We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nang Thong Beach Resort 2

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nang Thong Beach Resort 2
Save
You added Nang Thong Beach Resort 2 to your Saves list
| Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
sunshine coast queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

A less touristy area when compared to places visited on main phuket island. Food was good and reasonably priced.Beach bungalow was quiet and spacious.Beach was good for swimming.I had read reports that the beach chairs were always taken and not to expect one.This turned out to be very true so if you come to sit on the beach under a shady tree it won't happen. The management needs to try harder on this one. We took the day tour to the national park,canoe and elephant trek ,monkeys etc,well worth it. Don't book tours on the internet as they are at least double the price from the tour desks on the Main Street and are all pretty much the same.Hotel provides a ride into town,about a 10 minute walk. Good restaurants in Main Street. There is a regional bus from opposite the main supermarket on the hour to phuket town that takes a few hours, good price ,air con and an interesting journey

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We booked 6 "beachfront" nights here because the NTBR1 wasn't available. After taking a walk up the beach to the ntbr1 ; we were very happy with our choice. The #2 has a better beach, better lounging area (more shade trees), is a smaller resort , & has an overall more relaxing atmosphere. We would definitely return there.
The lock on our door was a 2 man challenge until we figured it out. Our main complaint was we only received one metal key+card & the card is used to turn the lights on + off. So at night time, to lock your door from the inside , you have to remove the key card to use the metal key in the lock. So have a flashlight handy. Solutions would be to separate the metal key & power card so bring an extra key chain for the metal key OR use a spare 'credit' card for the power slot.
Staff is very friendly; English limited.
Golf cart will take you to grocery store on main street. Just request at front desk when you want to go, no set time schedule. ATMs available there.
Resort is at end of paved road. If you continue along on gravel section ( duck under a bamboo gate) you will also arrive at main street , but at the other end of block ( lots of stores) from the grocery store . So a circular route. We took the hotel's cart to the store; walked south along main street stores, then turned right onto 'red' gravel road (< 5 min walk) to hotel & vice versa.
Hotel pickup service to & fro the Phuket airport is excellent. Their van is deluxe.
Restaurant food was good. Had all breakfasts & a couple dinners there. Pina coladas served in coconut shells... yummy !! And they deliver to your bungalow.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are nice ( only 5 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonon-les-Bains, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We chose this hotel thanks to the Lonely Planed and we were not disappointed of our choice. The location is perfect and the beach very beautiful and perfect if you have children. The bungalows are comfortable, quiet and well equipped and decorated. The hotel has a very good value for money. We really appreciated the atmosphere which is familial. The restaurant is excellent for breakfast or dinner. The only seamy side of this hotel is that the employees do not speak very well English and seem discomforted when you ask them a question. Except of that, our stay at Nangtong Beach was perfect. The location is better than its sister hotel "Nangtong Bay Resort".

Room Tip: For the garden bungalows, check if one between 915-923 is available. They are the bests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This review is a tricky one to write as I really just think we lucked out as all of the other reviews are glowing. We booked a beachfront bungalow here as there were none available at NTBR1.
When we arrived we were taken to our bungalow where the staff member took 5 minutes to get our door unlocked/open as it was stuck (not a great first impression), we then walked in to see 2 single beds when we had specified one larger bed as we're a couple. We told him we requested one larger bed and he simply pushed the two single beds together and quickly scurried off. We then had to call them back into the room as our electricity wasn't on which only took a flick of the meter box outside but would of been nice if this was already done prior to our arrival and to save another trip to reception.
Our door continued to cause us grief as it took the both of us to open and close it and even once locked, there was a gap between the two sliding doors which meant we had mosquito's in the room. We decided to stay one night here and then move on the following day as we were too exhausted from our travelling to worry about it. I understand that hotels do push two single beds together when necessary but it would of been more comfortable to at least have larger bed linen (ie sheets). On a more positive note, we couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room and the beautiful surrounds. The restaurant here was also really nice, we actually preferred NTBR2 restaurant over NTBR1s.
We moved to an apartment/hotel room at NTBR1 the following day without any hassles which we appreciated.
To be honest, I wouldn't stay here again. I would stay at NTBR1 as I felt their customer service was a lot better and they were always willing to help whereas we didn't get this feeling at NTBR2.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Room is spacious, rebuilt since tsunami so all is relatively new. Right on beach with lots of lounges and cool breeze. Pool is refreshing, large and beautiful. Food is outstanding along with service. They graciously drive you into town especially helpful if buying groceries or if it's just too hot to walk. Plenty of staff with smiles eager to help. I will definitely return and just sorry I didn't stay longer. Many guests seem to return year after year as it is such a comfortable find. Prices exceedingly reasonable, an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinonee, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had adjoining garden rooms which were spacious and clean, suiting our family of 5 perfectly.
Others travelling with us had a beach front bungalow, great position steps from beach and pool. Could not fault anything. Service, food (very reasonably priced) excellent. Also situated on best section of beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goole
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a beach front bungalow and the views and surroundings were gorgeous. The bungalow was clean and done daily. Lovely bathroom with large walk-in shower. The pool was very nice and not too deep, same depth all across and with an infinity effect type end. We went in low season so not many staff on, and if you wanted anything when round the pool you had to get up and walk to reception instead of them coming out, but were mostly friendly enough. Ate in the restaurant 1 night, not the best meal we had in Thailand but was still nice. Would recommend as overall really nice and we had a great time there, especially watching the sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nang Thong Beach Resort 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nang Thong Beach Resort 2

Address: | Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#28 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Nang Thong Beach Resort 2 Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nang Thong Beach Resort 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.