resort. -must try smile restaurant in town it was amazing went 3 times it must book! Also a must do is the local market :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Valued guest,
Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for sharing your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us as of the staff services, breakfast food including Bhandari spa service from our sister resort next door.

Thank you very much for choosing us on your recent holiday in Khao Lak and we are looking forward to welcome you back again on your next visit here ka

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We arrived late and Nui was so very helpful, he deserves a staff award for exceptional service. The other staff were fantastic as well. the shower was very odd, and the rooms ordinary. The breakfast buffet had great variety and was mostly good food.
We had a pool access room opposite the pool bar and felt like we were on display every time we went outside to the balcony. The bed was too hard and caused my back to faker up with pain.
The nearby beach is disappointing compared to other beaches in Khao Lak.
But all in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pool bar if you don't want to be gawked at when using the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a great holiday with us and for your special compliment to Nui I am sure to pass your word to him. Thank you very much for all your comments which i have noted for our further improvement ka.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again to our place on your next visit to Khao Lak
With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent a week here. It is a lovely resort if you just want to relax. The food is great and not too expensive and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We had no drawer space, though and had to live out of our suitcases. We had a balcony room overlooking the emaculate pool.It is a long way from the airport but transfers were great It is not a hotel suitable for small children. The lower rooms have access into the pool and the pool itself need the ladders to be fixed but overall it is quiet, relaxing and a great place to veg. out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. and we are looking forward to welcome you back in Khaolak Oriental again on your next visit to Khaolak

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have stayed in many resorts all over Thailand. This resort is best described as 'tired'. The staff are attentive and do their best. The room had the dreaded damp smell and needs maintenance. The rooms around the pool are not very private so the cheaper rooms are the best in my opinion. The resort feels 'Thai designed and built' and is not up to international standards. Breakfast is O.K. but nothing special. Overall this resort lacks the finer touches. I would rate 3 star.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your review and your comments on tripadvisor. Our team have noted this information about your room and I will follow up with this matter accordingly.

Thank you once again for choosing us and sharing your opinion with us through your stay.
We are looking forward to have a chance to welcome you back again on your next visit to Khao Lak

With my best regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks at this lovely botique hotel and have returned totally relaxed. Mr. Ian and the girls at the reception are very lovely always ready for all we wants and needs. Every request from extra pillows, arranging transfer from everywhere and sorting out liesures and islands excursions were dealt with quickly and efficiently. These staff are exceptionally friendly and are a credit to the owners and management.

Close enough to beach and local shops and restaurants and we weren't bothered by any insect bites during our stay. We had the pool access room with a huge stunning pool with jacuzzi. Very relaxing because no childrens allowed on this hotel! it was just perfect!

In terms of the overall experience, we still feel positive about our stay here, and we can recommend it.

Room Tip: pool access at the 2nd building would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supavee_Khorpetch, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting form Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on your recent stay.
I am glad to hear that you like our Oriental style resort and felt relaxing throughout your stay. Referring for your compliment to Mr. Ian and the girl at the reception with thier personally freindly and helpful. I am sure they would feel so happy to hear from you :)

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Oriental family again on your next visit to Khao Lak

Thank you very much with my personal regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Oriental Resort

Address: 13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Oriental Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Oriental Resort is an Oriental Style resort situated on Nang Thong beach, the sister hotel of Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa! The hotel is reserved for An Adult hotel only. No child under 12 y is allowed to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Khaolak Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Oriental Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.