We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Oriental Resort

Save Saved
You added Khaolak Oriental Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Khaolak Oriental Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has it all, beautifully decorated rooms, potable water, fantastic breakfast, rooms with balconies over the pool, reasonable in room menu & mini bar prices, great location, friendly staff, the list just goes on.
Our wonderful experience started with airport transfer that offered us a cool bottle of water and refresher towel on pick up at the airport.
Staff were thorough at check in and proudly showed us the room and it's features, no expense spared with a bathroom that is elegant, very comfortable beds, a lounge and plenty of room.
The gym facilities are wonderful with towels and water provided.
The pool and surrounds and beautifully kept with a bar. The beach is a 2 min stroll away and national park on the doorstep.
If you are looking for a getaway that is laid back, children free and has fantastic restaurants like Lemongrass within walking distance stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supavee, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Kerstin,

Sawasdee Kha
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
It was my great pleasure to read your review and to know that you are very impressed on your recent holiday with us since the moment you arrived. Also I am happy that you found our hotel room, hotel facilities, and hotel staffs in such a nice way. Thank you very much for your valuable comments and feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back again in Oriental family
Thank you very much with my personal regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Khao Lak Oriental Resort is a nice and cosy hotel which has first class service. The rooms were always clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice with stone tiles and flooring. The air condition was working and there is a wide selection of TV channels. The whole hotel is maintained nicely and the staff was very helpful and always easily available. The pool is great, the restaurant serves excellent Thai and international food, the breakfast is great with a wide selection of European and Thai dishes. There is also a cocktail bar if you don't want to walk 10 minutes to the city center. There you find a good selection of Thai restaurants as well as western food such as pizza and burger. There is also a supermarket, 7 Eleven, pharmacy and many souvenir shops.
You can use the spa of the sister hotel which is only a few meters away and offers everything from massage to sauna to manicure.
It is only a two minute walk to the beach which is not very crowded. It is wonderful for long walks.
We can truly recommend the Khao Lak Oriental Resort for a calm relaxing vacation in a friendly atmosphere. If you want a lot of party, Khao Lak is not the best choice. But if you want to stay in the middle of great nature - one of the oldest rain forests in the world -, enjoy the beach and the sun, and just relax and calm down it is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Of course it is great to have a room with pool access, but if you stay on the first floor the sun sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supavee_Khorpetch, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Sawasdee Kha!
Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.
I am very pleased that you found our team and facilities in such a nice way. Also I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast which is our aim to start your fresh morning. Our team committed to delivering friendly and helpful service throughout your stay . I thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in Oriental family.

Thank you very much with my personal regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the beautiful resort in November 2012 and loved it so much that we are coming back in a weeks time. We are lloking forward to the fabulous pool, the welcoming staff and the wonderful food.
Stuart and Jill

Room Tip: The pool rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supavee_Khorpetch, Assistant Maanging Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Stuart and Jill,

Sawasdee Kah!
Thanl you very much for your review on tripadvisor :)
I am very happy to welcome you back in Oriental family again. I have heard from Khun Pook, our front office Manager yesterday that you will come back and ur team can't wait to see you again soon

We wish you have a safe flight!
Best Regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Thank You Khaolak Oriental for the best first trip to Thailand we could of ever asked for!!
This resort is truly incredible, we had a pool access room which was perfect, it was kept super clean and was very comfortable, we really felt at home here. We loved, loved, loved that there was no kids, it ensured our trip was relaxed and we could relaly enjoy the ammenities.
The resort is about a 2 minute walk to the beach (if that) and just a short stroll to the 'main strip' where there are numerous restaurants, 7/11's, bars, massage places, tailors etc etc etc. Its truly the perfect location!!
The buffet breakfast was delicious and ample - the omlette chef was so friendly and made a perfect omlette and scrambled eggs!!
The staff were so helpful and would always be smiling, including the housekeeping and gardening staff!
The communication with the hotel was great as well, from the moment we booked - big shout out to Pook, your email replies were always prompt and curteous and it was so lovely to meet you the night we arrived, such a special touch!!
We booked our tours through the hotel (Phi Phi Islands, James Bond Island and Elephant Trekking) they were super affordable and so well organised!!
The Big Tree bar and the restaurant were awesome... the staff, the food and the cocktails -- AMAZING!!
The Bhandari Spa was incredible, we had 2 massages each here and probably would have had more if we had the time!
I could go on and on, but its making me miss the Oriental and the friendly staff too much!
We cant wait to return one day!
Thank You Khaolak Oriental, we miss you!
-- Rebecca and Roger

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a pool access room, you wont regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chutharat, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Rebecca and Roger,

Warm Greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. I am really impressed that you love our resort, our staffs, our service, our food and our spa--everything of us. Also we are really happy to be a part of your memorable holidays an I do believe that our staffs are missing you too :). All your feedback is always highly appreciated for our team to keep going and gradually improving ourselves

On behalf of Khaolak Oriental team, I would like to say thank you very much for trusting and choosing us on your recent holiday. We look forward to welcome you back in Oriental family again real soon.

Thank you very much with my personal regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent five nights of our 2 1/2-week Thai adventure here, and it was easily our favourite! We had a Groupon for the stay, which included the five nights, an epic and yummy daily breakfast buffet, discounts at the spa, and an overall lovely time for a very reasonable price. This resort is a two-minute walk to the beach, and is tucked away from all the busy streets and commotion of the town. VERY friendly and lovely staff! The staff was always kind to us and even those who didn't speak much English gave it their best shot and always wore smiles and made us feel very at home and welcomed. They even helped us learn some new Thai words and phrases. :) Our room was great! We stayed in one of the rooms near the lobby and our patio deck opened onto the infinity pool, so we were literally able to jump from our room into the pool- so cool. We were served delicious and fruity welcome drinks and cool face cloths when we arrived late in the evening on our first night there, which was so refreshing after our lengthy trip to get there. The spa is shared between them and the resort next door (which we didn't figure out was a separate resort until later) so it feels like one massive, pretty resort. There are peaceful little zen stations everywhere with yoga mats and free books to read or exchange under thatched roofs over lily ponds. Such a fun place to wander around and explore :) The place is neat as a pin AND the water in the taps is approved by the health and safety organisations for drinking- big plus! Khaolak Oriental, we love you and we'll be back again!!!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms that open onto the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chutharat, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort :)
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us through tripadvisor.
I am so happy that you found our resort lovely and all of our staffs will definitely feel more than happy to know you appreciated with their services and assistance during your stay. Your satisfaction is everything. Furthermore if you have any further comments and suggestions please feel free email us directly anytime :)

Thank you for choosing us for you recent holiday and we look forward to welcome you back again in Oriental family.

Have a nice day ka
Thank you very much with my personal regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very comfortable rooms overlooking 60 m pool, All the staff are warm, friendly and helpful. Just a block back from a stunning beach, shops and cafes very close by. Wonderful spa facilities, tropical gardens and an excellent restaurant and cocktail bar.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool, the rooms on the ground floor are right on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Bernadette,

Warm Greeting from Khaolak Oriental Resort.
Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor and I do hope you had an enjoyable holiday with us. Also I am very glad that you like our room and resort's garden lovely as all are our aims to complete your relaxing stay, small and private accommodation overlooking garden view along with lovely pool around resort.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in Oriental family again ka

Thank you very much with my personal regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in July 2013. We had never been to Thailand and had no idea where Khao Lak was, or what to expect from the resort. But we could not have been happier.

The resort itself is beautiful. The rooms are spacious, clean, and very relaxing. The resort facilities include a beautiful pool, poolside bar, gym, restaurant, spa, wifi and much more, all of which were just perfect. Breakfast was included and was absolutely delicious, and the meals we had at the resort were great. The resort has heaps of tour information and were helpful organising whatever we wanted, (although there are plenty of places around that can also help you out). On top of everything else, and almost most importantly, the staff were absolutely lovely and were really keen to chat and help us out. (We both fell in love with Winny; she was so lovely!). We honestly can't say a bad word about the resort. It was a beautiful, quiet and relaxing stay, and we just wish we had stayed longer!

The area is lovely too. Certainly a lot quieter than places like Patong, (where we stayed for the rest of our trip), but that was its charm. We spent a couple of days exploring the National Parks and heading to James Bond Island, a couple of days just cruising around on a motorbike, and a couple of days just relaxing by the pool with a book and some cocktails. Plenty of restaurants, shops are probably cheaper than Phuket, beaches and beautiful scenery, and, if you have the money and time, day tours aplenty. We went in the wet-ish season, so the beaches weren't quite as pristine as they might be in summer, but we had some beautiful weather and it didn't really affect our trip whatsoever. We found the people here were also a lot more friendly and laid-back than in Phuket, which really helped make our trip special.

We would absolutely recommend this place without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakBhandari, Assistant Managing Director at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Samantha and Noah,

Warm greeting Khaolak Oriental Resort.
First of all I's like to say thank you for choosing us as your recent holiday and also thank you for your detail review sharing your experience with us. After I have read through your review I felt Impressed that our resort's staffs could make your holiday memorable and enjoyable. As you mentioned you feel in love with Winny our lovely reception staff, I will let her read your review and she would feel very happy too :)

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in Oriental family
We wish you have a lovely day

Best Regards,
Praire
Assistant Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Oriental Resort

Address: 13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Oriental Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Oriental Resort is an Oriental Style resort situated on Nang Thong beach, the sister hotel of Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa! The hotel is reserved for An Adult hotel only. No child under 12 y is allowed to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Khaolak Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Oriental Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.