We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

First time to thailand and stayed a week in lagoon villa which was near beach. It was a perfect place to relax whether by the pool, on the beautiful beach or day spa. Food was also great especially banh Thai, and dining on the beach overlooking the andaman sea, priceless Couldn't have asked for a more relaxing break. I would like to thank all the staff for making our stay an enjoyable one. Hope to be back soon

Room Tip: Lagoon villa is private and close to pools , beach and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Stephanie D,

greetings from Khao Lak and thank you for making the JW Marriott Khao Lak your preferred choice during your recent vacation in Thailand. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments with readers on this website.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and had such memorable and relaxing days in our beautiful resort. It is indeed a pleasure to read your comments about our great food , the pool, th Spa and the beautiful beach.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and when you are returning to Thailand, we are looking forward to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa.

Yours Sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    351
    75
    21
    16
See reviews for
443
803
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

An amazing place to stay if you want peace and quiet.
ALL the staff are polite and courteous and greet you with a smile.
Check in is very quick and smooth with a lovely fresh towel and cold drink on arrival.
Breakfast was outstanding with an excellent choice- something for everyone. Ate out at the restaurants at the bottom of the drive and on the beach – all great choice of food and very cheap.
The swimming pool is amazing, it is great to be able to swim around the channels of the hotel.
Our room was on the first floor which suited us as a couple as it gave us a bit more privacy than having a pool access – some were more open than others.
Regarding the smell of mould in your room, yes maybe there is a touch but just open the patio doors for a while and it soon disappears.
Plenty of sunbeds around and never the feeling of being over crowded. Loved the quiet area around the adults pool in the middle, sun beds arranged in such a way that you felt you were totally on your own– a lovely touch.
The staff were very attentive and would regularly ask if everything was ok and if we had any concerns or problems.
One of the best hotel we have ever stayed in – Thank You

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which was quiet and not over looked. Some of the swim access rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Manda K,

sunny greetings from Khao Lak and thank you very much for sharing your comments about our beautiful resort with other readers on this website.

I am thrilled to read your review and like to thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa as an amazing place and one of the best hotels you have ever stayed.

We much appreciate your great comments about the quick and smooth check in, the outstanding breakfast, the amazing pool and above all the attentive, polite and courteous associates.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future and I remain with very best regards.

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at the JW Marriot for 1 week for our honeymoon and found it very relaxing. The pool is amazing and very well maintained as are the gardens. The buffet breakfast was also very good. The gym was great and my husband really enjoyed the Muay Thai training avalible. The shuttle into Khao Lak was usefull but with certain items avalible at "the Deli" within the resort and a 7 Eleven only a minutes walk away it is easy to stay at the resort and have everything you'd need. The food at the restaurants was good but I would recommend trying some of the restaurants located on the beach next to JW especially "Blue mist".
The only real negative we had at the resort was upon arrival we were informed we should stay out of our room between 6-7pm by a concierge as a "special suprise" had been organised for our honeymoon. Upon returning to our room we found nothing, and though we had not been expecting anything when booking I found this very dissapointing and upsetting.
We would recommend this resort for both families and couples.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are good but not essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Em W,

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Khao Lak as your preferred honeymoon destination and for taking time to share your comments with other readers on this website.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and had such a relaxing and wonderful experience during your honeymoon. It is very gratifying to read your comments about our pools, the breakfast, the good food, the gym and the Deli. Especially that you recommend our resort to families and couples alike is fantastic and we really appreciate your compliments.

We well noted your comment about the misunderstanding in regards of the room set up, please accept my sincere apologies and we immediately followed up with the departments involved in order to improve our services.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and when you are returning to Thailand, we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This place is simply incredible! I loved every minute of my stay here.
We went on a Luxury Escapes 8 night package and it was such great value. The spa treatments were an absolute delight. The spa is incredible and each therapist was just incredible.
The food is amazing. I personally preferred to go to a restaurant when the buffet wasn't on as I felt it was a more personal experience however the buffet was still lovely. Make sure to try the Chocolate dessert from Olive. It was just amazing!
The staff however are what makes this resort. They are all super friendly and so very helpful. They are happy to chat to you. Sue from front desk was very helpful! There is so much to do at this resort yet it was so lovely to just relax and do nothing.
AMAZING! +++ Thanks to all who made our stay perfect!

Room Tip: We were in Wing 1- quite far walk to breakfast if you have any issues with walking however it was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear AuntieLaura88,

greetings from Khao Lak and thank you for making the JW Marriott Khao Lak your preferred choice during your recent vacation in Thailand. We appreciate you taking time to share your comments with readers on this website.

We are very pleased to learn that you had a perfect stay and had such memorable and relaxing days in our beautiful resort. It is indeed a pleasure to read your comments about our spa, the great food and most importantly the very helpful and super friendly staff.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and when you are returning to Thailand, we are looking forward to welcome you back to your "heaven on earth" JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa.

Yours Sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We completely reiterate all other positive comments made about this wonderful, relaxing resort.
Thank you Vetch the Omelette king at breakfast, wanted to take Lily from the Quan Spa home with us, and Robin is the best waiter in the world.
We used Luxury Escapes and found the process completely seamless.

Will definitely be back! :)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a swim out apartment...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear KarenHoward123,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on this website and describing your experience in our resort!

We are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay, thank you for your great compliments and comments about our wonderful and relaxing resort.
Our team takes great pride in providing warm and genuine hospitality to our guests and your feedback about our associates is really appreciated. It is a pleasure to share your nice words with our entire team and especially with Khun Vetch, Khun Lily and Robin. I am sure your review will make them super happy and proud.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back to JW Marriott Khao Lak very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwathby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights - hotel is excellent in all areas but it is the staff that help make this hotel what it is.Tin at the Waterfront Restaurant was fantastic . He was always there to help us and always made us laugh . He is a credit to the JW Marriott Hotel at Khao Lak.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination!

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a great stay, thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa for a relaxing holiday and your great comments about our hotel being wonderful and excellent in all areas. I completely agree with you that the team is our most excellent and valuable "credit", it is my great pleasure to convey your compliments to our associates and especially to Khun Tin who is an outstanding ambassador to our resort and the JW Marriott brand.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience and we all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks late July, beginning August. Don't want to go into great detail, it's all been said before about the fantastic pool, beautiful grounds, incredible breakfasts, friendly staff, etc, etc. What I can comment on are the remarks about rooms being run down and a mouldy smell. One reviewer said they couldn't understand how anyone could write this. Well our room WAS slightly tatty and DID smell damp. However..... it's the rainy season and it IS damp and humid, you get used to it after a few seconds after entering your room and to answer the run down aspect, renovation works were in progress near our room whilst we were there. What more can the Marriott do? I assume the work is carried out in the low season. Anyway, it didn't affect our enjoyment of this beautiful place.
We were disappointed with the restaurants outside the resort. The best, in our opinion was Antonio's but thought it quite expensive. The others, Prem Rudi and the ones on the beach were very much similar to each other, both in the menus and the quality. Got bored after a few nights. We enjoyed the beach one to the left of the resort with 'Gekko Man' slightly more than the other beach ones and the atmosphere was good, 'The Deli' in the hotel had good food and was reasonably priced.
The gym had a good range of equipment.
Would we return? Probably not, but not because of the resort, it's the range of outside shops/restaurants (or lack of) that would send us back to the Ramada a little further down the coastline if we ever came back to the area.

Room Tip: Research the hotel website which room type would suite your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Penbryngal,

sunny greetings from Khao Lak to the UK and thank you very much for your review of the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your two weeks holidays in our beautiful resort. We appreciate your nice words about the pool, the friendly staff, the Deli, the breakfast and our gym. Our maintenance team is indeed working very hard during this period to conduct necessary touch up and renovation projects in order to make our resort look even more beautiful for your future visits.

Thank you once more for recommending the JW Marriott Khao Lak and we are all hoping to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.