We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28/15 Moo 7 Soi Nangthong | T. Khuk-khak A. Takuapa, Khao Lak, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a rental car and was exploring southern Thailand. We returned to Khao Lak several times and stayed in a number of different resorts. This was by far the best value for money with a nice bungalow, great food and fantastic staff. Also a super location. Although not on the beach, it is only a 1 min walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We ended up kinda stuck in Khao Lak having missed the morning boats to Similan (dumb, I know) and jumped on this as one of the best offers we could get at the last minute. Room was pretty OK, service just OK, location good (5 minute walk up the hill to the nice little town of Khao Lak, 1 minute walk down a lane opposite to the beach). Pool OK, small, but OK, breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Although the hotel is in a good position (a 5 min walk to the beach and 10 mins to the main street) and has a nice pool area, the hotel didn't live up to our expectations. The rooms were spacious but worn around the edges and not cleaned properly. The service was also not what we had been used to in the rest of Thailand and the attention to detail was not present. (This included the manager's young son using the computer to play games when customers wanted to log on to the internet). We left (early) with the impression that this hotel was used heavily by package tourists and the staff/ hotel were indifferent to guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at the countryside resort.
On arrival we were pleased with our room, and how clean and fresh it was,although the bathroom could so with a bleaching.

The staff were very friendly, although Engilsh was very limited.

Most of the guests at the hotel, and within Khao Lak as a whole, were mainly German or Scandinavian which was not a problem in the slightest, just a general observation.

The breakfast included was adequate and filled myself and my husband up every morning. There were made to order omelettes and fried eggs, ham, hot dogs, bacon, eggy bread/pancakes on alternative days, salad (?), potato slices, pineapple, watermelon, papaya, cereal, yoghurt, toast etc. So enough to choose from.

There was fresh coffee and tea, orange juice, pineapple juice also.

There was 2 bottles of water left for you in your room daily which was a nice touch, and a fridge to keep them in.

The grounds were very well kept, and the beach was 90 metres away - not a problem at all - it is even sign posted when you arrive where to go.

The only little quirk we had was there was no wifi and the internet near reception (1 baht per min) was soooooo slow that it kept cutting off. We had already found a little cafe at the top of the main road on the right that did free wifi, but couldn't be bothered to keep walking up and down, but in the end we had to. The good thing about that was once you had the password, they never changed it!!

Hotels need to understand that internet is quite an important thing now, and if it is free wifi with a £1 cup of coffee, why is it not free, or even available in a £45 per night room!!

The only other thing was there was no shade in the afternoon around the pool area no matter where you sat. It was great in the morning, but come the afternoon, it was too hot so ended up back at the room.

Couple of film channels on the TV if you are interested in that, and the aircon was lovely. Had provisions for tea and coffee but no kettle, which not sure if you got charged for, but we didn't ask.

The safe (in your room) was 60 baht a day, which again, we didn't understand why, but there was a little lockable drawer in the room we used instead. There was a free safe behind reception we believe.

Overall, a comfortable quiet stay, but I would try to get a room that is not next to the road. We had a room overlooking the pool and was quiet, but even though the road is quiet, it is the main strip to walk down and it can get a bit people-noisy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We've stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Can't complain too much. Only about the staff missing to speak English well and that there was not so much food choice in the restaurant. The hotel has an amazing surroundings / garden with exotic plants, flowers and fish swimming around. The pool is cozy, but they add too much chlore, so you will get red eyes if diving in it. One part of the pool has 4 bubble massage spots.
To get to the beach you need to cross the road and when getting there you are not really sure, if you are allowed to use the sunbeds there as it looks like they belong to some other resort - but the ones on the right are for you :) The beach is really nice, just like a post card beach. Not too much crowd and crazy water sports.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Although not directly on the beach (therefore the name countryside I guess) I'd say this is the only disadvantage of this nice little resort. The moment you arrive the staff is really friendly and helpful. The deluxe rooms are really nice and somewhat nicer than the garden villas, the latter have an outdoor shower though which we liked a lot. The villas are spacious, the beds a dream, everything else like the electric kettle (with complimentary coffee only the day you arrive which is kind of strange...), the ac, tv, safe (60 baht per day, which is 1,50 US$) is just fine. You have a huge canopied patio overlooking the garden and the pool. the breakfast is slightly above standard for south east asia, would expect more for the price. the website (http://www.thekhaolakcountrysideresort.com) is pretty accurate.
To sum things up: If you can get a beachfront bungalow at the nearby nang thong bay resort I'd go there because of the beautiful sunsets from your terrace. If you can't the garden villa at countryside is far more value than the more expensive-no breakfast incl.-staff arrogant-nang thong bay resort nearby.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

I can't understand why this resort was near deserted. Friendly and professional staff who speak excellent English. A clean, stylish pool and separate jacuzzi. Well kept grounds complete with a fish pond and a variety of beautiful carp. Clean and stylishly appointed room - the photos on the resort's website are accurate. The 'garden villa' had it's own private porch overlooking the garden. It also had a secluded, private outdoor shower complete with hot water. I had a good choice of international Satellite TV (Supersport (The Ashes!!), movie channels, BBC World News, Golf Channel, Australia Network, Rai Italia etc). Remote controlled air conditioning. The beach is literally a minute's walk across the small, quiet road. The owner also has two little pedigree dogs who are an amusing addition!

The restaurant didn't appear to be open in the evening - perhaps something to do with it being low season.

I was able to agree a monthly rate (low season only??) which represented excellent value for money - an excellent resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa

Address: 28/15 Moo 7 Soi Nangthong | T. Khuk-khak A. Takuapa, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Countryside Hotel Khao Lak
Khaolak Countryside Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Countryside Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.