We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Bungalow ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nang Thong Beach Resort 2

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nang Thong Beach Resort 2
Save Saved
You added Nang Thong Beach Resort 2 to your Saves list
| Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Beach Bungalow ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were lucky to find this lovely little Resort on our drive from Patong to Samui. Lucky for us it was the low season and we were able to book 6 bungalows for just 1 night without a prior reservation. The beach bungalows are clean and spacious with big king size bed and modern bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful and made you fell very welcome. All 13 of us dined in the restaurant and we were all very impressed with our meals. Great location and very reasonably priced. If you're after a secluded bungalow right on the beach this would be the place for you.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My fiance and I stayed in one of the beachfront bungalows for 4 nights in February. We've backpacked through other parts of Thailand over several trips so this (about $100/night Canadian) was easily the most we've ever spent on a hotel room in Thailand. Compared to all the other resorts along this beach, the Nang Thong Beach Resort 2 was the only one in this price range but seemed as nice as many of the higher end resorts. The bungalow we stayed in was very clean and nicely decorated and was literally 30 feet from the beach. We didn't eat much at the restaurant but the prices seemed reasonable. The only other beachfront resort bungalows in this price range were the Nang Thong Bay resort, which was booked up , and the Greenbeach resort, which looked incredibly run down when we walked past, yet is close in price to the Nang Thong Beach Resort 2. The beach is lovely, not to touristy but with restaurants and bars about a 15-20 minute walk north from the resort, so we didn't spend any time at the pool. The only down side, as noted by a number of other reviewers, is that the beach chairs are all reserved as of about 7am! I went out late at night and I think some guests put towels and belongings out to reserve them overnight... the other guests while we were staying at the resort were almost exclusively 60-70 y.o. Germans and I do think that many of the guests would "guard" beach chairs for their friends. I found it rather offensive that many of these chairs wouldn't get used for most of the day but weren't available for other guests to use but this is more the fault of the other guests than the hotel staff. All the more reason to book a beach front room so that you can sit on your private patio! Given that it is a fairly quiet beach and the clientele seemed much older on average than other parts of Thailand, if you want a crazy party location, this might not be the right town. However, as a young couple looking for a quiet get-away, it was perfect...
I would definitely stay here again.... but with only 3 or 4 beach front bungalows, book early!

Room Tip: Definitely worthwhile to pay a little extra for a beachfront bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is an absolute bargain. We had a lovely garden bungalow, about 30 seconds from the beach. Really nice pool but only went in it once due to the proximity of the warm sea. The hotel is at the quieter end of the beach so it was really peaceful. Short walk into the little town so convenient. Staff were helpful (if a little shy) but were not in your face. The restaurant was not busy, despite the fact that it was reasonably priced and the food was tasty. We really enjoyed sitting by the beach with a beer, watching the glorious sunsets. This hotel did not have the feel of a big flash resort, but it was not a back-packers haunt either. Perfect if (like us) you want a quiet end to your Thailand travels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A less touristy area when compared to places visited on main phuket island. Food was good and reasonably priced.Beach bungalow was quiet and spacious.Beach was good for swimming.I had read reports that the beach chairs were always taken and not to expect one.This turned out to be very true so if you come to sit on the beach under a shady tree it won't happen. The management needs to try harder on this one. We took the day tour to the national park,canoe and elephant trek ,monkeys etc,well worth it. Don't book tours on the internet as they are at least double the price from the tour desks on the Main Street and are all pretty much the same.Hotel provides a ride into town,about a 10 minute walk. Good restaurants in Main Street. There is a regional bus from opposite the main supermarket on the hour to phuket town that takes a few hours, good price ,air con and an interesting journey

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We booked 6 "beachfront" nights here because the NTBR1 wasn't available. After taking a walk up the beach to the ntbr1 ; we were very happy with our choice. The #2 has a better beach, better lounging area (more shade trees), is a smaller resort , & has an overall more relaxing atmosphere. We would definitely return there.
The lock on our door was a 2 man challenge until we figured it out. Our main complaint was we only received one metal key+card & the card is used to turn the lights on + off. So at night time, to lock your door from the inside , you have to remove the key card to use the metal key in the lock. So have a flashlight handy. Solutions would be to separate the metal key & power card so bring an extra key chain for the metal key OR use a spare 'credit' card for the power slot.
Staff is very friendly; English limited.
Golf cart will take you to grocery store on main street. Just request at front desk when you want to go, no set time schedule. ATMs available there.
Resort is at end of paved road. If you continue along on gravel section ( duck under a bamboo gate) you will also arrive at main street , but at the other end of block ( lots of stores) from the grocery store . So a circular route. We took the hotel's cart to the store; walked south along main street stores, then turned right onto 'red' gravel road (< 5 min walk) to hotel & vice versa.
Hotel pickup service to & fro the Phuket airport is excellent. Their van is deluxe.
Restaurant food was good. Had all breakfasts & a couple dinners there. Pina coladas served in coconut shells... yummy !! And they deliver to your bungalow.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are nice ( only 5 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonon-les-Bains, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We chose this hotel thanks to the Lonely Planed and we were not disappointed of our choice. The location is perfect and the beach very beautiful and perfect if you have children. The bungalows are comfortable, quiet and well equipped and decorated. The hotel has a very good value for money. We really appreciated the atmosphere which is familial. The restaurant is excellent for breakfast or dinner. The only seamy side of this hotel is that the employees do not speak very well English and seem discomforted when you ask them a question. Except of that, our stay at Nangtong Beach was perfect. The location is better than its sister hotel "Nangtong Bay Resort".

Room Tip: For the garden bungalows, check if one between 915-923 is available. They are the bests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This review is a tricky one to write as I really just think we lucked out as all of the other reviews are glowing. We booked a beachfront bungalow here as there were none available at NTBR1.
When we arrived we were taken to our bungalow where the staff member took 5 minutes to get our door unlocked/open as it was stuck (not a great first impression), we then walked in to see 2 single beds when we had specified one larger bed as we're a couple. We told him we requested one larger bed and he simply pushed the two single beds together and quickly scurried off. We then had to call them back into the room as our electricity wasn't on which only took a flick of the meter box outside but would of been nice if this was already done prior to our arrival and to save another trip to reception.
Our door continued to cause us grief as it took the both of us to open and close it and even once locked, there was a gap between the two sliding doors which meant we had mosquito's in the room. We decided to stay one night here and then move on the following day as we were too exhausted from our travelling to worry about it. I understand that hotels do push two single beds together when necessary but it would of been more comfortable to at least have larger bed linen (ie sheets). On a more positive note, we couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room and the beautiful surrounds. The restaurant here was also really nice, we actually preferred NTBR2 restaurant over NTBR1s.
We moved to an apartment/hotel room at NTBR1 the following day without any hassles which we appreciated.
To be honest, I wouldn't stay here again. I would stay at NTBR1 as I felt their customer service was a lot better and they were always willing to help whereas we didn't get this feeling at NTBR2.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nang Thong Beach Resort 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nang Thong Beach Resort 2

Address: | Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#27 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Also Known As:
Nang Thong Beach Resort 2 Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nang Thong Beach Resort 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.