We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Khao Lak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
72 Hour Sale – 50% Off
Ranked #6 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best resort in Khao Lak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Sawatdee Kaa... If you have the budget look for nothing else. My wife and I went there on our honeymoon and what an amazing start to the trip. This resort has the largest pool in the whole of asia. So from your room you can jump in the pool and swim across the entire resort. I say that is really cool. The staff is so courteous. They definitely know how to pamper their customers. Make sure you enjoy the spa there. I am too ticklish so spa is not my thing but my wife enjoyed it.

The resort is just on the beach. So from the pool you can see the sunset which is an amazing site.
The breakfast buffet spread was awesome. The hotel also arranges for some nice snorkelling trips.

P.S.- Try the restaurant which is just on the beach. It is a small shack just 20 seconds walk from the resort.

Thank you J W Marriott, Khao Lak Staff for giving us such a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the lower level have a direct access to the pool but the cost a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Sawasdee Khrup valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write. We can see you have been practicing your Thai language and hope you will come back to practice more in the future.

We are glad your wife enjoyed the spa; we feel it is really a hidden treasure and suggest for anyone who comes to the resort to look around the spa and enjoy its serenity.

We will share your comments with our team in our next meeting.

Very warm regards,

Ty Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    974
    319
    67
    19
    13
See reviews for
393
708
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Our second visit here for another fab week . Not one fault ( and I'm fussy !) , everything is amazing , but especially the staff - they always greet you , and are always smiling .
Love the pool bar , walks on the beach and the breakfast is amazing .
I used the spa one day for a facial and it was a fabulous experience - I wish I was there now .
Big thanks to Nicholas on reception and Boy for our daily cocktail !
Well be back again
One teeny thing ..... Please could you put marmite on the breakfast buffet !
Thank you for making our fabulous family holiday ,

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We appreciate your kind comments and will recognize Nicholas and Boy for their efforts.

I have also spoken to the Executive Chef and we are looking into putting Marmite on the buffet. If you send us a quick note before you arrive next time we will be happy to find it and have it ready for you.

Thank you and very best regards,

Ty Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

An utterly immaculately kept large resort with a really balanced mix of clients.

The 3.2km pool is a perfect temperature, kept spotlessly clean and is mainly 1.2m deep, so great swim with little ones or to walk around (as a pregnancy exercise).

The instant we arrived our every need was taken care of. The staff are all courteous and genuinely happy to assist you. Service with a smile and so very efficient.

The beds are so comfortable and massive and housekeeping do a sterling job to present and turn down your rooms daily. HUGE bath and shower for 2 that looked brand new.

The food is superb. The Olive was our preferred restaurant and be aware the portions are massive. It is costly to eat and drink there so 1/2 board is a good choice. The water they serve in the hotel and beach area is purified with ice made from purified water, so take advantage of that to save money on the bottled water.

BREAKFAST The widest array of foods I have ever seen at a buffet. All fresh and delicious. Not to be missed. Go just for this!

They spread events across the week: Thai dancing, Live Jazz, Acoustic guitar etc. all in different venues and all included.

Very inexpensive options are available on the beach, 5metres from the hotel so you can have variety during your stay.

The hotel is close to Khoa Lak 'town' so you can easily see the local sights.

The team assisted in a private dining proposal that was breath taking. They all pulled together and made it an incredible evening for us both.

We didn't see or use the cafe, children's, sport or business area as we only had a week but I imagine they would all be of top quality in keeping with the rest of the hotels standards.

The Spa is stunning. Serene and has a wide range of services. They have monthly offers that you will be advised of when you arrive.

Weather - we thought 36 may be too hot but there is a splendid light breeze that seems to blow throughout the day across the beach which makes it blissful.

Tipping is not a massive culture there and it is appreciated as opposed to expected, which is nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking your valuable time writing us with your detailed feedback, this is very much appreciated.

We are very happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay so much, thank you for your great comments about our service, comfortable beds, pool, restaurants, breakfast, entertainment and Quan Spa.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have been working in this hotel for Thomson for the past 5 months and I would just like to thank all the amazing staff at this hotel. I've only got 4 weeks left here but I must say a huge thank you to ALL the beautiful Thai staff here...not forgetting the western staff too.

You have consistently been cooperative, helpful and friendly and looked after our customers...this is obviously very important to me but more importantly to Thomson customers.

There's too many people to thank, but I'd like to personally thank the great team at reception, all management and especially "Mee" who I adore.

You will all be missed, thank you for a great season!

Alan.

Thomson Holiday Advisor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyCollins, General Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for your partnership and professionalism. We are delighted to work with you and the entire Thomson team and look forward to continuing to grow our relationship in the future. Please let us know how we can serve you and your customers and we will do our very best to exceed all of your expectations.

Sincerely,

The JW Marriott Khao Lak Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed with my wife for 5 nights in February. I would point out that this is a very large hotel- it tends to get quite busy. If you prefer smaller, quite resorts it may not be for you. Having said that, it is still an amazing resort. It is in a great location, with fantastic beaches and coast. I can see that it would be very good with a family, as the pool facilities are amazing. Rooms were of very high standard, and very luxurious. The staff made a few errors with the bill- seems to have lost record of the fact we had paid in advance when we arrived, and then struggled when we paid our account at the end, however sorted it out in the end. Along the beach are a number of shacks run by locals that sell food, tours and massages. These were a real benefit, as you could wonder down for a massage for less than £10 for an hour- absolute bliss!! We also ate at these pretty much every night- they are a fraction of the price of the hotel, and when we did eat at the hotel, we were a little disappointed as the food being served on the beach was actually nicer.

The Breakfast at the hotel was very good- great range of European/Asian, plus fresh smoothie bar, fresh baked pastries etc.

There are quite a few options of activities that you can do- boat tours to islands, elephant trekking etc. However the location is so peaceful and relaxing, we just spent the 5 days on the beach! We did have a trip up to the town to visit the market and Tsunami exhibition- worth while doing as the market is great and the exhibition interesting.

Overall great trip- fantastic hotel although quite large, staff were great despite the hiccups, and blissful location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Khao Lak!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your preferred holiday destination during your recent visit to Thailand.

We are very happy to learn you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, thank you for your great feedback about our beach area, rooms, breakfast and activities.

We have well noted your feedback about the departure experience, we will ensure to evaluate the procedure immediately. We regret we were not able to meet your expectations and our standards, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time providing us with this great feedback. We all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Excellent resort with the most amazing pool area I've seen anywhere! The pool stretches for over 3 kilometers around the resort and you get a pool access from every wing. Also few larger pool areas and two separate bars. They also have a separate kids area and grown up area with a 'bar canoe' serving drinks.
Service is top notch and the staff is always smiling and very helpful. Especially friendly towards kids!
For kids you have a large and well equipped playroom with personnel to play with kids.
Good gym, classes like yoga, bike rental, beach volley, hobie cat, canoes, excellent spa, massage, etc. You will not get bored!
The beach is beautiful and not too crowded. Also no motor boats are allowed so it's very peaceful. Plenty of sun loungers on grounds so you will be able to find one although the first row is always reserved in the morning.
Breakfast is excellent with lots of choices. Smoothies, pancakes and omelets made to order. Also lots of fresh fruits and healthy options.
Other restaurants very good and especially the BBQ at the Italian is good value and highly recommended!
If you want to save money you can go to one of the beach restaurants next to the hotel for some local Thai food. The one on the left is not good but the three on the right are good. Good food and very cheap compared to the resort!
The town is a bit far from the hotel and you need a taxi which is 300 baht one way. There you have lots of restaurant options and some basic shopping. Khao Lak town (Bang La On) has a very good supermarket with everything you should need.
In general a very good experience and a good quality resort. Although you can see that it's getting a bit old and worn out from some parts. Especially the wooden decorations could use some repainting. But I would still highly recommend this place to everyone and especially if you are traveling with children. Five stars!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Downstairs you get a pool access but upstairs a better view. Resort is big so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for writing us with your feedback - it's a great pleasure reading your fantastic, detailed review.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed a memorable stay with us, thank you for your great comments about our service, lagoon shaped pool, gym, activities, beach area, breakfast and Olive restaurant.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time sharing your feedback with us; we all look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been lucky enough to travel all over the world, and this is our favorite location and resort. We got engaged at the resort during our last stay in February. Very romantic resort and location for couples.

Everyone on the staff is amazing; from the general manager who met us when we arrived to house keeping. They are very friendly and eager to please.

The pool is huge, and you can swim anywhere within the resort through the connected lazy rivers.

We stayed in the two story suite, and couldn't ask for more. The view from the balcony is beautiful, and the living area downstairs give plenty of room to spread out and relax.

The buffet breakfast is great and has may western and Asian options to choose from.
The food is expensive, but it's a JW Marriott so you should expect that when staying at an JW.

Our favorite view in the entire resort is watching the sunset while sitting in the water at the pool bar. It truly is paradise. We have our third trip booked for February 2015!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan_HeinB, Manager at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa!

Thank you for returning to our beautiful resort for your second visit, we are very happy to learn you enjoyed such a great stay with us.

We sincerely appreciate you taking your valuable time writing us about your recent experience. Thank you for your great feedback about our associates, pool, Duplex Suite and breakfast.

We all look forward to welcome you back for your third visit in February 2015!

Yours sincerely,

Jan-Hein Breitschaft
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.