We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and totally affordable and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Oriental Resort

Save Saved
You added Khaolak Oriental Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khaolak Oriental Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
tannum sands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tranquil and totally affordable and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from a tranquil and relaxing 5 night stay at Khao Lak Oriental. From the pick up transfer at the airport, to the easy check in, to the comfortable pool side room, to the sumptuous meals served breakfast, lunch and dinner, to the amazing spa and hotel service, the Khao Lak Oriental is to be praised and commended. We treated ourselves to five days of spa service and relaxation and found the service to be superb as well as extremely economical. We also dined at the restaurant a few times and the quality and authenticity of the food was exceptional. The beach is right across the road and I would have to say it took less than a minute to get there. We also hired a scooter and went up to White Sand Beach which took about 20 minutes to get there. We hired two lounge chairs and an umbrella for the morning - great for swimming and again very relaxing. There is also a quaint little boutique store near the entrance to the Oriental which stocks some interesting trinkets and treasures. The beauty about this resort is that the garden setting is extremely tranquil, the poolside rooms are easily accessed, and the service is friendly, accomadating and you are always welcomed with a smile. This is an adults only resort but it adjoins the Bhandari Spa Resort which accommodates families. The Bhandari Spa is also shared by both resort styles and is exceptional and extremely well priced. The most we paid for a 90 minute massage was around $30 and the setting really added to the whole experience. This meant we could enjoy a treatment every day, which was simply amazing and the highlight of each day. Extemely tranquil and harmonious! The breakfast which was included was excellent and the variety was extensive. This area is also shared by both resorts , but there are different levels to the breakfast area so you are able to find your own little nook surrounded by the beautifully landscaped gardens and overlooking the main pool area of Bhandari Spa. This is a hidden treasure and an amazing place to stay in Khao Lak. For those travelling in September, we had 2 days of rain and 3 days of sunshine, and enjoyed seeing the resort in both weather settings.

Room Tip: Pool side room enables you to slip into the pool from your room and you also had two lounge chairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasitorn_Devesa, Manager at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Jules:

Greetings from Khaolak Oriental Resort ! Thank you for spending your holidays in our resort. Your comments and praise has been shared with my entire team and we thank you for the time to write such a positive feedback. We look forward to welcome you back soon .

Warmest Regards,

Sasitorn Devesa Laux
Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My besty and I just spent an amazing 11 nights at this fantastic resort. We found a great deal on getawaylounge.com, which included breakfast daily, a 30 minute foot massage and airport transfer. The staff were some of the friendliest people I have ever met. The rooms were very clean, spacious and very comfortable. I tried most dishes on the menu, they were all delicous! We didn't bother eating anywhere else! I would recommend this resort to anyone travelling to Khaolak, it was so relaxing and in a great location, an easy walk to the shops and 2 minutes from the beach. The staff were very helpful with booking day trips and suggesting things to do and see. And the Day Spa. Well, we tried most things on the menu and loved everything. The Day Spa staff were so so lovely, as were all of the staff! We will definitely be visiting again!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. There are rooms on the ground level where you can plop straight into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasitorn_Devesa, Manager at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Christie:

Sunny Greetings from Khao Lak Oriental Resort

Thank you for spending your holidays in our resort and for your valuable comments about the Food Spa and our service.We do hope that you had relaxing holiday and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards,
Sasitorn Devesa Laux
Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011 via mobile

really nice, quiet and relaxing. just a 5 minute walk to the beach, 10 minutes to the shops and maybe 5 more to khao lak "center". staff was friendly and helpul, breakfast was just great. beautiful, clean and comfortable room with pool access.

the only bad thing to mention: no staff at the pool bar - so we had to find someone or go to the reception to order some drinks.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

We stayed one week at Oriental resort and really enjoyed. The rooms are big and clean. The bed is very comfortable (much better than most of the Thai hotels). We had room with pool access and that was nice. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and always ready to help. The breakfast was very good and staff also there was very friendly. Oriental resort is close to beach, just a couple of minutes to walk. Also the main street, restaurants and shops are only a short walk from the hotel. It's good location, peaceful place. There is free wifi in the rooms and also free computers with internet in the lobby. A good bonus. I would definitely choose the same hotel again if I go back to Khao Lak some day. Perfect place for relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We have just returned from Thailand and spent 3 nights at the Oriental Resort and enjoyed it very much. We had a pool access room which is wonderful. Just open your door and fall into the pool which is nice and cool unlike some other resorts. The rooms are large enough and kept in good order. The breakfast is a good selection and especially the mango. The staff are friendly and are always there to help and fill up your coffee. We had a romantic spa package and it is wonderful and a good price. It was coming into low season and the resort was not very full which is what we like. You didn't have to walk far to many restaurants in the main street. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. We would certainly consider this resort again. The beach is a short walk although we did not swim there. Many thanks to the staff who made us feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasitorn_Devesa, Manager at Khaolak Oriental Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Brisbane, Australia

Many thanks for your response. Happy to see that you were happy with all services of the resort.Again, many thanks for sharing your experience with others.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future
Yours sincerely Sasitorn Devesa Laux ,Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khaolak Oriental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Oriental Resort

Address: 13/120 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Oriental Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Oriental Resort is an Oriental Style resort situated on Nang Thong beach, the sister hotel of Khaolak Bhandari Resort & Spa! The hotel is reserved for An Adult hotel only. No child under 12 y is allowed to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Khaolak Oriental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Oriental Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.