We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and considerate staff, pool is excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast 50%off
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very friendly and considerate staff, pool is excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

FThe location is perfect for a relaxing beach holiday, nothing only sea. Very nice , helpful and excellent staff ,you feel the capable management , which is able to maintain harmony among guests and hosts. Good spa, of course the absolutely fabulous pool, created like a natural lake and with 3.2 km the longest in Asia .
Diving tours and nature trips are available in interesting settings,
Of course food is excellent, be it at breakfast or in one of the excellent restaurants is simply delicious , the friendly waiters make it even more enjoyable .
Nice place for a family holiday with small children

Room Tip: Difficult, because it depends on your demands, very nice are the pool access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    424
    94
    28
    20
See reviews for
541
966
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

was at this resort for 2 nights and my review as follows:

1) Location:
It was about 2hrs 15 mins drive from Surat Thani Airport with one toilet break. Hotel is located by the beach. Resort is very massive. There are restaurants at the entrance gate of the resort as well as along the beach beside the resort. So, yes, location is ok.

2) Resort Outlook and Check In:
Very well maintained resort. Lobby is quite grand for beach resort. Welcome drink is ok as it is not too sweet. My check in experience was a bit slow/too long. It took about 15-20 minutes at least for the receptionist to hand me key cards to my room although the lobby is empty. Request for upgrade to pool access room was declined although I am a member of Marriott and furthermore it is on weekday so there are many vacant rooms available. Instead, the receptionist was trying hard to upsell the pool access room with additional fee which is a bit annoying. I would prefer the receptionist just tell me straight that she is not able to give me any free upgrade rather than trying hard to upsell me the pool access room. Anyway, after that my experience at the resort was wonderful.

3) Deluxe Room:
As the resort does not have an elevator, it is best to stay on the ground floor or at the 1st floor. Most room at whichever floor will have a gorgeous view of the longest pool surrounding the resort. Room size is good with solid wood deco. Mattress and pillow are very comfy. Air cond is working very well. Bathroom is spacious and the bath tub is massive. Water pressure and hot water supply is very good at whichever time. Overall, I am happy with the room and it is definitely a 5 star resort room.

4) Wifi:
Wifi speed generally is ok at any part of the resort. However, the signal strength at room 5207 and 5208 is a bit inconsistent. Maybe the management can do something to boost the wifi signal strength nearby room 5207 and 5208.

5) Buffet Breakfast:
The spread is ok. It does feel like a decent 5 star hotel spread. However I find that the buffet offering is slightly boring and the menu is almost the same every day. The breakfast area is also a little warm/hot. I quite like the smoothie counter. It is a good concept. Overall, i am not overly crazy about the buffet breakfast. It is just ok for me.

6) All Meals Included Package
We took the experience package which includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. Generally this is a very good package to go with. The 3 course lunch and dinner sets are very lavish, luxury, tasty and classy. In particular, i like the 3 course menu dinner offering at the Olive. The meal was just perfect.

7) Swimming Pool:
Yes, it is very long, clean and so relaxing. Two thumbs up for the gorgeous pool concept at this resort. It is really outstanding in my opinion.

8) The Beach at Khao Lak
No doubt it is clean but the waves is so strong. May not be suitable for swimming - due to the fact that this month is the starting of low season in Thailand due to ramadhan period.

9) Staff Performance
Outstanding staff/guest relation sevice at this resort. I noticed that the staffs are all very very friendly and somehow they managed to remember my name. Overall, I am very satisfied with the services of the staffs. Two thumbs up again.

Overall, this is one outstanding resort to stay in Khao Lak. It has a nice spacious room and an amazing swimming pool concept. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went to Khao Lak for a weekend and this time we tried the first time the JW.
Whow! Beach, Pool, Gym, Staff and the ambiance excellent. It is world-class like all the other Marriott hotels and resorts.The staff deserve a A+. The rooms itself need some "renovation" however we noticed that this is already ongoing - without disturbing the guests. It was perfect and definitely not the last time!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana R, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, today
Dear Walter Benno S,

Warmest greetings from JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for making our resort as your preferred holiday destination and for spending time to share your feedback with other travelers on this website.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your fantastic stay and had such a memorable experience during your holiday weekend. It is indeed a pleasure to read your comments about the beach, the pool, the fitness center, the associates and the guest room.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time sharing your feedback with us; we all look forward to welcome you back again to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Sincerely yours,

Chatlada Rattana
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just returned from our trip to Thailand. Staying in the marriott for 7 nights was a highlight of the trip. The staff here were incredible. Very friendly and professional. I arranged for a romantic dinner on the beach in order to pop the question to my girlfriend. She said yes! :) Although the weather was against us we had such a special evening. Our waiter Na was brilliant and deserves a special mention. Escorting us inside when the rain came in under an umbrella then arranging to us to float a Chinese lantern into the sky (nice touch....even though the rain came back so it crashed and burnt!) The food at the Olive restaurant was incredible. Our room with pool access was beautiful. Highly recommend as that pool is so inviting. We spent many an hour floating round it. Stopping for cocktails then off again. Absolute bliss. There were some refurbishments going on when we were there. An ongoing task I imagine at such a beautifully kept resort. Any issues we had were dealt with swiftly by Si at reception. Loved everything about our stay and would love to return one day.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana R, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Stubrownlfc,
Warmest greetings from JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for making our resort as your preferred holiday destination and for spending time to share your feedback with other travelers on this website.

First of all, we would like to congratulate of your proposal! How gratifying to read your nice words about our brilliant associate ‘Na’ on your romantic dinner, the incredible food, the guest room and the pool. We will certainly ensure to recognize Na and Si, for their outstanding service and efforts.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time sharing your feedback with us; we all look forward to welcome you back again to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Sincerely yours,

Chatlada Rattana
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff at JW Marriott made us feel welcome and pampered from our pick up at the airport. On arrival, you are in awe of how stunning this place is. The unbelievable pool, manicured gardens, spa facilities and the restaurants on site...., top class quality food. My husband and I cannot find a single thing that we would've liked changed. The only decisions we had to make was do we swim in the pool or stay at the beach. Either way, a place we could enjoy our drinks and cocktails. They have everything covered. A very very restful and enjoyable holiday we won't forget for some time. Thank you especially to the staff there who were always so happy and obliging. See you again soon!

Room Tip: Pool access rooms give you access straight into the pool. A good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana R, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Lucy D,

Warmest greetings from JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to Greater Melbourne!

Thank you for making our resort as your preferred holiday destination and for spending time to share your feedback with other travelers on this website.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a memorable stay with us, thank you for your comments about our resort grounds, the spa, the restaurants, the food and the happy associates.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time sharing your feedback with us; we all look forward to welcome you back again to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Sincerely yours,

Chatlada Rattana
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was impressed by the pool the moment I walked in, however things started to take a turn to its worst after 3 nights at the JW Marriot. Firstly, the employees services was inconsistent, room was old and dirty. I could see what appear to be condom wrappers under the couch, cup unwashed, floor dusty, bedsheet was not changed even it clearly stated it will be change every third day. I had to call and ask for a change, housekeeper brought a sheet to change, pillow case and duvet was not change. 2nd night, there was blood traces on the floor from our 2nd floor hallway all the way down to the pool and it remained like this for the next day. I tired yoga which they claim was by the beach, however it is not. Its in a little room NEAR the beach and to top it off the teacher clearly has limited knowledge about yoga, posses was not addressed correctly. He is clearly not a qualified yoga certified teacher. 2nd night into our stay, I got terribly ill. Flew back to HK and went straight to the hospital only to confirmed that it was stomach flu and it was confirmed by the doctor that it was the food I had there as we ate only in the resort. The resort clearly needs renovation, hygiene training, staff training. I will never go back to this resort, complete waste of my time. I've been to most of the beaches / island in thailand and around the world and i have to say, this is probably the dirties resort ive ever been.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Elaine K,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for selecting our resort as your preferred holiday destination.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience.

I am deeply saddened to read of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies and I will follow up immediately and once more with our team to ensure these issues will not reoccur.

In terms of food hygiene we are following the highest standards and get audited on a very regular basis. As you write yourself that you got a "stomach flu", the roots for that are usually a virus, travel sickness or climate changes but a stomach flu is never caused by food. In addition to that, none of the other 400 guests in our resort during the period of your stay had any symptoms or any signs of a possible food poisoning.

I understand clearly the frustrations and doubts that you might have and would like to assure you that your experience has not gone unnoticed. We all hope that the stay will not caused you to judge Marriott differently.

Once again thank you for writing us with your feedback, this is very much appreciated.

We all look forward having the opportunity to regain your trust and welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell

Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booking with the JW Marriott has been a pleasure right from the start.
A special mention of Mr Arjun Sood who assisted with the reservations, upgraded us to the Pool Access Room and also managed to help us with the late Check Out.
The resort itself is amazing, its about 90Minutes drive from Phuket international airport.
The pool was awesome - the longest in South East Asia!!
The staff around are very friendly and helpful - they truly display the thai hospitality well.
The buffet breakfast had a wide choice - a special mention of the Smoothie Corner with fresh fruit smoothies... awesome idea.
Overall the experience has been a one to remember!

Room Tip: Book the Pool acess rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana R, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Besty S,

Warmest greetings from JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to Dubai!

Thank you for making our resort as your preferred holiday destination and for spending time to share your feedback with other travelers on this website.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your fantastic stay and had such a memorable experience during your holiday.
It is indeed a pleasure to read your comments about the resort location, the pool, the friendly and helpful associates and the breakfast. We will certainly ensure to recognize Mr.Arjun Sood, for his outstanding service and efforts.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time sharing your feedback with us; we all look forward to welcome you back again to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Sincerely yours,

Chatlada Rattana
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.