We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not exactly fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Sgp
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not bad but not exactly fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for a total of 5 nights. Check in was good and personalized. Strange thing was that they needed the e certificate and I ended up emailing the email confirmation. Never had to do that at any of the Marriott hotels. Room was nice and quite clean. Dated is indeed an appropriate word to describe many of the things in this hotel.

What was fantastic was the pool. It was huge and very relaxing for floating around. The kids pool didn't seem very clean. Water was a little murky.

Having read so many raving reviews about the breakfast, I must say, I was no where near impressed. Actually very disappointed. For 5 mornings, there were exact same things being served. I really mean exact same things. I'm not taking about the sausages and bacon. They served the exact same veg, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms and potatoes. There was one variation to the potato out of the 5 days. Most other Marriott hotels I have been to in Thailand would have changed the variety of they local food over the span of 5 days. Not this JW. Only one item was changed at most. They do serve hot noodles where you get to pick your own noodles and veg. The biggest put off were the flies. Flies on sushi, flies on cut fruits and even uncut fruits. There were many flies. Fruits are varied, so were some of the pastries.
I guessed what impressed many of the guests was the size of the restaurant, especially where the food was placed. There actually ain't that much variety of food seriously. I am a huge fan of Renaissance Phuket and Renaissance Bangkok. This is nothing compared to the Renaissance.

If you are looking for a massage, do walk out of the main entrance where you will find a row of little shops. There is a massage place with prices going 400 (they had a promo, 300 before sunset) and it was really good. There are also 2-3 eateries out there and a convenience store.
If you walk out of the beach to the right, the first stall has much cheaper food than the second. Tastes good to me!

On the whole, an OK stay. Don't think I will return in the near future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear cattwl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the resort. We appreciate your feedback and will re-look at the breakfast offering as per your observations. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future, however we know that te two Rennaissance hotels in Thailand are also excellent choices. So, please let us know if we can assist you with your travel needs in Thailand.

Best regards,

Ty Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    974
    318
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
388
704
27
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We expected so much of this resort, but we were disappointed. More than half of the resort was taken over by the guests of an Indian wedding. Our first night was sleepless as a result. The room was small and had no table with which you could eat your room service off of. Cleaning of the room was haphazard at best, sometimes cleaned sometimes not. We had to contact reception twice on one day to get it cleaned. Room service food trays from other rooms were left outside for up to two days, resulting in birds picking food off the trays and scattering it all over the walkway. When the food tray was removed the food was left on the walkway. Turn down service appeared once in our stay of eight days.
Food handling hygiene questionable. When you attend one of the buffets, make sure the seafood is not sitting out in the heat without refrigeration.
The signature Thai restaurant, Ta Krai was unbelievably hot, yet the food was pretty cold when it arrived, probably because it is cooked in another restaurant and then brought over (without a cloche).
Also be wary of the pork sausages at breakfast time, one of us got food poisoning from them.
The spa was very good, but be aware that you must book in advance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear beaustravels,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. We sincerely regret that you were dissatisfied with your stay. We will discuss some processes within our team to see how we can improve. We would also appreciate if you could share some of the specific details of your stay with us such as room number, offline, so that we may have the opportunity to specifically address the points you have raised. Our team works hard to improve each day and we hope to have the chance to regain your trust again in the future.

Respectfully,

Ty Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

If there was heaven on earth, this place would come close.

It has everything you would look for in a relaxing beach holiday - a great stretch of beach owned by the hotel, couple of beach shacks within walking distance, the best pool you are likely to see, great rooms, and staff that was smarter and more conversant in English than you would otherwise find in Thailand.

The food stands out, as does the spa, which is again, among the best anywhere in the world. There are a few activities such as treks, elephant rides, ATV rides, close to the hotel as well.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in Phuket, Khao Lak and the Marriot is definitely worth the 1.5 hr drive and a far cry better than the options you will find in Phuket.

Room Tip: Take the pool access rooms facing one of the pool bars. Worth the slight premium to be able to jump...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was stayed at this hotel for leisure in June. It was 3rd time stayed here. The staff are very friendly and attentive. We was offered a buy one get one free dinner buffet at Mediterranean Restaurant and it costs $1,190B per person. Under the promotion, it charged $1,190B for 2ppl. It's really value for money. The food is very tasty. I will definitely come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The J.W Marriott Khao Lak is a little over an hours drive from Phuket airport and there is nothing much in the area so one must be prepared to spend all their time in the resort. However, the resort is so fantastic theres no reason to leave it at all!
We stayed in the pool access room and it was heaven to be able to wake up every morning and jump straight in to the cool water! (The meandering pool which is apparently over 3 kms long is pristine and super well maintained) The room and bathroom are well sized and aircondtioning is very effective. In room dining is also excellent!
If one is not staying in the pool access room, no worries since the main pool and the beach are also great! You can lounge all day on the deck chairs sipping on young coconut water and never get bored! Service is also excellent...nothing to beat Thai hospitality!
Since we were there for a wedding, I did not have the chance to check out the spa or wake up in time for breakfast but I heard both were super!
The only down side was that we got quite a bit of rain... 2 out of 3 days! So check weather predicitions before you decide to travel!
Overall, highly recommended if all you want is some intense rest and relaxation at a luxe resort.

Room Tip: Recommend the pool access rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

just arrived back in aust' after 8 days at JWM.
used a deals dot com offer so got plenty of extras.
JWM is fantastic. Staff all trained up A plus. Breakfast banquet great- love those smoothies.
Khao Lak itself hasn't much to offer but staying inside the resort don't need to leave.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

After 7 days of returning to Perth, my husband and I are both SO RELAXED ..... having had the most FABULOUS RELAXING holiday at Jw Marriott Resort..and so ....this relaxation continues.
It's a 90mins drive from Phuket airport to the hotel which is situated in a beautiful location The gardens are immaculate. The reception we received when we arrived at the hotel was friendly,the whole process of checking in was mimimun. There is a shuttle bus that runs from the hotel to the markets and the town area for a small fee...a good variety of times to and from the hotel, but make sure you book a day or a few days in advance.This is a popular service.
Our room ,( second floor, 3114) was a 5 min walk from the main reception , and another few mins to the breakfast /dining area. We chose a room with a balcony as we thought it was more private, and seriously ,it was a minute to the pool from our room.
The room itself was spacious,a huge bed, it was so comfortable, It was great to have a room with comfortable seating; a chair with a leg rest, a couch and comfortable chairs on the balcony,. There was a safe in the room,( very easy to operate,) an iron, and ironing board, (and yes, I can hear the cries of " Who irons," but I do,so a definite bonus) , A JWM bag to use for the beach,great for books, suntan cream etc etc.,..an umbrella.. so useful when we visited as this month (May) is the beinning of the monsoon season,
The bathroom was spacious ,a DEEP bath to climb into, and the best shower EVER ! Hand held shower, and a large overhead shower, plenty of tolietries, a great supply of beautiful towels in the room, a lovely mirror for make up and full length mirrors on the doors of the bathroom.
The breakfasts are, as other reviewers have said wonderful,.... such a varied, vast choice. The smoothies are mmmmmmmmmm!!

The pool is incredible, because of its size/length, and so spacious,. Walk the 3.8 ks ,swim laps, or just float towards one of the pool, bars., and BEST of all.... you can always find your own space in the pool ! A word of warning, when it is really warm the pool tiles can be a little slippery, and very hot. The ground,/surface around the pool becomes too hot to walk barefoot!
There are plenty of sun loungers, around the pool, and more facing onto the Andaman sea, a beach towel bay, drinks, bar....books to borrow...mostly German, and one French, so my advice is to take plenty of reading material...this is RELAX MODE AT THE MAX.!!
We dined at the Olive Restaurant, on our last evening at the hotel, but really can't say we were overly impressed ;- too many staff, feeling rushed to order drinks and a meal...and nothing really special overall.. I can't comment on the other restaurants as we chose to eat locally most evenings.


If you turn right out onto the beach there are a few local restaurants, one of which we highly recommend, The Andamman, great local Thai food, great service and yes.... great prices.
.
Highly recommended...... the manicure /pedicure and foot massge at the Andammann.as well as a selection of different massages.
Mama's had been recommended on Trip advisor, unfortunately it was closed for the season when we were at Khao Lak. There were restaurants to the left of the Marriott Hotel on the beach....none of which we frequented.
Yes... a memorable holiday...completely relaxed.
.
Just a minor disappointment ...which really didn't effect us too much as it was our last day, We were leaving the resort at 7pm. We were told by other guests that a wedding was to be held at the hotel. There was no official notification..other than a memeber of staff just happened to mention this at breakfast on the morning that half of the wedding guests were arriving. The wedding celebrations were to last for 3 days !!!!!!!!. Also...within 2 days there was another wedding at the hotel.

The reason we chose this hotel was to completely relax. ...if we had arrived when the wedding party had been in full swing...for 3 days.., I'm sure myreview would have been very different.


JUST TO NOTE; The tile in the corridors are slippery, far safer to walk barefoot...be VERY CAREFUL IF WET. I don't think I'd recommend this resort, as beautiful, and as relaxing as it is to anyone with any, Leg, Hip, problems THERE ARE NO LIFTS ANYWHERE,

Room Tip: Block 3 was good..room3114......less human traffic..especially at high season, great acess to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.