We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic location and amazing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 59 hotels in Khao Lak
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a fantastic location and amazing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights from the 5th of November and wish it was longer.
Resort has the most amazing pools, connected by river type channels so you could swim the 3km if you wish. The resort is large but very private also. During the day we felt the resort was quiet, the breakfast was the busy time, when we noticed the other guests, but not too busy. Plenty of selection on the buffet, everything you could want for breakfast. Smoothies (made fresh), egg station, bakery items, cereals, cheeses, meats, salads, yum-cha selections, asian noodles, rice dishes, sushi, fresh fruits, tea and coffee served fresh to your table. Beautiful!
We ate dinner the first night room service as it was quite late, about 1030pm. Food came quickly and very fresh, green chicken curry and pad-thai.
We then ate in town the other nights (100BHT shuttle in per person via hotel, or 300BHT for 6-8 people in tuktuk).
Also ate lunches at the little beach shack restaurants (Blue Mist etc) and the food was excellent and cheap. For lunch with a curry and beer about AUST$5-6 per person.
Massages on beach great with ocean in background!
Beautiful private beach at JW where the staff bring you ice cold water and fruit. They also bring an elephant in twice a week and you can feed him bananas.
We loved it so much we will be back, this time with our kids and our parents...in 4 months time yay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    953
    310
    65
    16
    12
See reviews for
377
691
27
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north east england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Staff brilliant, room lovely, bed lovely, beach lovely, service faultless, but it was just missing some ambience...maybe it was because we were there out of the main season (literally the main season was starting the weekend we were leaving), but there was just something lacking - things I'd like to comment on are the pool rooms... we had a pool view room on the second floor with an outside seating area (which would probably be lovely if the seats were cleaned and not damp)..obviously they had rain then lovely sunshine but the seats were stained with what I assume was paint and smelled musty..so we didn't actually use this area at all... the pool rooms had access to the pool..sound lovely but as we could swim around the entire pool I wouldn't want to be in those rooms for two reasons, one - no real privacy at all in their outside seating area, it was like being in a terrace house right on the footpath where people can look in, and two half of the rooms didn't have steps out - so if I had been in those rooms I would have really struggled to get out of the pool... the rooms themselves (I think) were the same and I couldn't fault the room or bed or chairs in the room...one of them was the most comfortable chair I've ever 'lounged' in... The pool was lovely and had lots of nucks and crannies for couples to sit away from view...which I liked. The food for breakfast was lovely, couldn't fault it - but if it wasn't included in your 'deal' then it would cost approx. £34 for two... that's a lot of money for breakfast. The restaurants were fine again lovely but nothing spectacular. Now I have to say something that's not for the faint hearted.. on our first day, we checked in and then checked out the resort etc. etc. We had heard about the restaurants on the beach that we fantastic value and great food etc. so we went to investigate... on the beach, with the hotel behind us we turned right and went and sat at the first one we came to...FOR US BIG MISTAKE we both order a dish and had a beer - prices very cheap - but at the end of our meal we were sitting watching the sun set and people watching when movement caught my eye...and I saw a small rat two tables from us on the floor...I'm not a screamish person so I told my husband, kept my eye on it but didn't let it spoil our evening - then it's very large dad turned up....huge rat - sorry but that totally put me off. needless to say it put us off eating on the beach again so we spent a fortune in the hotel restaurants... until the day before we departed and we eat in the one called Farmai... lovely food, looked clean, I would recommend that one..

Room Tip: I've mentioned the rooms already, didn't mention the spa tho... it's expensive but reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This 3 year old hotel is flawlessly designed with the most incredible pools and water ways on which the entire hotel is based. The setting is jungle either side on a clean beautiful beach - so suitably remote - the rooms are clean, large and for us opened onto a stretch of internal waterway that leads to the large pools that lead to the beach. The service is also quite incredible and very much 5 star. All staff are very friendly and remembered our names from the onset ! All smile and stop what they are doing when you pass - they make it all special and are obviously extremely well trained.
Although this hotel is large at almost 300 bedrooms - the hotel is so large - that you do not feel that it is in any way crowded - except for at breakfast time - when unless you arrive early it ca be a rush. In the evening you wonder where everyone is.
The food is good and the buffet breakfast huge - with almost everything you might imagine - including a juice and smoothie bar. However if you are a real foodie then the evening restaurants and pool bar could go up a few notched - having said that it is well priced ! Except the wine which we found most annoying - the cheapest bottle being almost €40 which if you like a tipple this proves rather expensive compared to the food. This meant that we enjoyed visiting the many local restaurants on the beach - which luckily there are ! As to be honest with a ten day stay you would be very bored of the three on site restaurants !
The hotel should introduce a well priced house wine - it makes logical sense - as for us as a family of five it lost out on many of our evening meals due to the ridiculous wine prices !
But all in all we would most definitely return.....
And one last gripe - they should really play some reggae at the pool bar - not thumping cheesy dance music - People are in Thailand to chill !

Room Tip: If you like swimming - then a room that opens onto the many water ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has outstanding garden and pool area which directly at a fantastic beach with white sand, hardly no stones and no waste. Go beachwalki for hours without Interruption. Rooms ar large, newish, clean, with big bathrooms
Services like water service at the beach or huge towels and nice beach bags provided are Great. breakfast buffet is very big.

However, there is one drawback:
Prices at the hotel for food, drinks, snacks or Spa are Even for 5 Star resort inacceptably high! We are afraid this is why many people eat outside and the Hotel Management is eager to fill the Hotel with more Russian guest...

This is also the reason why we went very often to the right side of the hotel directly at the beach. There is a restaurant called "Andaman Restaurant Massage & Bar" (2nd restaurant next to JW Marriott).

Here we found reasonable prices for best food which surpasses most Thai restaurants we have ever visited in taste (world's best Pad Thai) and also very good service and friendlyness.

The Cocktails at the bar are very good too!

We also have our massage everday in this place "Andaman massage" where Thai women do excellent massage!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are delighted to be back at this JW, a particularly lovely hotel by the sea. This is our 3rd visit in 3 years and we already plan a return for 2013.

The 3 kilometer lagoon, the pool, the beach, all are fantastic. Our room is again a pool access room, meaning that from our terrace it is only 3 steps down into the lagoon. The water is warm but refreshing and the area is kept sparkling clean.

The room has lots of thai accents and is very comfortable with a chaise and a built-in sofa plus a huge king bed. The bathroom is large with a toilet room, a shower room and a huge stone tub, plus a unique double sink, a make-up mirror and fab water pressure for the rain shower plus the hand held unit. Internet is free and very fast.

Breakfast is fantastic and seemingly endless. Food is good, but pricey as at most hotels. There are a number of restaurants and bars.

The small town of khao lak is a few miles away and has lots of good restaurants. We prefer to have a rental car to get into town, but i believe there is a shuttle bus.

The GM is a young American and keeps the place in good shape. The staff are fantastic and very attentive.

This is a good place to base yourself if you wish to visit the Similan Islands or go diving, or even better just hang out. It is very kid friendly.

Sea Bees diving co. have an office here.

The buildings are only 2 and 3 floors and are very Thai. They are connected by covered walkways to shield you from both rain and sun--and i expect snow. The plantings are extensive and beautiful. There is a large lawn between the beach and the main pool dotted with tall coconut trees offering some shade and a real tropical feel. The beach is lovely with soft white sand. The ocean is very warm.

Room Tip: fly to phuket and the drive is 1 1/4 hours north.. an easy self-drive or taxi or hotel car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

very high standards, we were collected from Phuket airport, the transfer is about 80kms so it takes over an hour. luxurious resort, amazing pools, very nice beach, very friendly staff, the gardeners gave our boys coconuts to drink. also, when you spent some time relaxing on the sun lounges (plenty to go around..), staff would come around with chilled glasses of water - most impressive!

buffet breakfast is an endless array of good quality food, never seen such an impressive display before.

kids club was great for our boys aged 3 and 4, big and inviting space, great staff, plenty of activities such as t-shirt painting and candle making.

bottled water replaced in the rooms daily and the housekeeping tended to come past in the evening to check if we needed anything else. bags of ice cubes delivered complimentary within minutes.

only a handful of restaurants and massages on offer at the beach and all fairly laid back (we usually ordered about 5 dishes and usually one was forgotten,.. what did arrive was usually delicious and cheap though), not much at the beach in the evening, just a couple of touts selling paper lanterns. no beach activities so it's very quiet.

there's a pizzeria just outside the resort which will deliver to the lobby, around US$9- for a 14" pizza if you need a break from what's on offer at the resort and the beach. there's also a mini-mart just outside the resort, otherwise you travel 15mins in a taxi to the town centre where you'll find all the bigger food and touristy shops (taxis wait just outside the resort and will do a 500baht round trip, or the resort charges 100baht per person per way in a mini bus every few hours).

there are different types of pool access rooms, ours had a wooden gate (wing 2), others have glass panels, others had no gate at all. each wing has a different style, i'll post a photo of the resort layout which might help. the family suite bathroom is a pretty open affair, not really designed for those who like privacy in the toilet!

we went on a Scoopon voucher, so it was dirt cheap with the free airport transfers, most people there seemed to be on a deal, probably due to the time of year.. it rained most afternoons, but was still very pleasant weather.

an elephant visits the resort twice a week in the afternoon (tuesdays and fridays?) you can pay 50baht to feed it a bag of bananas.

the resort seems to have everything you could ask for, including a medical clinic, free gym, cafe, best free room wi-fi i've ever had in South-East Asia. several European staff members were always around. tv in the room was huge but the reception was a bit scrappy. rooms have international power plugs recessed in the desk, so you don't need to take adapters.

as a young family we could have benefited from a more casual dining place during the day/evening, but we just walked 100m down the beach instead. similarly, if they had a shop in the resort selling 'reasonably priced' beach gear, souvenirs, t-shirts, amenities,.. we would have spent a lot there, instead we had to do taxi trips to the town.

Room Tip: there are different types of pool access rooms, ours had a wooden gate, others have glass panel gate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kywsttom1961
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nothing is perfect .. But this comes pretty dang close !! Absolute and total peace and relaxation on a beautiful beach .. The staff was incredible the hotel awesome and the local people big hearted and welcoming with nothing but smiles.. high end dining if you like and local cheap dining on the beach as well,,,, half price drinks 12-1 pm. 4:30-6 pm. And 9-10:30 pm every day at the hotel bars ,,,, fantastic weight and exercise facilities ... 9.9 out of 10. Go back in a second

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.