We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, 5* exceeds expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, 5* exceeds expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We travelled to this hotel with Thomson 25th March 2014-9th April 2014. The flight was ok, transfer was via private taxi which was nice after being on a plane full of people for 11.5 hours. Its about 1hr 20 from the airport. Once we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a refreshing drink and a cold towel to cool us down. This was lovely except we were kept waiting for over an hour until we were told that the room wasnt ready and we would need to wait until later on to check in, I was really not happy about this as we had spent hours travelling so I complained and we got put in a different room straight away. I am happy to say this is the only negative thing about the whole trip.

Our room was on the third floor and was beautiful, all the rooms are. The breakfast had a really wide choice you can literally have anything that you want there. We only visited the one restaurant on resort which I cannot remember the name of but it is as you go down to the building that breakfast is in its the furthest on the left. Really really great food, but expensive. Much cheaper food can be found in the restaurants surrounding the hotel, the best are out onto the beach to the right, very very cheap food here and good food at that.

The pool area is amazing, lots of little cove areas to sit in, feels like nobody else is there! The pool is just so big, there are plenty of loungers and so much space. The beach area was our favourite though looking out over the beautiful view and every 30mins or so a waiter comes round and serves ice cold water to everyone, then in the afternoon they also hand round cold towels to cool down with. Absolutely perfect.

We went on two of the trips with Thomson, would recommend the khao sok national park, this was a brilliant experience, riding elephants, feeding monkeys and a trip down the river on a canoe. You really do get so much for the money and the guide is a lovely guy really helpful and informative. The other trip was to the similan islands which was good too, but we were disappointed with the Thomson reps advice on this one. Its quite an expensive trip and its much cheaper to book with either someone in khao lak town or some of the restaurants on the beach to the left sell them much cheaper and from closer. With the Thomson one you travel 1.5hours in a mini bus to phucket then 1.5hours on the speedboat to get to the islands. Its a lot of travelling really un necessary to be honest as khao lak is closer to the islands than phuket. The Thomson guy Alan told us not to book with the beach ones as they dont go from a proper harbour and they dont have life jackets etc, well we were shocked when we arrived at a pub and had to walk across the beach to board the boat from a disused section of the beach, certainly not a proper harbour in anyones sense. Anyway once we got there was a lovely trip swam with fish, sea turtles and saw dolphins.

Really would recommend this hotel, we had a really lovely time here and would recommend this to family/friends. The hotel is amazing and from talking to other travellers on the excursions/ at the airport it sounds like we were staying in the best hotel in the area.

Forgot to say the hotel also run a shuttle into the local town which i think was about £1 each, well worth visiting the local town so many little shops and eateries. We also went to the market which was a worthwhile experience.

Room Tip: The swim up rooms looked amazing but to be honest all of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear V A,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing a detailed review about your experience in our resort.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a relaxing stay, thank you for your great comments about our rooms, lagoon pool and breakfast.

We have well noted your comments about the room availability upon arrival; we regret to learn we were not able to meet your expectations. We have evaluated the procedure with the team to further improve.

We look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    998
    327
    72
    19
    14
See reviews for
409
721
28
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our last night in Phuket was at JW marriott Khao Lak resort. We had a big trouble to find this hotel through our phone GPS which had given us many wrong directions in Phuket. It was amazing from the check in all the way to the check out. I enjoyed every bit of this resort. The pool, restaurant, breakfast, activities, and certain the duplex room we were upgraded to by being a platinum member of marriott rewards. I would definitely come back again in the future and stay in for a few nights without the need of getting out of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Frank S,

Thank you for writing us with your feedback describing your experience in our resort!

We are very pleased to learn you had a great stay, thank you for your feedback about our Duplex Suite, lagoon pool, breakfast, activities and restaurants.

We sincerely appreciate and would like to thank you for your continuous loyalty to Marriott; we look forward to welcome you back to our resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely Hotel, staff were friendly and helpful. We did find everything at the resort to be very over priced. We had 2 BLT's, 2 toasted cheese rolls and 4 juices and it cost $84 AUS. We found a very nice place on the beach that was much more reasonably priced! Andaman Restaurant, 2nd place as you right on the beach. Food was awesome and drinks cheap and strong! staff were fab. Whilst Khao Lak was lovely, it is located quite a way out of Phuket town. It was at least a 2 hour drive each way to get anywhere. I would consider staying closer to Patong next time.
We purchased a voucher off of Deals.com, so we got a good price. The included breakfast was awesome - so much to choose from and all very tasty.
We also took the Thai cooking class which was fun. Chef was good value and the food was delicious!

Room Tip: recommend a pool access room if you have older kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Marjam72,

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination during your recent visit to Khao Lak!

It's a great pleasure to learn you enjoyed a great stay, thank you for your great comments about our breakfast, Thai cooking class and associates.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the last week in April and loved every minute. The grounds are very well looked after and the pool area is amazing. There was a nice quiet adult only area of the pool for those of us without children. The room, overlooking the swim up rooms was lovely and very comfortable. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and the choice for breakfast was fantastic, with very attentive staff. We ate in the Thai restaurant on our last night and enjoyed the meal, the rest of our stay we ate at the beach restaurants either side of the hotel which were all equally good and very good value.
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear DawnyGillingham,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing us about your experience in our resort!

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a great stay, thank you for your kind comments about our rooms, lagoon pool, breakfast and associates.

We all look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding at the JW Marriott in April this year. Firstly let me start by saying that the JW Marriott is a gorgeous resort. I was a bit apprehensive about holding our wedding somewhere I had never visited, but I was confident by all the glowing reviews on trip advisor, that we went ahead and booked!

To our pleasant surprise, the resort was even BETTER then we imagined! As many people have
commented here, the pool is HUGE (it's more like a lake/river). I don't think many of our 70 guests even had the time to swim around the entire pool.. I know I definitely didn't! There
are 2 swim up bars + multiple events/facilities at the resort. It is a massive resort, but you never feel crowded - except for at breakfast maybe. On this matter - the breakfast is awesome, the biggest selection I have ever seen at a resort. The rooms are also beautifully appointed and the service at the resort is 5 star (except for at the pool bars which I thought lacking due to lack of English). Everywhere else was fine though.

The beach is long, rustic and beautiful.. the sunsets here are gorgeous. The resort itself is very isolated, but there are a number of beach hut restaurants right next to the JW Marriott which service delicious food for a fraction of the cost. We actually held our wedding welcome dinner here, at Blue Mist restaurant, for all our 70 guests which was great.

I must give special attention to the Events Manager, Mr Zaffur Noor. Zaffur is an absolute asset to this resort. Zaffur was not only incredibly patient, professional and informative throughout the entire wedding process (which took over a year to plan), he executed the wedding day with beautiful precision. Most of our wedding guests told us it was the most amazing wedding they had ever been to, which was mostly due to the tireless efforts of Zaffur and his wonderful team.

I highly recommend holding your wedding or function at the JW Marriott. It was a truly beautiful experience and I will definitely be going back..

Michelle

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Shelbelz,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred destination to celebrate your wedding, we all are very pleased to learn you enjoyed such a fantastic, special event!

Thank you for your kind comments about our lagoon pool, beach area and sunsets.

We will certainly ensure to recognize Zaffar for his outstanding service and efforts provided during your special event.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort for your 1st anniversary!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mebourne, australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have just returned from 7 nights at this hotel. as a travel agent I cannot fault the property.
the staff were gorgeous and courteous and went out of their way to assist with the smallest of
requests, the rooms were spacious and very well equipped and the restaurants we found to be very reasonable. the only issue I will comment on is the pool! as nice as it looks - it was TOO hot! I think they had the heater on and it was no relief from the heat at all! but.. if that is the only complaint then the hotel are doing a pretty good job! this is a 5 star hotel that I highly recommend to couples who want to do nothing but chill... it is remote and not much happening around the area. Phuket is 2 hours away if you can be bothered..

Room Tip: the spa is the best! staff are well trained and know what they are doing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Symbo,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for your kind feedback about your recent experience in our resort!

It's a great pleasure to read your review, thank you for your great comments about our associates, rooms and Quan Spa.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the JW Marriott Khao Lak for 8 nights. Our package included all meals, 4 spa treatments each and a pool access room.

Firstly, our room was lovely with traditional furnishing, a huge bed, a huge bath and a rain shower.

The whole resort was surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens which were maintained immaculately.

The 3.3km round-resort pool was fantastic although the water does get quite warm at times in the hot season.

The resort has three restaurants plus waterfront restaurant where breakfast and lunch is served. All three restaurants served sensational food especially the sashimi at Sakura. The breakfast buffet had a really wide selection of food and everything was very fresh. The staff at all restaurants (and, indeed, throughout the whole resort) were excellent, very friendly and always willing to help.

Lastly, the beach at Khao Lak is amazing. Beautiful green waters, clean white sands and some of the best sunsets you will ever see.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Akc2010,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing us with your kind feedback - we are very happy to learn you enjoyed a great stay.

Thank you for your great comments about our rooms, resort gardens, 16,000 square meter lagoon pool and restaurants.

We look forward having the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.