We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours

Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours
33/3 Moo 6, Petchkasem Road Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
+66 76 485 174
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the world of Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak. With easy access to the renowned Similan Islands on our state-of-the-art catamaran in only 2 hours, maximise your safety, comfort and service. Or join one of our liveaboard trips and dive Richelieu Rock, Surin Islands, Koh Tachai and Koh Bon. Sea Bees Diving - Adventure in good hands
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were really looking forward to our dive with Sea Bees, but unfortunately it never happened. We saw the great reviews on Tripadvisor and they were very well recommended by our hotel. We also met with one of their instructors at the hotel and they seemed to be a serious outfit. We changed our travel plans to be able to fit a day of diving, woke up early and waited at reception. But they never came to pick us up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Fernando046,

We appreciate your comment and would like to reply as follows.
On the day, there was a mechanical issue with one of our transfer vans. We then contacted all dive guests through their hotel and notified them that there was a 15 minute delay. Upon arrival at your hotel, the driver was told to leave without you as you had decided that the delay was too long and would not be diving.

We did endeavour to resolve this particular problem within the shortest time possible and the other dive guests we picked up did, in fact, have a great dive day.

We sincerely hope that on your next visit we will have no such issues and look forward to welcoming you onboard.

Team Sea Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    26
    5
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Careful attention to safety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked a trip for 4 adults, a teenager and 3 kids. Only 1 diver, the rest were snorkellers.

The 2 hour boat trip to the Similan Islands was gruelling - although this is not within the control of Sea Bees. Several people were seasick and as the waters that day were quite choppy.

We were highly fortunate as the dive master helped us snorkellers spot a pair of squids, notoriously shy creatures and difficult to find.

After lunch, they brought us (the less adventurous snorkellers) to a tiny island with powder white sand and waters so clear you could be neck-high and still see you feet. There were schools of fish swimming around us as well.

Throughout the time, there was a ratio of 2-3 people to one member of staff, and he remained alert and on the watch for all of us. This made me feel comfortable, having another pair of eyes on our kids, aged 5, 7 and 8.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Inhaber at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello OneBigFam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Your description of the Similan Island just makes me want to leave my office desk and jump in there as well :-) As your safety is our most important concern, we are pleased to hear this was noticed during your trip, bearing in mind you have children.

We hope to welcome you all back soon and Season’s Greetings,
Team Sea Bees Diving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent teachers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i took certification courses not long ago and had an amazing time. Leo, one of our instructors gave detailed explanations in a very warm and relaxed manor. Annika, the other instructor was very patient and helpful.The school itself had a great learning environment with a pool.

The diving experience itself was amazing. As for meals, Leo made sure we could also get a vegetarian lunch which was included each day on the boat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear L H,
Thank you for your review and welcome to the world of diving ☺ We are glad you felt safe with Leo and Annika and enjoyed the diving. Good to hear you enjoyed the food as well. We concentrate very much on high service standards and always give our best to take care of the preferences of our customers.
Team Sea Bees Diving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Professional diving operation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This review covers two parts, the diving school and the dive itself.

First the school. Our daughter went to do the Junior Scuba Diving course at their training centre in Khao Lak. We booked this through Sea Bees office at Le Meridien where we stayed. We were picked up on time and after arrival we were welcomed and invited to do the registration. My daughter did the course with enthusiasm, thanks to the personal and professional approach by instructor Derk. Excellent job. Also the second day went smooth, no problems, my daughter returning from the training excited to do the Open Water dives.
We joined our daughter for her OW dives, I signed up for 2 dives, and my wife and other daughter for snorkelling. Unfortunately, the weather was bad the previous night and the day itself: rain, strong winds and high waves. I believe that half of the people on board were seasick that day.... In any case, my wife and daughter were not able to do their snorkelling due to the adverse weather.
My eldest daughter's dives were fine, thanks again to Derk's patience and professional attitude.
Overall, it was a well-organised day-trip, which was a bit spoilt by the weather. On the negative side, in my opinion, the boat was rather crowded, with many divers. For some no problem, but I prefer smaller diving operations. I understand that any diving operation will require larger numbers because of the distance of the dive sites. The diving itself, however, was done in smaller groups. We were lucky to see some manta rays.
On the way back, unfortunately, the boat encountered some engine problems, delaying our return.

However, I was disappointed that my wife and daughter were still charged for the 100% for the snorkelling, although circumstances prevented any snorkelling that day. I do understand that expenses were made, but it seems a bit unfair to me to charge customers for something that they could not participate in. The dive shop at the hotel, however, was not flexible on this issue, and explained that this was 'company policy'.

Overall, diving with Sea Bees in Khao Lak can be recommended as it is a professional and well-managed operation with great staff and good equipment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Morevish,

Thank you for your detailed review and congratulations to your daughter on achieving her Junior Open Water Course. As you mentioned yourself, with the distance involved to The Similans, cost and logistics are harder to handle which we compensate for with the smaller dive groups. With respect to the weather and the snorkeling for your wife and daughter, unfortunately, the weather can make a difference for swimmers as opposed to divers. We apologise for the engine trouble and the delayed return but it is also the reason why we have 2 engines onboard. Perhaps you may like to try one of the smaller dive operations that we have elsewhere which is to your liking and we hope we can welcome you back one day.

Team Sea Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fastest Covered Dive Boat Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Chose the dive shop based on their reputation and type of boat used. With the fast catamaran, the total trip time was reduced by over two hours meaning more time to do other things while on vacation. One of the engines died on our return trip which couldn’t have been predicted and ended up rescuing people at sea. In all a fun and exciting experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Evolvingmonkey,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your understanding and patience, especially as the weather at the time was creating problems for many boats and visitors. We do not try to create such excitement every time but, as a community, we are there for each other. We look forward to having you onboard again and hope that you have some great dives until the next time.

Team Sea Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours also viewed

 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Bees Diving Khao Lak - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.