We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Access room is the best choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pool Access room is the best choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I joined friends staying at this resort for a couple of days. The pool access room was the perfect choice for me. Two steps down from my patio into the 3.1 km of swimming canals, which lead to the big pool(s) in the middle of the property.

Breakfast was delicious! Plenty of choices. A light airy breakfast room overlooking the beach area.

Rooms and furnishings show some wear, but I like the Thai style.

The perfect place to veg out for a few days.

Room Tip: Deifinitely chose pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    346
    74
    21
    16
See reviews for
434
776
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed at JW Marriott Khao Lak during October 21-24. Impressed by the van transportation arranged by the hotel which picked us up from the airport. Polite driver who welcomed you with cold towels and cold water. The "at your service" department from the hotel called while we were still in the van to tell us they have everything prepared and if there was anything else we need. I told them a wheelchair would be nice since my mom has bad knees and a wheelchair was waiting at the exit from our van when we got to the hotel with 5-6 hotel staff rushing to the van to help us getting off. What a VIP arrival! The hotel ground was nice, huge canal-like pool, had fun walking around with my family. Don't forget to go to the infinity pool. We had fun floating on the jacuzzi bed. The kid pool had some leaves floating on it, a little dirtier than the main pool. Had fun at the beach, the waves were a little rough but not dangerous. However, service at the beach at JW Marriott Phuket was better. They had cool mist spray and cold water served with out asking. Pool-access rooms are nice with separate shower room, toilet and bathtub. Service at the restaurants (the Mediterranean, the Japanese and the breakfast room) were very attentive and personal. The waitresses were very good with children and calling them by their nicknames. However, the food at the Japanese restaurant was quite average but it was fun watching the cook at the teppanyaki stove. Overall, I and my family was impressed with the service and atmosphere of this hotel and looking forward to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you want busy markets, and blaring night clubs, this is not the place to go. This awesome resort is a little quiet piece of heaven in a beautiful country. My wife and I stayed here with some friends, and absolutely loved it!

The resort is simply georgeous! The pool more then inviting, and the beach divine. The rooms were lavish, clean, and a pleasure to be in... not that we spent much time in there. There is just so much to do. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and we only had one power outtage, for about 20 sec the entire time we were there.

The food at the resort is quite nice, however, it is a little over priced. A dinner for two will set you back about 5000TBH, however, we dinned at the little restoraunts on either side of the resort on the beach with our friends, and a dinner for SIX including all drinks set us back only 1000TBH and the food (Thai) is supperb. The breakfast, which was included in our package, was great though, and really fresh and tasty.

The resort is in an ideal location for trips to the other islands nearby, such as the world class Similan Islands, and Surin Island; and is an hour drive to the marina to board boats for trips to other popular islands such as Kho Pi Pi and James Bond island.

All in all, I couldn't be happier with the entire experience! We'll be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Delux pool access rooms are best, especially in wing 4 as you even have steps to get in and out of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Beautiful hotel with an amazing pool. Very pleasant and efficient staff.

Rooms are extremely clean and well furnished (the water supply is sometimes not totally efficient though, with a lot of drop of pressure. But it is not that big a deal. The same goes for the almost daily (short) electricity cut off.

The beach is vast and beautiful. The sport room is excellent.

The 4 or 5 outside restaurants on the beach are very cheap and cook good (Thai) food.

We would overall recommend such resort because it is peaceful as well as beautiful. You can relax far from stress in a luxury environment.

On the (few) "negative" aspects: it is really far from the so-called city (15 mn drive), and there is not much to do around (the hotel or tour operators propose guided tours, but mainly to see the nearest market or the islands around).

The breakfast seemed to please mainly anglo-saxon guests since there was lots of salty food (sushis, vegetables, sausages...), but apart from the excellent fresh mixed fruit juices, there is nothing amazingly good for latin guests (the pastries "croissants" and other waffles are really really far from their original recipies...) But still, it was overall correct.

Last but not least, the same goes for the food served in the 3 various restaurants: overpriced and not far from (or even less subtle than) plane food, but with the price of a gourmet restaurant. This is almost a shame for such resort. Let's hope they will change this quickly and hire a proper Chef....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Spent the weekend at this resort on a business meeting. Was unable to explore the whole resort but the parts of it I saw were beautiful. The pool access from the rooms is unique - just jump from your balcony into the canal and swim round the entire complex. The food was also very good, especially the seafood. The staff were attentive to a fault. Overall, this is a great place for rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

We were there Oct 11 for 7 nights. Everything was perfect. Stand out staff Sak and Irinia made it unforgettable. Facilities, food, rooms, setting, beach and staff all 5 star. Best holiday! Sue & Paul Barnes, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Nice hotel in Khao Lak, not too far from the main area. When i got there we realized that we had come to the perfect hotel since we was tired, needed a foot massage, there was a spa right next door in Khao Lak Village. So not a long walk. The hotel is big, the staff are very kind and the rooms are gorgeous!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa

Address: 41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the treasures of Khao Lak at JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa. The pristine white sand beach stretches for miles, melting into the exquisite azure waters of the Andaman Sea. This is Khao Lak, Thailand - a hidden paradise of sun, sea and sand, as well as lush tropical greenery, granite mountains and stunning waterfalls. The vast landscaped area within the resort grounds makes the resort an ideal outdoor venue for incentives or themed events, weddings or product launches. At Marriott Hotels and Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation a trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, and exemplary meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak
Cher Fah Hotel
Cher Fah Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.