We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yoursef a favour and get in quick!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do yoursef a favour and get in quick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We completely reiterate all other positive comments made about this wonderful, relaxing resort.
Thank you Vetch the Omelette king at breakfast, wanted to take Lily from the Quan Spa home with us, and Robin is the best waiter in the world.
We used Luxury Escapes and found the process completely seamless.

Will definitely be back! :)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a swim out apartment...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear KarenHoward123,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on this website and describing your experience in our resort!

We are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay, thank you for your great compliments and comments about our wonderful and relaxing resort.
Our team takes great pride in providing warm and genuine hospitality to our guests and your feedback about our associates is really appreciated. It is a pleasure to share your nice words with our entire team and especially with Khun Vetch, Khun Lily and Robin. I am sure your review will make them super happy and proud.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back to JW Marriott Khao Lak very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    352
    76
    21
    16
See reviews for
447
807
29
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langwathby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights - hotel is excellent in all areas but it is the staff that help make this hotel what it is.Tin at the Waterfront Restaurant was fantastic . He was always there to help us and always made us laugh . He is a credit to the JW Marriott Hotel at Khao Lak.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination!

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a great stay, thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa for a relaxing holiday and your great comments about our hotel being wonderful and excellent in all areas. I completely agree with you that the team is our most excellent and valuable "credit", it is my great pleasure to convey your compliments to our associates and especially to Khun Tin who is an outstanding ambassador to our resort and the JW Marriott brand.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience and we all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks late July, beginning August. Don't want to go into great detail, it's all been said before about the fantastic pool, beautiful grounds, incredible breakfasts, friendly staff, etc, etc. What I can comment on are the remarks about rooms being run down and a mouldy smell. One reviewer said they couldn't understand how anyone could write this. Well our room WAS slightly tatty and DID smell damp. However..... it's the rainy season and it IS damp and humid, you get used to it after a few seconds after entering your room and to answer the run down aspect, renovation works were in progress near our room whilst we were there. What more can the Marriott do? I assume the work is carried out in the low season. Anyway, it didn't affect our enjoyment of this beautiful place.
We were disappointed with the restaurants outside the resort. The best, in our opinion was Antonio's but thought it quite expensive. The others, Prem Rudi and the ones on the beach were very much similar to each other, both in the menus and the quality. Got bored after a few nights. We enjoyed the beach one to the left of the resort with 'Gekko Man' slightly more than the other beach ones and the atmosphere was good, 'The Deli' in the hotel had good food and was reasonably priced.
The gym had a good range of equipment.
Would we return? Probably not, but not because of the resort, it's the range of outside shops/restaurants (or lack of) that would send us back to the Ramada a little further down the coastline if we ever came back to the area.

Room Tip: Research the hotel website which room type would suite your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Penbryngal,

sunny greetings from Khao Lak to the UK and thank you very much for your review of the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your two weeks holidays in our beautiful resort. We appreciate your nice words about the pool, the friendly staff, the Deli, the breakfast and our gym. Our maintenance team is indeed working very hard during this period to conduct necessary touch up and renovation projects in order to make our resort look even more beautiful for your future visits.

Thank you once more for recommending the JW Marriott Khao Lak and we are all hoping to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed in this resort ,JW Marriott Khao Lak and all 4 of us , a couple and 2 friends were more than satisfied although we lost our way driving from the airport.For those driving, you have to be alert , follow the Le Meridien signage.It is a scenic drive that would take over an hour but well worth it when you reach the foyer of the hotel.This is a beautiful property and you will be in awe of the swimming pool for the first timers.It is so tempting not to leave the hotel grounds! Though it is the low season, it is packed with guests during breakfast time.The food is great, especially Olive,the Italian restaurant.Unfortunately Sakura,the Japanese restaurant had a function on and dinner was buffet style at the main restaurant. Variety was lacking. If you walk to the beach,turn right, there's 3 huts serving food.We tried Andaman seafood for 2nights and we were so pleased with the food, especially the fried fish. we will definitely return. Check in/out was alright.It rains during the low seasons.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear popeyenolive8,

Greetings from Khao Lak to Malaysia!

Thank you for sharing your feedback as a senior contributor on this website and describing your experience in our wonderful resort!

We are very pleased to learn that you had a relaxing stay, thank you for your nice words about our beautiful property, the pool and the great food, especially at Olive.

We all look forward to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Myself hubby and our 2 girls 7 & 4 visited the resort from 2/8-12/8 on a luxury escapes deal and we where totally thrilled with our experience!

Transfer was perfect,check in all great, nice big clean room #3003 everything you could want, amazing pool and staff and restaurants and day spa and the room service people where amazing they cleaned our room beautifully twice a day, and it didn't change at all while we we where in the resort loved it....

I had read on prior reviews complaining smell of mould /paint /run downt etc but really the resort is wonderful if you have ever lived with the weather condition beach/sand salt/rain/heat/humidity it is a never ending process in keeping everything maintained you finish and you think great, NO you have to start again from the start as it never ends in those weather climates.....

Breakfast was amazing, lunch was a little to much for me some days i just want a cold meat sandwich so i quite often had a chip roll with sauce as it was a full thai buffet great salards, soup it was a great mix to choose from...Dinner was great we preferred Olive restuarant for the meal deal we where on! The staff are amazing I would love to give a big shout out to Meaw, Tarn & Joy ( I think that's her name she greeted us every morning for breakfast on when you signed in your room #) they where so friendly and our girls loved looking out for them!

My girls loved the arrival of the elephant to feed it, wow what amazing experience for them to be so close with such amazing animals!

The beach cleared up for us to be able to swim for our last 4 days prior to us leaving as it is rainy session it is not clear and can be rough it is beautiful when it is showing the beautiful colours...

The wine is very expensive so maybe look at another drinking option...

We had dinner twice at Andaman next door to the right of the resort on the beach and that was beautiful and cheap compared to hotel if you had to pay for dinner we where lucky ours was all included...My girls had there hair braided her also on the day prior to leaving i must say i did feel that they ripped us off on this, as no one else seem to do it they wanted $1400 bah for my 7 year old and $600 for my 4 year old half head only which is approx $70 austalian dollars and i was not happy she said it would take 2 hrs for a full head & 1 hr for half! My husband said no more than $1400 for this and he sent me off to try to do a deal! I had spoke to many others in resort and they had said $1000 bah full head $400 bah half so i was off and another little girl had had it done for $700 the whole head! They 1st offer me 10 front braids for $600 & i said you will never get 10 in my 4 yr so she said $50 each bah i said ok and they started the 2 older ladies who had given me the price ( now i must say i should know as i am hairdresser by trade that my girls have fine hair) and then 1 changed to another lady after the 1st braid was in, then as my 7 yr old really wanted her whole head done and i said to the new lady how much for the remaining hair just to be plaited she said $500 bah i said perfect go for it( well the 2 older ladies now both doing massages on the floor as my 4yr old had only taken 25 mins to complete it not the 1 hour as they had said, and this was only 35 mins since they had started in my big girl) no they where saying to new lady $700 for the back where yelling at the new lady for giving me that price and i had already said yes do it for the $500 bah she said that she had to go ask her boss she came back and said yes my daughter was excited, then the boss lady came over about and they where all going off in there own langauge but you didn't have to a scientist to work out what the problems was between them all...And then i said my peace to the boss lady about the other 2 older ladies that i thought that they where ripping me off, cause really in Phuket what is the bottom dollar anyway!!!! SO in the end my girls where happy and we only paid the $1400 bah and yes they didn't get 10 braids into the front of my 4yr old hair only 8...

We did go into Khao Lak and walked the street got some good things I think it was cheaper than Patong as other guest did a day trip down and just chatting with them everything you wanted you can get @ Khao lak and was cheaper than Patong beach! The hotel transfer is $50 bah each way or taxi open back van is $300 bah. My husband was in need of a suit so we thought we would get one with the hollywood tailor on the right hand side heading towards the resorts and we where very very happy it was $6000 bah for pants/shirt & jacket and then we got another 3 shirts for $1800.

We did have a 1 half days of rain and that was nice to cool the pool down as well, happy drinks by the bar where nice and my wine was a little cheaper this is when i would have one it was $209 for a glass which is $7.50 approx. The kids went to kids club for one arvo they enjoyed it making various craft activities they girls where lovely with our kids they had a ball. This is when hubby & I went to the day spa which in it's self was brilliant the spa was very nice and the ladies where great at there job!

We also wanted to go for a ride on the elephants only nothing else so we rang the activity desk and she said ok $600 bah transfer and driver would wait and bring you back on the way the driver said it was $2500 for each elephant and we had been quoted into $1700 for each elephant so again what is the the bottom price for the ride? They did give it to us for the $1700 it was a different place to the broucher we where given there seems to be lots of elephant companys. But we where happy and they took a photo and the was $80 bah for 2 images.

In summary a very relaxing well enjoyed holiday had by us all!

Thanks you all J W M

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear VBDDLVB,

Thank you for making the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa your preferred family holiday destination and for taking time to share your comments with other travelers in this forum.

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our amazing and wonderful resort and had such a memorable experience.

Especially your comment about Khun Meaw, Khun Tarn and Khun Joy providing such an exceptional service at our Waterfront restaurant, makes us extremely proud. It is indeed a pleasure to share your comments with our fantastic team, especially with the above mentioned associates who are doing an outstanding job in taking care of our guests.

Furthermore, thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at arrival, check in and our breakfast buffet.
I am also thrilled to read your compliments about the room, the pool, the restaurants, the spa and the housekeeping services.
We really appreciate your comment about the overall condition of the resort since our engineering and maintenance teams are working very hard throughout the whole year and I am sure your nice words will make them very happy.

Once again thank you for recommending our resort and we are all looking forward very much to welcome your lovely family back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Magnificent Resort, it might be 90 minutes north of airport, but it's well worth the effort, and the sights on the way give you an idea of semi rural Thailand. The pool is the biggest and best I've seen, and the rooms are excellent, very clean and functional. All the food outlets were high standard and the buffet breakfast has a huge variety. The Cafe was very good value for light meals. But best of all is the service, out of 10 I would give it an 11, wonderful smiling staff throughout that couldn't do enough for you. Congratulations to you all, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room in this first class Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear JKMarriott,

Thank you for making the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa your preferred holiday destination and for taking time to share your comments with other travellers in this forum.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had such a memorable experience. Especially your feedback that our associates and the service they offered are a 11 out of 10 is very satisfying and it is indeed a pleasure to share your nice words with our entire team.

Furthermore, thank you very much for describing our resort as magnificent and recommending us for the pools, the rooms, the restaurants and the breakfast buffet.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your comments and our whole team at JW Marriott Khao Lak is looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We have just returned from a 8 night fully inclusive package at the JWM and despite a disturbing error upon arrival I have to say the balance of our stay was excellent in every aspect.

We arrived at Phuket Airport on JQ17 at 2210 on 17/8/14. I had received an email from the hotel on 1/8/14 confirming both our arrival and departure details together with information on where to meet our driver. After collecting our luggage we went to the meeting point and attempted to find our driver. Unfortunately after walking up and down for about 20 min I was unable to find anyone with our names on their board. I did speak to 2 people who had the name of the hotel on their boards but with other guests names. Despite checking their lists neither contained our names and neither person offered to transport us to the hotel. They advised me to keep walking up and down to try and locate a person with our names on their board. After another fruitless search I approached one of the men displaying the JW Marriott Khao Lak Hotel boards and asked him to ring the hotel and ask where our driver was. He agreed to do this and after some discussion and agreement from the other guests to share their transport we finally boarded the van for transfer to Khao Lak. This was a rather distressing start to our holiday and I hate to think what might have happened if we were the only guests to arrive on that flight or the other guests were not kind enough to share their transport. I would have been extremely unhappy if I had to ring the hotel and they had to send someone to collect us, especially given that it is about a 80 min drive from the hotel to the airport !

Upon checking in at the hotel an apology for the error was made but there was no explanation offered and there was no follow up from anyone more senior during our stay. Not a great start!

However from that point onwards we had a fantastic holiday. We had a Pool Access room which was definitely worth the extra $$$. I won't go over all the other features of the hotel as they have been well covered by previous reviews. What I will say is that we did not leave the hotel grounds (except for a few walks along the beach) for our entire stay. Normally we would leave any hotel in search of some variety in our dining but with the excellent variety and standard on offer at the JWM we didn't feel the need to search out any alternatives.

In summary if you are looking for a great place for a spot of R&R I think the JWM Khao Lak is hard to beat.

DWL

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear DWL888,

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination!

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a great stay, thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa for a relaxing holiday. Your great comments about our pool access rooms and the various dining options are truly appreciated.

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the arrival experience at the airport. We regret you encountered this inconvenience and we apologize for not having delivered towards your expectations and our standards. We have followed up immediately with our team to have these points resolved and it seems there was a miscommunication between our property and the transportation provider. Thank you once more for bringing this to my attention and please accept my sincere apologies for the unawareness.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your experience and we all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Alex Schoell
Director of Rooms
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.