We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated 5* hotel: resort beautifully arranged, nicely designed, but inefficient management causes unpleasant athmosph.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast 50%off
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“overrated 5* hotel: resort beautifully arranged, nicely designed, but inefficient management causes unpleasant athmosph.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

First, the positive:
- the sports program offers very good activities with qualified trainers;
- the German speaking personnel is very qualified, efficient, motivated and caring;
- the romantic dinner on the beach is nicely arranged and organized.
But then the negative:
- during high season the resort is understaffed;
- drinks and meals are over-priced;
- the big events parties are overpriced, and not family orientated. The stage is too big, too loud, and the big DJ staging is too much for the small crowd of hotel guests;
- kids club for 10 years olds does not offer interesting activities;
- too less restaurants to choose during rainy weather;
- the reception staff barely speaks English, and is not knowledgeable and not trained;
- 10 paid postcards sent from the reception never arrived at their receivers;
- the in-room telephone system is too complicated and not user friendly;
- too little space for outdoor seating at the restaurants - especially for Western customers who do not need air-conditioning during winter time;
- spa is overpriced.
Conclusion:
Marriott in principle is a good choice, but not so in Khao Lak. In Khao Lak are better options and value for money available than this resort.

Room Tip: just choose another resort !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    415
    94
    25
    18
See reviews for
531
947
30
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just had a fantastic stay at the hotel using a deals.com voucher. The hotel is just gorgeous. The most amazing pool, unbelievable breakfast, great kids club, great restaurants and its in Thailand which I just love. We really couldn't fault the hotel and found the voucher amazing value.

We travelled with a 4 and 6 year old and all managed to fit in the room easily. They provided a rollaway bed and one of the kids slept on the couch/day bed. The hotel is great for kids. The staff just love them. It has a kids pool with a water slide, an elephant that visits twice a week, plus the main pool which goes on forever and can keep anyone entertained for ours.

The Spa is amazing and all the treatments we had were great. It is so tranquil and the staff are brilliant.

The meals we had at the resort were great but its the restaurants on the beach next to the resort that we really loved. Dirt cheap, tables in the sand, water lapping nearby and lovely fresh food. We ate twice at Blue Mist which was our favourite but also enjoyed Andaman. Also had a great meal in Khao Lak at Smile restaurant.

Its only 5-10 minutes into Bang Niang and Khao Lak where there are great markets and loads of local shops.

Also organised a day tour with Gecko Man at Famaii restaurant next door to the resort which was great. They also provided us with a transfer back to the airport for 1500 baht.

All in all a great family holiday spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 4000 and loved the pool access rooms without balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

the marriott was everything that it's promotional material suggests- fantastic pool, great food choices on site, friendly and helpful staff. We were delighted with our experience. Our travel group totalled 9 including small children and teenagers- all felt well catered for.
The resort was well laid out with easy access to all facilities.
Areas for improvement were few but- a little more choice in casual lunch options within the resort would have been good- together with more information concerning services available in the local area- khao lak has some great little restaurants and bars but without tripadvisor you wouldn't find them

Room Tip: make sure you choose a ground level room with immediate pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of the best resort we have ever stayed in. Our room was on the ground floor and it has a direct access to the pool. We spend most of our time in the hotel itself, swimming, sunbathing on the beach, drinking by the pool\, at the bar. it was just amazing experience. Very beautiful resort. The breakfast was excellent and the service was second to none. They made us feel very welcome. The room was spacious, the decor was modern, something like a balinese touch to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 children (ages 12 and 8), nephew (13) and niece (9). Travelling with 4 kids can be challenging, but staying in this hotel made things easy with the spectacular 3km winding pool and private beach, tennis courts, snooker table and 2 table tennis tables. The breakfast area and pool bar was excellent and the hotel's Thai restaurant is a must-try, but there are also 2 nearby restaurants (Italian and Thai restaurants) which are just a walk away from the main entrance of the hotel. JW Marriott is an excellent choice in Khao Lak, which offers a "quieter" location compared to the island of Phuket. The highlight of our stay was a half-day trip to James Bond island which is relatively closer from Khao Lak than from the main island of Phuket.

Too bad there was a bit of rain when we stayed there. We will definitely try it out again when there is more sunshine, so we can try out the bike rentals available at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is as expected of a JW Marriott: sprawling grounds, good food in the hotel restaurants, and great value at the restaurants on the beach just past the hotel boundary. The beach itself is beautiful - many a sunset evening was spent there. The Marriott in Phuket has more mature tress and foliage, which made the Khao Lak resort more bare (and hot!) in comparison but the landscape will mature and it will keep getting better. Khao Lak is a much quieter and more authentic place than Phuket these days: more nature on its doorstep in the form of the National Parks and their waterfalls, more unspoilt beaches.

Room Tip: Request for a higher floor for a better view of the sea from the balcony (the rooms face the swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had an awesome holiday at J W Marriot, Khao Lak.

Their huge swimming pool and the private beach are the major attractions. The Beach was clean and well maintained, my son just loved playing in the Sand and waves!!
For the Swimming pool- Pool access rooms are an intelligent choice, giving you privacy and convenience at the same time. We had a memorable evening witnessing the glorious sunset from the sunken Bar !!

Our package included couple spa and a private dinner on the beach. The Spa was heavenly! Dinner on the beach was very well organised, and we were treated royally.

The shacks on the beach were not very well managed. The food was not that great and the place was unhygienic (I actually saw huge lizards and insects there). Food inside the resort was reasonable. We generally ate at the restaurants just outside the resort.

Overall its was a Perfect Holiday!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.