We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!! Opt for the breakfast, skip the spa.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort!! Opt for the breakfast, skip the spa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is an incredible resort! You will be blown away by the beauty of it! The trip from the airport takes a little more than an hour. I'm not sure if the hotel offers a shuttle service but we read another trip advisor review that mentioned a transportation service that we ended up using. The moment we arrived at the hotel, I was impressed. Immediately you can tell that the grounds are beautiful but I was mostly impressed by the service at this point. Right when we walked in, we were greeted by one of the desk clerks. She brought us both a drink with a beautiful flower in it and lead us to a comfortable sitting area in the lobby. We thought this meant that we would have to wait a little while to check in but she came and sat next to us, gathered all our info, and checked us in from there. It was the best service I have ever received upon checking in to a hotel.
We were then lead to our room. All the walkways to the rooms are open air and you can get a great view of the different areas of the resort and the pool when you walk to your room. Our room was on the first floor which was nice because we had a porch that lead right out to the pool. I definitely recommend this! The room had a wonderful bathroom with a large walk in shower, dual vanities and a wonderful soak in tub. The premium upgrades were obvious in the marble floors, countertops, faucets and fixtures. We had a large king bed which was clean and very comfortable. Coming from the states, we were still a bit jet lagged and slept very well in this room. There was also a couch and desk area in the room. When we first walked in, there was a fruit plate waiting for us on the coffee table. It was full of traditional Thai fruits and snacks. Honestly, I didn't love the options but the gesture was wonderful and really helped set the stage for our whole experience at this resort. The TV was large and top of the line and there was a coffee maker in the room. The closet was nice and the dresser where the TV sat provided plenty of space for us to keep our clothes. As I mentioned, the porch area overlooked the pool. The pool area is actually a lagoon that winds all throughout the resort. it is massive, beautiful, and lots of fun. Surprisingly, I didn't see a lot of people in the water when we were there. Regardless, it is surely a very wonderful feature and would be excellent for anyone whether you just want to sit on the waters edge and relax or you want to splash around with your family or friends. There are also lots of wide pool areas in the traditional sense where you can sun bathe and cool off. There is a smaller pool area that has a slide which would be great for kids. At the main pool area, there is a swim up bar. They serve food and beverages there. It is wonderful and I highly recommend the frozen banana beverage that is on the menu - you will not be disappointed!! If you would rather relax at the beach as opposed to the pool, comfortable chairs are offered.
We booked our package online and we chose to include breakfast for both of us every day during our four day stay. This added a minimal amount of extra cost (maybe $20 per day) but it was well worth it. The breakfast was extensive and delicious. They had a lot of different types of food including a plethora of fresh fruit, yogurts, omelets, pastries, meats and cheeses, oatmeal, pancakes, cereals, etc. The breakfast spans several hours and you can choose to sit inside the restaurant or outside on the patio. It is a large area but it gets quite crowded. There seemed to be a lot of families vacationing there so you will see a wide array of guests at breakfast. It is a great time to meet other travelers and chat about what there is to do in the area.
For lunch and dinner, I recommend venturing off the resort. There is a small place within walking distance on the beach called Mama's. It is small and you can literally see the skeleton crew cooking your food in the very small kitchen but the food is excellent. It is all very fresh and delicious! My husband loved the spicy kick that each dish seemed to provide. Be forewarned that even those dishes that you would not think would be spicy, often have a little kick to them (even the salads seem spicy). Regardless the food is delicious and the prices are very reasonable! We ate there numerous times in our four days at the resort.
The resort also offers a shuttle in to town where you can visit the local shops and restaurants. We made the trip but didn't really find any food worth writing home about. There are some cute shops where you can find little trinkets and souvenirs. Feel free to barter to get a better price!
We did eat at the Italian restaurant at the resort one night. The food was good, the service was good and the ambience was nice. But I think it was a bit expensive for what we got.
The hotel did offer events almost every night while we were there. Some of them required an extra fee and we didn't attend those but they were a nice option.
The fact that the resort offered a spa was a nice option but I wasn't overly impressed with it. I had a pedicre and the tech was very nice but didn't do a great job. It almost seemed that the spa staff was either brand new or under trained. I also had a massage. The area where the therapy was given was very beautiful but the service was just mediocre. I thought it was a bit expensive for what I actually received. We were in Bangkok before going to Khao Lak and had received numerous massages while there. They were all excellent and about a third of the price of the one I received at the resort. The surroundings of the massage shops in Bangkok were not as nice however so I would expect to pay more at the Marriott but I still thought the services were overpriced.
All in all, this is a gorgeous resort and the price we paid (about $240/night) was very reasonable! We have paid much more for rooms in resorts that were not half as nice as this! If you are going to Khao Lak and want a full-service, relaxing resort away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket, do yourself a favor and book a room at the JW Marriott Khao Lak.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    373
    83
    24
    18
See reviews for
473
862
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Just got back from five nights at the JW Marriott Khao Lak. Overall, it is a nice property but not in the same league as other JW hotels I've stayed. The grounds, beach and pools are incredible and the property's best feature. The hotel is about 75 minutes north of the Phuket airport. We took the hotel's limousine service to and from for 2500TB each way...well worth it and hassle free. We ate at the hotel restaurants three of five nights and the food was good, although a bit more than you'd pay offsite. I'd recommend the Thai over the Japanese...Olives was standard fare. We also ate at the small Thai and Italian restaurants right outside the property. Both were decent given the relatively low prices and the service was friendly. There is a 7-Eleven type store and a Massage parlor there as well that have reasonable goods and services.

First the pros:
- Great beach, pool and grounds
- Service was excellent, very friendly staff
- Free happy hour cocktails for Marriott Preferred members
- Breakfast was very nice and included for free for Marriott Preferred members
- Nice spa

Now the cons:
- Furniture in room was really beat up; not what I would expect in this end of property. Every piece of furniture was heavily worn and made us wonder whether it was salvaged from when the tsunami hit the property
- Rooms seemed run down and not well kept (e.g., mold in shower, broken closet door, scratched floors)
- Ants in room; called front desk and they had someone wipe them up versus switching our rooms...now have ants in my laptop
- Very large resort property that caters to families (fine if what you are looking for, but not boutique nor ideally for couples)
- Far from city and airports...several difficult miles to Khao Lak and a long way to go for essentially a large beach resort
- Buildings are showing their age...crumbling paint, worn roofs, etc.

Overall our experience was average as it did not meet expectations given the ratings, reviews etc. It's just not a 'luxury resort' which is what we were lead to believe. Would look elsewhere if ever in Khao Lak again.

Room Tip: Pool access room was great although less than private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights over New Year in this vast but beautiful hotel in an amazing setting right on the beach. The rooms are good quality, the staff are as friendly and helpful as you'd expect from anywhere in Thailand and the amenities are as you'd expect from a luxury brand of an International chain. I thought long and hard about whether to only give this hotel 3 stars but decided that that would be too harsh as it is a great place to stay, however, what I find frustrating about this type of property is that a lack of attention to detail and a myopic view about running a business, mean that what could be an amazing hotel is just "nice".

I'm probably being quite petty but just a few examples and hope that the Manager (Ty) reads this and takes some notice.

- Sun loungers at the beach - it annoyed me immensely that the hotel has not cracked down on the practice of people getting up at 7am to put a towel on a lounger to save it. The beach is beautiful and a great way to spend the day but all (yes all) of the loungers immediately looking onto the beach are "reserved" at the crack of dawn. Sort it out as this is both an unacceptable and selfish behaviour.

- Restaurants in general - ok so this hotel is in Thailand, but to read the pool bar menu, the (very US feeling) deli menu or look at the hotel restaurants (included one Thai one, but a Japanese and an Itallian(!) restaurant) you could be anywhere in the world as the food is pretty generic, international and dare I say boring. This is probably because this is after all part of the Marriott chain but why would you not champion good local cuisine first and yes offer some options second.

- Mosquitoes - they're everywhere, as you'd expect in Khao Lak but why not issue every room with an incense burner to repel them away and provide mosquito nets over the beds. All other beach hotels I have stayed at in Thailand do this so you're way behind.

- Prices in general - the menus quote everything pre tax (clearly learning from US practices) but this is an unnecessarily expensive place to eat and drink. The beach bars are extremely good value for money and a fraction of the cost. The New Year party was a perfect example - we have been to gala dinners in Thailand before and they're very standard buffet experiences with ropey entertainment and some token fireworks but at 8500 baht, your New Year party is priced higher than some of the better quality hotels in Central London. This is outrageous. I was also told by one of your sales team when she tried and failed to encourage me to come along that the beach bars and restaurants would all be closed on New Year's Eve so we wouldn't be able to go there. I'd just like to reassure you that they were open and doing a roaring trade from a large population of the hotel's more sensible guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

If you are wanting a holiday with a fabulous beach, local restaurants/massages on the beach and no-one hassling you to buy something then this is the place for you ... Although we went in high season ( January ) there were alot of families travelling from Europe and if it's quiet small and quaint that you are after then this is not for you .... The hotel itself is amazing. Big beautiful pools that can take you around the whole resort if you choose to swim it. Then there is the staff who are always polite and welcoming, which we find to be the opener of a fab holiday. There is a variety of restaurants at the resort which of course are quiet expensive as you would imagine. But we would like to take this opportunity to recommend a local restaurant to the right looking at the beach called Andaman restaurant ... the steamed snapper is a must ...The only thing we would complain about is that you have to pay to go into town. Which we figure should be included with your stay. All in all you will love this resort and location if you dont want the hussle and bustle of Patong... Enjoy !!!

Room Tip: Pool access rooms on the Phuket Side of the resort provide better direct access to the pool. Be warn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Pool Access Room is a must at this hotel. Their lagoon pool meanders all around the hotel and each morning we would step out our back porch to take a morning swim before breakfast and what a way to wake up. We would then stroll to the hotel's Waterfront Restaurant for breakfast (food galore, huge variety and fresh) whilst enjoying the beach view. The beach restaurants left and right of the hotel were great - just as good day or night. Good food and so, so cheap. Beautiful beach at front of hotel. Not too rough but fun enough for a body surf. Hotel provides boogie boards, volley ball and the friendly staff keep you serviced with water to keep you cool. Fabulous hotel and place to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: There are a couple of different types of pool access room. There is the garden access which is on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nachdem wir schon eimal vor Jahren in Khao Lak waren, haben wir uns diesesmal im JW Marriot einquartiert. Gebucht haben wir dann ein Doppelzimmer mit direktem Poolzugang, was ich jederzeit wieder machen würde. Das Hotel selbst ist sehr weitläufig und hat einen wunderschönen, riesigen Pool. Der Strand ist zwar nicht so schön wie vielleicht auf Phuket, da das Wasser immer etwas trüber ist.
Frühstück im Hotel ist 1A mit riesiger Auswahl. Die Restaurants im Hotel sind ebenfalls sehr gut, wenn auch natürlich nicht ganz billig. Man kann jedoch in den umliegenden "Strandrestaurants" auch gut und vor allem billig essen...

Alles in Allem ein wunderschöner Urlaub und das Hotel kann ich mit gutem Gewissen weiterempfehlen!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed one week at this resort in december 2011. Its a large resort but at the same time it never feels crowded. Not in the restaurant, not on the beach or at the pool. There is more than plenty of room for everyone and the friendly staff always greets you with a smile. The tranquil almost isolated location of the hotel in northern parts of Khao Lak makes this a dream destination for everyone looking for silence and tranquility. The beach is beautiful and large and stretches for several kilometers. Its nice to take a walk along the beach and youre almost alone when walking here. Plenty of sunbeds offered by the resort overlooking the beach. Staff bring you cold water for free and in the afternoon is offered complimentary ice pops. The pool areas are amazing they circulate 3 kilometers like a serpentine around the area giving a Venice like feeling. Sunbeds and towels avalaible everywhere round the pool also in small semi private sections protected by bushes where sunbeads are laid out in pairs with own entrance to the pool from each. This is also offered for those hotel rooms that are on the bottom floor and have their own private entrance to the pool. We stayed higher up and had a large room with a large balcony with a nice bench/sofa. The room had bathtub, shower, separate toilet, a safe, a minibar, air conditioning of course, free wifi that worked well, coffe and teamaking facilities, large flatscreen television with international cable channels in different languages. Large king size bed with loads of cushions. Free bottles of water supplied to the room daily. Breakfast was a large buffet with asian and international choice. You can get eggs benedict, omelettes or scrambled eggs made a la minute. The waterfront restaurant where breakfast is served has a large windows and is light with a nice beach view. Besides this there are three dinner restaurants an excellent stunning thai ”Ta-Krai”, a japanese ”Sakura” and a mediterranean ”the Olive”. If you have half board as we had you may choose where to have dinner and there is a special menu with a large choice. The resort has several bars both swim up bars and a beautifully decorated stylish indoor bar the czar. We do strong recommend this sophisticated hotel for anyone wanting a calm, peaceful, tranquil vacation away from the crowds.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.