We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Countryside, Thai style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28/15 Moo 7 Soi Nangthong | T. Khuk-khak A. Takuapa, Khao Lak, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“In the Countryside, Thai style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We selected the Countryside more on price than any prior knowledge of Khao Lak or extensive reading of other reviews.
We knew it was only 200m from the beach, down a narrow walkway. The sunset over the Andaman Sea awaits you there. It is also at the end of town commonly known as Khao Lak City! Hardly a city but plenty of choice when it comes to restaurants and bars and shops, which are only 10 minutes walk from the Countryside.
The nice thing we found about this hotel was how peaceful it was. Lovely gardens and pool area made for a relaxing stay. We booked a deluxe double room, but switched to a standard after a few days. This worked out as aside from the room size being hardly that different we had a nice upstairs balcony with a lovely view of the tropical canopy. Far nicer than the deluxe room we'd had.
The staff were always helpful and friendly. The breakfast included was Thai international, standard and reliable.
We'd certainly go back to the Countryside to stay. The only reason we give it 4 stars was due to the house Orchid restaurant. Its nice setting was however a bit pricey and the food not half as nice when compared with some restaurants we found very nearby.

Room Tip: Upstairs standard room, south side. Peaceful and nice balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Check in 27th Dec 2013
I like this hotel quiet surrounding planted with many trees and a swimming pool is surrounded by the hotel rooms.The location is good not crowded neither noisy even though there are many other hotels beside it.It is about 10 mins walking to the main road with many convinient stores,restaurants,shops and 5 mins to the Nang Thong Beach just opposite the hotel.The staff is friendly,fast check in and out,big balcony,large room,clean,cozy,simple design with a feel of country home.Breakfast just ok,not much varieties,anyhow it was very relaxed and nice to stay

Room Tip: Spacious room with bright lighting Firm mattress Safe box Clothes rack Stainless steel kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The place is literally a short walk across the small street from the Nang Thong beach. The grounds dont look like anything from the main entrance but in fact there are plenty of rooms and the pool is a good size. The rooms are very spacious with big balconies. The bathroom is a bit on the 2 star hotel side but overall the room has what is required of 3 star holiday place. The restaurant is underrated - very cheap and the quality and portions were some of the best we tried among Thai food places. Once we tried we had lunch there almost every day. The staff and service is a bit on the too relaxed side ie dont expect much. But overall I would stay here again but my first choice would still be a cottage in the Nang Thong Beach Resort 100 meters away.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the rooms closest to the reception and the restaurant because the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Before choosing Countryside Resort we got acquainted with the Hotel websites and the reviews. Especially Kadi 111's review, Feb 27 2010 we found very helpfull.
We stayed at Countryside Resort for two weeks in November 2012. Afterwards we can agree with Kadi's comments, plus there is some good news!

The following lacks mentioned no longer exist: 1. there is wifi now and it is free and fuctuioning. 2. The safty in the room was free of charge, too. 3. There was a kettle for tee or coffee in the room.

The beach is nice, not too crowded. Water is warm and clean. When you come to the beach from the hotel and walk to the right, there are restaurants on the beach with sunbeds and umberellas, free for the restaurant customers. You were allowed to take the hotel pooltowels to the beach, as well.

We were very pleased with our stay in Khao Lak and at Countryside Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a rental car and was exploring southern Thailand. We returned to Khao Lak several times and stayed in a number of different resorts. This was by far the best value for money with a nice bungalow, great food and fantastic staff. Also a super location. Although not on the beach, it is only a 1 min walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We ended up kinda stuck in Khao Lak having missed the morning boats to Similan (dumb, I know) and jumped on this as one of the best offers we could get at the last minute. Room was pretty OK, service just OK, location good (5 minute walk up the hill to the nice little town of Khao Lak, 1 minute walk down a lane opposite to the beach). Pool OK, small, but OK, breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Although the hotel is in a good position (a 5 min walk to the beach and 10 mins to the main street) and has a nice pool area, the hotel didn't live up to our expectations. The rooms were spacious but worn around the edges and not cleaned properly. The service was also not what we had been used to in the rest of Thailand and the attention to detail was not present. (This included the manager's young son using the computer to play games when customers wanted to log on to the internet). We left (early) with the impression that this hotel was used heavily by package tourists and the staff/ hotel were indifferent to guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa

Address: 28/15 Moo 7 Soi Nangthong | T. Khuk-khak A. Takuapa, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Countryside Hotel Khao Lak
Khaolak Countryside Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.