We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irina - 5 Star Duty Manager” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 1 Get 1 Free
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Irina - 5 Star Duty Manager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

There is no doubt that this a 5 Star resort, excellent facilities especially if you are travelling with children.


1. The beach was excellent and very clean and despite the time of year the ocean was good for swimming and safe in my opinion, a little bit choppy but the children did enjoy this.
2. The breakfast room and location was superb with ocean views and the range of food was both vast and of good quality.
3. The swimming pool again was great, do go for a pool access room if you want to frequent the pool regularly, however if you are looking for a bit more seclusion the rooms on the upper floors have great balcony areas to catch a sunset.
4. I would strongly recommend watching a sunset or two, with westerly location this was a magical time of day with the backdrop of the hotel.
5. There is a beach area with mini soccer and beach volleyball which the children loved.
6. The hotel has a decent gym with a great instructor who held different classes each morning, two tennis courts and a squash court with all equipment available to rent and very reasonable prices. Mountain bikes available to rent too.
7. Free Internet around the whole hotel and a decent speed.
8. Pool bars were good, though the cocktails seemed a bit weak and could have done with a bit more of a kick.
I would recommend the Czar Bar for happy hour cocktails for an alternative location for cocktails.
9. Good sized rooms, very comfortable beds and room service was excellent.
10. There could have been a larger dining option for evening meals within the hotel, but there are a number of options just on the beach outside the hotel to dine. (Take mosquito repellent) Also the hotel provides a shuttle bus into Khao Lak centre where you will find a whole host of additional well priced dining options.
11. There are some areas of the hotel that need some maintenance especially the painting that is required in a few parts of the hotel.

Great location and I am sure you will agree that this is what you would expect from all 5 star establishments. So what set it aside for me? This is the second JW Marriott I have stayed at (Mumbai was the other) to put it simply it is the staff and the exceptional service.
On this visit it was more about the level of service I got when something went wrong, during one of the days there was an exceptional large thunderstorm which led to a leak in one of the rooms above ours, the water eventually started trickling into my room. Irina Sevestyanova the duty manager was exceptional, she must have taken at least two hours out of her day to ensure that our party that had 3 rooms were all relocated to another part of the hotel with adjacent rooms and before doing this showed us the rooms, made sure we were happy with them. Helped with the move and compensated us for the trouble, she checked in with us regularly for the next 24 hours to ensure that there were no further problems. An excellent member of staff and very customer focused. That said I have to say that all the staff from the breakfast chef making the omelettes to the maids all ensured a high level of customer service.

Will return!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Next time we are in Thailand, I would stay here in a heartbeat. Staff is friendly, breakfast was amazing. The hotel room was nice and big, we had a pool access room. So we could step off our balcony into the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amazing property and excellent service. Only thing missing was the sunshine but not the hotel's fault!

The room was awesome and the swim out to pool was incredible. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious (mmmm chocolate crossiants and crepes!!and the soup was also a hit!)

Room Tip: rooms with pool swim out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel with outstanding price/quality ratio. It is my second time to this property in low season and each time my expectations are exceeed.

Very special thanks to Sea Bees Dive Shop (one of the offices is located on the territory of the hotel) and diving instructor Mr. Lars Pohlmann, naitive German with outstanding English-language skills and exceptional attitude to his job and customers.

Being certified PADI-diver, I could see Mr. Pohlmann's professionalism "in action", when he conducted several introductoruy courses with my 10-year-old son. I was impressed by his special attention to details to secure combination of safe dive (even in the pool) and pleasant experience. I would like to highly recommend Sea Bees Dive Shop in JW Marriott for divers with any level of diving experience and highly recommend Mr. Lars Pohlmann as very prtofessional diving instructor and easy-going and customer-oriented personality.
Sincerely, Pavel Lagov, Moscow, Russia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was beautiful! Staff were excellent! The room was clean and the Marriott's signature bedding and linen were pure luxury. I was truly well rested in the comfortable room, hotel grounds, and overall feel (culture) of the place. We went during off-peak season so there wasn't a crowd to contend over for facilities and services. It's definitely a place I will return to for rest. We were able to benefit from their superb groupon promotion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

this resort has all that one is looking for for a chilled out holiday, great food , great location, great service, very good rooms and the best pool one can experience.
it is just not too easy to reach being far from the airport and also has nothing near it as concerns shopping eating or entertainment so if you are looking for all of those this is not the place for you.
this is a place where you spend time with family and friends and loved ones in a very calm beautiful tranquil location and it provides you with great facilities for a relaxed vacation.
It has a great clean beach which is very very safe and fantastic sunset views, the choice of cuisines is vast and food to suit all palates, the restaurants are very well located and have a great ambiance, the negative is all seem to turn in very early and it does not offer any entertainment going into the night so that can get a bit boring so if one is looking for action packed evening this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: pool access rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjeev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This resort is next to the beach,the beach is very nice and clean .We sat and watch the Sun Set everyday:Amazing scene!! The room we were in was big and clean,the staff was very good and speak good english.AMAZING Pool!! We swam the full day. Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
3.3 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#15 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 62 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#8 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
6.8 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
#11 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#35 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing