We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort is fine, guests not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nang Thong Beach Resort 2

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nang Thong Beach Resort 2
Save
You added Nang Thong Beach Resort 2 to your Saves list
| Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Resort is fine, guests not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked nine nights at nang thong beach resort for our honeymoon based on the great reviews here on TA. This is a tough review to write because there's plenty to like and not to like about nang thong 2. First the good...we were told the resort had only one room left and we booked the last standard room ground floor. I was worried it might be dark and dingy. I was wrong. The room was great. (1914 I think) Very large, nice terrace overlooking a garden (as opposed to a walkway so no one walking by), and despite neighbors upstairs and next door, we barely heard a peep. Good solid construction. They also prepared our room with a honeymoon greeting, the swan towels and flowers, which even though cliched i think is a thoughtful touch. (we told all 5 of our hotels on our trip that it was our honeymoon, only 2 did something special for us.) The grounds are immaculately kept and the pool is lovely. The resort has a nice sandy beachfront but also tree shade. (There are jellyfish warnings but we weren't stung). The resort has two routes to the main road...the paved route is about a 10 minute walk, the unpaved route is just a couple of minutes but bring a flashlight as it is unlit and the ground is uneven. And lastly, while the staff is young and a bit unsure they were really trying their very best and that has to be commended. Some folks here have complained about hot/cold water in the shower.....it worked perfectly for us.

The less than wonderful parts of our stay mostly have to do with the other guests. The resort was almost entirely filled with Germans who decided it was ok to save their beach/pool chairs from day to day. I suppose they did this because they never left the resort to do anything....not dine elsewhere, visit a waterfall, or adventure to phuket for the day. This holding of chairs set a bad atmosphere for the resort and is unfair. Where the resort comes into play is that they could prohibit this by clearing all towels from the chairs during the evening. They could also make more seating and umbrellas available. So for facilitating a stressful poolside culture nang thong gets only 3 stars. Also, the restaurant while technically on the beach is caged by a fence and has no charm...which is fine because the food was not that good and we always ate elsewhere. In fact, most every day we walked 20 minutes up the beach to a cute, family-run place called Tiew Son. (Walk past The Sands) They would reserve a chair for you and had yummy piña coladas and pretty good food too. We thought it was a find and we enjoyed our walk down the beach every day and leaving the resort.

Lastly, we were in Khao Lak over New Years and really enjoyed the cabaret show and amazing fireworks provide by Baan Khao Lak...the place right next door.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

First few days we stayed here in a seaview bungalow. Seaview meaning first you see a beach strip riddled with crusty sunbeds. If you were to sit on the tiny veranda during the day the view is mainly filled with backs of other guests.
The room was clean(ish). The shower was either scorching hot or cold. The aircon was very noisy and had a defective lowest setting. It took some time to explain this defect to the staff, who had then explicitly needed to be told to get a repairman to fix it because it was not okay as it was. After that it got fixed the same day. The fan was too noisy to use at all.
The staff was friendly but very young and I expect had no training in hospitality. At breakfast they keep staring at you continuously and snatch away any piece of tableware they feel you are done with.
After a overnight trip to the similan islands we returned here for ease of having our luggage stored at the resort. This time we opted for a gardenview bungalow. Didn't miss our earlier view and kept an extra 500 Baht in our pockets per night. Aircon and fan were fine, shower had the same problem with only 2 settings and when we arrived the bathroom was infested with ants. We took it upon ourselves to get rid of them and we haven't seen more than a few after that.
All in all not a bad place but it seems there is much to improve and prices are much too high for what you get. I can't compare with other resorts in Khao Lak but I can with other places throughout Thailand and this is not a place I would recommend heartily.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tweed coast
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This resort is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are clean, serviced every day, the restaurant is excellent and the ambience is amazing.

You walk onto the beach, into a surf that is gentle. You can walk along the beach at low tide and it is quite safe to swim the length of the beach at any time.

You cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Book a beachside bungalow so that you have an unhindered view of the ocean. This is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed in a beach bungalow that was spacious, simply and tastefully furnished, and clean. Fairly new construction, so it is nicely maintained. Service was warm and friendly. We were there during low season, so rates cheaper and hotel not full.

Snorkeling hint: if you want to go to the Similian or other islands for snorkeling, most of those tours close at the end of April.

Initially we thought that the NTBR2 restaurant was a bit expensive, having come there from Chiang Mai where food was quite cheap. However, in comparison with most of the restaurants in town, the portions were larger and the price very comparable. The food was very tasty and served promptly, and it was SO convenient.

Also can try Lampuan Seafood (or something like that) in town for hearty and inexpensive meals.

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows were really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed with my 4 year old daughter at Nang Thong Beach Resort during Easter 2012 week in a garden bungalow in 3rd row away from the sea (app 100 meters). Booked directly with the hotel. Smooth reasonably priced pick up from Phuket airport, very fast efficient check in. Bungalow nicely appointed with outdoor shower bathroom. Helpful staff. Very nice pool area overlooking the beach with submerged bar in the pool. Very reasonably priced beach front restaurant with great sunsets and great fresh fruit breakfasts. Good Boncaffe coffee and coffee machine. Nice efficient staff at the restaurant. 2 free bottled water in the fridge every day in the bungalow. Reception desk offers gold cart ride to the nearby supermarket if feel like it.

The place could do with a small massage place on location, but not a problem as few places are within 300-400 m walk. My only real complaint is that the bar staff did not clear the pool area at all from empty bottles, glasses and plates when guests chose to eat thier lunch and snack poolside.

Overall very good place for all ages, esp families. I will for sure be back:-)

Room Tip: Go for bungalows! They have a terrace. Front row by the sea is the best but obviously other bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This gem of a place is at the end of a side street, yet only minutes away from the 'main drag'.
4 beachfront bungalows, then a series of garden bungalows set back, and the standard rooms at the back of the property.all well presented and clean..
scored a next to beach front 'garden bungalow ' at a negotiated rate for the 6 nights,
literally 30 metres from the sea...
good size room, huge shower and bathroom area.
rate does not include breakfast , but the onsite restaurant does an adequate start to the day at a reasonable cost.
or head into town to the many open for breakfast options
ten star did the job a few mornings...
it was march 30 and the place was about 20 % full so that suited us just fine and there are many dining options nearby [ take the shortcut to the highway ]
we had a really good look at their other property some 100 yards up the road,
chose the right one..
Highly recommended..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We only had three nights left in Thailand so we decided to try our luck here seeing as we had read so many good reports for both hotels. Booked a standard room as it was the cheapest and were pleasantly surprised when we entered. The room was spacious, modern and very clean. The biggest room we had in all our two week trip through Asia. The hotel is situated right on the beach, has a pool and beautiful gardens. The staff were excellent, as they were throughout Thailand. We didn't eat there as breakfast was not included in the room price. We just walked to the main road about 10 minutes away. We only had one big dissapointment and that was the TV. The available channels were either Thai, Italian / German/ Italian. Not one channel had an English speaking program. I know you don't go on holiday to watch TV, but I would have liked to watch some World News or world sport events like FI, MotoGp, Soccer, Cricket etc. But apart from that we were very happy and would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nang Thong Beach Resort 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nang Thong Beach Resort 2

Address: | Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#25 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#29 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Nang Thong Beach Resort 2 Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nang Thong Beach Resort 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.