We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE OF BOOKING ANY TOURS FROM THIS HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF BOOKING ANY TOURS FROM THIS HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Asked advice from the tour desk for the safest elephant ride and they told me it was best to use 'Marriot taxi' to take us to the elephant ride, I was told that they would bring us to the place and then collect us after the ride. Specifically asked for the ride that included the waterfall. Wanted the safest possible option for a 5year old to enjoy. Went to the elephant camp, once we arrived we were shown two price lists, as guest of the Marriot ours was the most expensive. Thinking this was the safest option as advised by a 5 star hotel thought all would be okay. Once we were in the jungle our elephant rider kept spitting some foul red 'gunk' and then towards the end of the ride kept asking for a tip, the tour did not include any waterfalls. Felt very vulnerable and scared. Once we got off the elephant i was told that the car would collect us in 15 minutes, then i was advised that they called and would could not collect us and we would have to pay more to go back to the hotel. Finally was able to use someones phone to call the hotel and then was finally collected. When the car returned being very upset i asked to leave immediately but they had to go and have a 'chat'. We returned to the hotel and I made a formal complaint to the manager MS. POON, I was advised that she would get back to me and she never did.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    361
    79
    24
    16
See reviews for
460
832
29
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Choose this resort if you want to calm down and relax totally. Enjoy the hotel beach and the XXL pool, actually the whole facility is surrounded by the pool. Want to do yoga on the hotel beach with a instructor in the morning? No problem.
Just enjoy the days without being disturbed.

Room Tip: if you like swimming, choose a room with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a such a great resort with very well trained staff who work hard with a smile for everyone. The room, although slightly dated in decor, had a luxurious large comfortable bed and although it's a large resort, we never seemed far from the pool, beach, restaurants or bar. The pool itself is the biggest I've seen in S.E. Asia and consists of 3 large pools and a lazy river type pool that wraps around the resort so you can swim for what seems like miles around the place. The ground floor apartments in one area have direct pool access, which is a great idea. The breakfast on offer covered everything you could want to eat, and if the buffet didn't have it they would make it. We tried the Thai and the Italaian resturant on site and both were of a high standard....albeit a little pricey...but...hey it's a 5star resort we expect it. There's a shuttle bus service for 200 bahts that will take you into Khao Lak where there is a nice selection of local restaurants and a market that operates a couple of times a week, and, just immediately outside the resort there's a great little thai restaurant where you can eat a whole lot cheaper than inside the resort.....and an Italian restaurant which serves great pizza and the best coffee while we were there. Happy hour at Czar's bar brought the prices down in line with the normal bar prices outside the resort, and the bar staff ( Tom was one of them ) were the perfect hosts and like the rest of the staff at JW Marriott were faultless. I recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Although we didn't have a pool access room....I would take one the next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

There is no doubt that this a 5 Star resort, excellent facilities especially if you are travelling with children.


1. The beach was excellent and very clean and despite the time of year the ocean was good for swimming and safe in my opinion, a little bit choppy but the children did enjoy this.
2. The breakfast room and location was superb with ocean views and the range of food was both vast and of good quality.
3. The swimming pool again was great, do go for a pool access room if you want to frequent the pool regularly, however if you are looking for a bit more seclusion the rooms on the upper floors have great balcony areas to catch a sunset.
4. I would strongly recommend watching a sunset or two, with westerly location this was a magical time of day with the backdrop of the hotel.
5. There is a beach area with mini soccer and beach volleyball which the children loved.
6. The hotel has a decent gym with a great instructor who held different classes each morning, two tennis courts and a squash court with all equipment available to rent and very reasonable prices. Mountain bikes available to rent too.
7. Free Internet around the whole hotel and a decent speed.
8. Pool bars were good, though the cocktails seemed a bit weak and could have done with a bit more of a kick.
I would recommend the Czar Bar for happy hour cocktails for an alternative location for cocktails.
9. Good sized rooms, very comfortable beds and room service was excellent.
10. There could have been a larger dining option for evening meals within the hotel, but there are a number of options just on the beach outside the hotel to dine. (Take mosquito repellent) Also the hotel provides a shuttle bus into Khao Lak centre where you will find a whole host of additional well priced dining options.
11. There are some areas of the hotel that need some maintenance especially the painting that is required in a few parts of the hotel.

Great location and I am sure you will agree that this is what you would expect from all 5 star establishments. So what set it aside for me? This is the second JW Marriott I have stayed at (Mumbai was the other) to put it simply it is the staff and the exceptional service.
On this visit it was more about the level of service I got when something went wrong, during one of the days there was an exceptional large thunderstorm which led to a leak in one of the rooms above ours, the water eventually started trickling into my room. Irina Sevestyanova the duty manager was exceptional, she must have taken at least two hours out of her day to ensure that our party that had 3 rooms were all relocated to another part of the hotel with adjacent rooms and before doing this showed us the rooms, made sure we were happy with them. Helped with the move and compensated us for the trouble, she checked in with us regularly for the next 24 hours to ensure that there were no further problems. An excellent member of staff and very customer focused. That said I have to say that all the staff from the breakfast chef making the omelettes to the maids all ensured a high level of customer service.

Will return!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Next time we are in Thailand, I would stay here in a heartbeat. Staff is friendly, breakfast was amazing. The hotel room was nice and big, we had a pool access room. So we could step off our balcony into the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing property and excellent service. Only thing missing was the sunshine but not the hotel's fault!

The room was awesome and the swim out to pool was incredible. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious (mmmm chocolate crossiants and crepes!!and the soup was also a hit!)

Room Tip: rooms with pool swim out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel with outstanding price/quality ratio. It is my second time to this property in low season and each time my expectations are exceeed.

Very special thanks to Sea Bees Dive Shop (one of the offices is located on the territory of the hotel) and diving instructor Mr. Lars Pohlmann, naitive German with outstanding English-language skills and exceptional attitude to his job and customers.

Being certified PADI-diver, I could see Mr. Pohlmann's professionalism "in action", when he conducted several introductoruy courses with my 10-year-old son. I was impressed by his special attention to details to secure combination of safe dive (even in the pool) and pleasant experience. I would like to highly recommend Sea Bees Dive Shop in JW Marriott for divers with any level of diving experience and highly recommend Mr. Lars Pohlmann as very prtofessional diving instructor and easy-going and customer-oriented personality.
Sincerely, Pavel Lagov, Moscow, Russia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.