We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Breeze Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Breeze Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Breeze Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/3 Moo 7 Tambon Khukkak Takuapa | Phang-Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Patong, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice resort on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Good value resort right on the beach . We stayed in the hotel room but you could stay in a bungalow closer to the pool and beach for a little bit more money. The room was nice and clean and quite large , with a nice balcony area.The only problem we had was finding the resort , when you come to the t intersection at the beach there is no sign to tell you which way to go , so if you do go there turn right at the beach and its up about two hundred metres on the beach side

Room Tip: Try and get a bungalow , they have two facing the beach , great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Khao Lak, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in Khaolak three times now and each time I have stayed at a different resort. I loved the location of this resort, the beach was lovely to swim in at high tide and really good fun to snorkle around the rocks at low tide. Although we did not eat a meal in the restaurant, our breakfast was included in the price of the room. I was a little disappointed about the variety of food for breakfast but if you are not after a huge banquet it was ok. In my opinion the food was not kept hot enough so I avoided the Thai type dishes and stuck to the toast and omelette. If I have one major complaint about this resort it would be there is no Wifi in the rooms and I needed to go to the front office to use the internet which in itself is a nuisance but add the fact that it was very hot in the out doors front office and there was no fans or cooling going it was very uncomfortable. If I rated this establishment overall I would say it was good value for money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean Breeze in Kao Lak in December 2013. We had a beautiful room that was right on the beach. A unique feature of our room (and maybe all rooms?) was the open-air bathroom and shower. The bathroom was polished concrete, with no roof over the shower. You simply looked up to see the stars. The hotel, like most places in Thailand, provides an awesome buffet breakfast in their outdoor restaurant. We sat on the beach every morning and enjoyed good coffee, fresh juice, fruit, fish, made to order omelets, breads, Thai selections of rice, spring rolls, meats, fish, etc. Amazing. That area was hit hard by the tsunami in 2004, and you can still see some of the effects of that disaster, but the beach is lovely, with pretty good snorkeling right in front of the hotel when the water is calm. Walking into town is quick and easy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at this 'resort' when it was under different management. We decided to go back this year because of the wonderful experience and beautiful location.

The pluses are, outstanding location, beautiful beach, small surf beach further down.

The minuses are: our deluxe room had a plastic door to the bathroom and chairs that had to be propped against a wall because they were falling apart. After checking in we went to the restaurant for a light meal before retiring. Waited for 10 minutes to be noticed, we weren't, then left and went across the road, where we were served instantly. We only went to the restaurant for breakfast. More attention should be paid to the breakfast buffet as some of the food was well and truly past its prime. Internet is only available in the reception area and the restaurant. We had better connection on the beach from other sources.

The biggest disappointment though was the 'compulsory Gala Dinner' for New Year's Eve. Each guest of the resort was expected to pay a large sum of money for a dinner as a condition of staying New Year's Eve, regardless of whether you wish to attend or not. The cost of this dinner for my family (4 four people) exceeded the cost of two extra nights accommodation.

We have been visiting Khao Lak for nearly over 7 years, this is the first time we have encountered this practice. I have to say that Ocean Breeze is not the only hotel/resort that does this. Is this practice, charging for an event at an exorbitant rate, as a condition of booking even legal?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived to Ocean Breeze and weren't disappointed. I thought the place was better than the pictures- We had our room directly across from the pool- and another 20 steps to the ocean- can't beat it! The dining area and bar were so beautiful with all the lights and lanterns- at night some tables were set up on the beach for dinner- very romantic- although I was there with my best girlfriend:) We stayed for 3 nights and so glad we did! Our room was gorgeous- beautiful bathroom- like an outdoor oasis- with stones lining the bathroom floor/shower area- All the staff were friendly and so welcoming- The breakfast buffet was amazing! omelet station, fruits/cheese platters- thai dishes as well....really delicious every morning! So glad we had that included! Massages right on the beach (in a small hut that looked out to the ocean)
The hotel was located about a 10min walk to the main street with all the restaurants/bars/shops were- there were a few quiet bars/restaurants directly across from the hotel as well. If you walked down the beach several massage huts/bars and restaurants lined the beach that you could go to as well. Really nice beach- great for running/morning walks- clear water- MUCH better than Phuket which i wasnt impressed with at all (specifically Karon beach)
Ocean Breeze seemed to be right in the middle of it all- in a perfect location. A beautiful accommodation!
100% recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Definitely bring your bug spray!!!! we had moquito nets provided and they even sprayed our room one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

There is a lot to like about Ocean Breeze it has a magnificent beach front with restaurant and bar and a picture perfect pool but there are a few things it must do to be a good resort.

First of all Internet access is non existent like it or not we need this to keep in touch with family or work. It is supposedly available in reception but in my 4 days it never worked. I got better Internet from the noodle soup place in the Main Street.

Second I do not like the practice of prices in the bar and restaurant not including the service fee and tax. You think the price is ok then you get the bill and they have added 20-25% for tax and service even if you didn't get service. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth and is not common Thai practice.

Finally the staff are not very helpful they always smile and say thank you but language problems and delivery mean you get nothing from them.

If they address these issues it would be a very good resort. So make up your own mind if these issues are not important then book otherwise there are many other places as good or better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
västerås
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Ocean Breeze sits on a great location 5 min walk to the Main Street and right on a great stretch of beach in Khao Lak.

The main area of the resort with the pool, the restaurant, the bar and the massage are all close together and right on the waterfront. The best possible layout.

The Thai food in the restaurant was excellent and not at all overpriced. The bar makes fantastic fresh fruit shakes and the pool and rest of the resort was clean and in good condition.

Don't miss taking a walk north on the beach were you'll find a long stretch of land that is unbuilt and a long row of beach bars / restaurants and massage beds in classic Thai style.

We stayed in, and scouted a lot of hotels and resorts in the same price range as the Ocean Breeze in Khao Lak, but nothing came close to being as nice as this.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Resort

Address: 26/3 Moo 7 Tambon Khukkak Takuapa | Phang-Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Breeze Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Breeze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.