We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Authentic Thai food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Tribe Restaurant

Hill Tribe Restaurant
Bangniang, Phetchkasem Rd. 13/22 | Moo 6, Khuk Kak, Tukuapa, Khao Lak, Thailand
086 28 30 933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 177 restaurants in Khao Lak
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Most Authentic Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was the best meal we had in Khao Lak, really beautiful flavours. We Had Dragon ballsand tempura vegetables then following a recommendation on Trip Advisor had the hot place of whiskey prawns which the chef flames in front of you! They were so good my husband had them both times we went. Very reasonably priced and they served good wine by the glass - worth a visit. One tip is that it is very warm and there are mosquitos so if you attract bugs like I do wear something long and srpay yourself in Deet! still worth a visit though!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    196
    75
    26
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place in December 2012. The food is very authentic and was the best food that I had during my three weeks in Khao Lak. It is located on the main road into Khao Lak which is why I did not find it sooner. The service despite a power cut was excellent and the staff were very polite and attentive. The staff managed to cook two of our three courses by torchlight and it still tasted amazing. Prices are very reasonable and there is also a small craft shop were you can buy small souvenirs. I will definitely return to this restaurant when next in Khao Lak

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful subtlety of flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I agree with previous posts that have argued this restaurant deserves to be busier given its excellent food and TA rating. I ordered a banana flower salad and sticky rice, and have to say it was one of the most enjoyable meals I have had on my trip. Only because the restaurant was empty did my meal lack atmosphere but the food was delicious. The balance of flavours was superb and clearly the work of someone who knows what they are doing in the kitchen.
One warning: pack the mosquito repellant, or use the one provided on each table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the Khao Lak area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We've been to Khao Lak twice, and this is consistently the best food - and the best service - in the area. It's authentic Thai food, cooked by a creative and professional chef who personally comes out of his kitchen to meet his customers. It's a little way out of Bang Yiang/Khao Lak centre, but well worth the walk, or the taxi drive. And really good value. We ended up eating here three times this time - absolutely cant be bettered. I recomend the North Thai special meal - many little taster dishes, superb!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, beautifully presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a lovely meal, the Panang curry was the best dish I had on the whole holiday.
The food was beautifully presented & the staff were quietly attentive.
I also thought it was good value for money & would definately say that this restaurant is well worth the taxi ride.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Tribe Restaurant also viewed

 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Hill Tribe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Tribe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.