We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Well only have positive comments to make, the hotel seems to have thought of everything. They even supply you with a lovely beach bag during your stay. We had a pool entrance room which was lovely. A bath for 2 people ! Breakfast is right up there as with all marriott hotels but add the amazing food to the amazing view - wow - friendly staff, everyone wears a smile and nothing seems too much trouble. Thank you marriott and a mention to Nana who helped suggest our next movements through Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing us with your great feedback!

It's a great pleasure reading your review about your recent experience; we are delighted to learn you had a great stay.

Thank you for your great comments about our Pool Access room, breakfast and resort facilities/ services. We will certainly recognize Khun Nana for her outstanding service and efforts offering suggestions which places to visit in Thailand.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    352
    76
    21
    16
See reviews for
443
804
29
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

It was a fun trip with my girlfriend and we stayed there for 5 days and 4 nights, we arrived the first night and there were a few problems with the lights in the room, so we went to the front office and told them about the room situation and a very nice girl "Na Na" assisted us and got us a room with a better location near the main pool, it was a more bright room and we loved it! There were also other staff who provided assistance to me and my girlfriend throughout the trip, some of the people were "Gift", "Neung", "Liza" and "Pom". The breakfast buffet there is amazing there are many different kinds of food! My favorite were the bacon, friend eggs and sauté tomatoes. The hotel also had a good service with its drivers, for our whole stay there we had a personal driver and it wasn't expensive! Every time we passed by someone in the hotel they would always greet us "Sawadeeka" and they all had good smiles. The Quan Spa was amazing, I had a lot of fun under the sun and got burnt, and they had this really good aloe vera body wrap which helped my skin a lot. The beach is really nice and clean, we had coconuts there while sunbathing. The infinity pool is simply amazing, we had lots of finger food, snacks and drinks there and we went for a swim once in a while and came back for drinks, since the bar was in the middle of the pool :D. On our last night we had a private BBQ dinner by the beach with a personal chef and waiter, the service and food was simply amazing. We enjoyed everything in the hotel! This trip is something that I would always remember, and it is somewhere I would love to visit again and again! One of the best resort hotels I have ever been to!!! :))

Room Tip: Find rooms which are near the main pool, has a better view and saves you the walk. Not to mention yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination during your recent visit to Khao Lak!

It's a great pleasure to learn you enjoyed a comfortable and memorable stay, thank you for your great comments about our breakfast, limousine service, Quan Spa, beach, Infinity Pool and private BBQ dinner on the beach.

We will certainly ensure to recognize Khun Nana, Khun Gift, Khun Neung, Khun Liza and Khun Pom for their outstanding service and efforts.

We regret to learn of the inconvenience you experienced with your room on the first night, thankfully it was resolved promptly. Our team will further check for details ensuring this will not happen again.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed 7 nights in two rooms with direct access to the pool. This was so great with the kids.
The pool area is huge and you can always find one spot for your own if you like that. The beach is great and safe for children. The only thing I felt was average was the
breakfast selection.
I made the reservation through Marriott home page and when I arrived they informed me that the breakfast is not included so I had to pay extra 800thb per person per day and it was not worth it. We loved Olive restaurant, excellent food. Can highly recommend this place if you are looking for a relaxing place.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing us with your valuable feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed a comfortable stay and enjoyed our pool so much!

Thank you for your great comment about our Olive restaurant, we will communicate this to the Olive team.

We look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We flew the Dreamliner to Phuket direct and were whisked away in a private taxi to this wonderful hotel. I had emailed Mee (front desk manager) for help in changing our room to a family suite swim up room, the room was huge, we had 3 adults in the room, one on a roll away bed, which was actually a full sized bed, with so much space, the bathroom was a great size, they provide enough. body wash,shampoo conditioner and lotion, so you don't really need to bring your own. Air con worked a treat, the balcony led to a private garden with a path to the lazy river that joins the main pool, our room was 1018,the steps to the pool were by our neighbours room and you just walked back via a narrow path, water in the main pool approx. 37, very warm, great for young kids, although there were very few when we stayed, our room was way from the children's play area.

The staff were really accommodating,helpful, everyone bows to great you, breakfast is a great selection of foods, by the pool they serve water with ice that is bottled so safe to drink, in the afternoons they serve you fruit juice and offer cold towels.

Bottled water is provided in your room and you can ask you maid for as many as you require. You also get a turn down service daily,

Every third day an elephant is brought in to be fed by guests, you pay 50 baht to give her bananas, but we bought our own and the staff don't mind, the hotel pay for the elephant to be brought in and in the quieter months this helps pay for the maintenance of the rest of the elephants, she is very gentle, and she is not teathered up, we asked the hotel bar for a bucket and gave her water, but she really didn't need it, she was well fed and watered, after the hotel visit she goes to Phens restaurant for their waste fruit,

We are in the beach restaurants, very good food and service, wine 100 baht , main100 to 150 baht, cocktails 100, coke 30, small bottle wine 330, large bottle 630, no node for shoes, your on the beach, the hotel provides you with a torch in the wardrobe and we used this to navigate the hour it crabs on the beach at night, we found the restaurants to the right of the hotel if you are looking to see the best, some even do your laundry, make sure you use mosquito repellent after sun set or you'll get bitten to pieces.


So hot in March, 37 and 28 at night, sun sets on the beach side and makes a magnificent end to the day,

We used the beach Thai massage that are plentiful, 300 for a massage,

We arranged day trips with khao lak vista, oil an Ton were fantastic, we didn't ride elephants because we worry about their welfare but we hosed them and fed them, James Bond island trip was well worth it, we ate on a floating village, it's worth looking round this village and buying a few bits to help support the locals, you can barter to get prices down,

Would we go again? Definitely yes the sooner the better, thank you to Mee and everyone in the jw Marriott for a wonderful stay. I am missing the beach and the sun sets,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for writing such a detailed review, this is sincerely appreciated.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay so much, thank you for your great feedback about our Studio Family Pool Access room, associates and resort facilities/ services.

We will certainly ensure to recognize Khun Mee for her outstanding service and efforts assisting you with arranging specific room requests.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This Marriott resort was absolutely excellent. It had everything we wanted. It is situated directly on the best beach in Khao Lak . It is a beautifully designed hotel with waterway /pool avenues through the grounds connecting with the main pool. This allows real pool access from your room if you book one.
The place is hugely spacious, on a grand scale everywhere, right down to the size of the pool loungers!

But firstly, our stay. We were upgraded to a bi level suite –it was magnificent, really large, 1 bathroom upstairs and a dining /living area downstairs with a further bathroom. There is a huge supply of towels/bathrobes/slippers etc. The bed was fantastic, K size luxury all the way. Great extended balcony with sofa seating etc. When we book again we will settle for a pool access room as the suites are just a tad on the large side for two people – brilliant- but a bit wasteful. The room is serviced on an almost continual basis and always heaps of staff available for all your room needs.

Food- The breakfast was world class - the best ever. The lunches and dinners are brilliant, if a little expensive by Thai standards as are the drinks. This seems normal for a western hotel chains in Thailand however.

The pool/beach area is large with loads of loungers in or out of the shade, in the garden, by the pool or at the beachfront itself. There is no ritual reserving of loungers at seven in the morning, no need to. The beach is great for walking. At least 30 mins one way and the same the other way. The sea is perfect for swimming.

We used a combination of restaurants in the hotel, nearby Khao Lak, (using the Marriot shuttle) and the beach shacks. The shacks are right outside the hotel on the beach, all pretty good quality, and cheap - great for lunch. The ‘Blue Mist’ was our favourite.
The staff at the Marriot are fantastic, friendly and attentive, Nana (Rattana), in charge of food and beverage was especially good. She is a great’ people person’ and circulates widely among the guests. She showed a genuine interest in our holiday, our life in UK and our view of the hotel. She is a credit to the hotel as were the all the staff we met.

If there was one lack it is that it can be a bit short of atmosphere at night. I can appreciate that the hotel is well used by families and the guests take their kids back to the room after dinner but some 'social focal point' in the hotel would do a lot for the atmosphere. The pool bar has a happy hour between 4.30 and 5.30 but a beach bar, a permanent facility with a happy hour at five or six o'clock till sunset would be a much better bet, let guests do a bit of socialising before dinner, watch the sunset, have a chat and perhaps hook up again after dinner would be a great addition. I have been to other hotels in the Phuket where this is a feature , a perfect end to a day on the beach and chat with other guests.
But even that takes little away from a fabulous hotel.
We will be back at the Marriott next year for sure –we have stayed in dozens of quality hotels in Thailand, this resort is up there with the best.

Room Tip: near to the beach is best, less distance to walk to breakfast and the sea. All the rooms are goo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination!

It gives us great pleasure you had a great stay, we sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us with your feedback.

Thank you for your great comments about our Duplex Suite, breakfast, beach/ pool area and associates. We will certainly recognize Khun Nana for her efforts and outstanding service.

We have noted your comments about the atmosphere during evening hours and will discuss this further with the team for improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort next year!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My Husband and I went there on our honeymoon and what an amazing start to the trip. The location is really the USP of this resort. The resort is located on the beach. The staff is really nice and they make you feel welcomed. Make sure you enjoy the spa there. This resort has the largest pool in the whole of asia. So from your room you can jump in the pool and swim across the entire resort. Also the pool has a swim up bar.

Take the bicycling trip to the local market and try some local food there.

Room Tip: Take the top floor rooms for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear valued guests,

Congratulations on your honeymoon and marriage. Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experiences. We think you made an excellent recommendation to enjoy the market in Ban Niang. The market is an authentic functioning market which you can enjoy on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday.

We hope to have the chance to serve you again on your first anniversary and many to follow.

Very warm regards,

Ty Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Sawatdee Kaa... If you have the budget look for nothing else. My wife and I went there on our honeymoon and what an amazing start to the trip. This resort has the largest pool in the whole of asia. So from your room you can jump in the pool and swim across the entire resort. I say that is really cool. The staff is so courteous. They definitely know how to pamper their customers. Make sure you enjoy the spa there. I am too ticklish so spa is not my thing but my wife enjoyed it.

The resort is just on the beach. So from the pool you can see the sunset which is an amazing site.
The breakfast buffet spread was awesome. The hotel also arranges for some nice snorkelling trips.

P.S.- Try the restaurant which is just on the beach. It is a small shack just 20 seconds walk from the resort.

Thank you J W Marriott, Khao Lak Staff for giving us such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the lower level have a direct access to the pool but the cost a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Sawasdee Khrup valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write. We can see you have been practicing your Thai language and hope you will come back to practice more in the future.

We are glad your wife enjoyed the spa; we feel it is really a hidden treasure and suggest for anyone who comes to the resort to look around the spa and enjoy its serenity.

We will share your comments with our team in our next meeting.

Very warm regards,

Ty Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.