We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend - Best honeymoon I have ever had!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   #9 / 9, Moo 1 Tambol Kuk Kak | Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend - Best honeymoon I have ever had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We were recommended this by friends who also came on their honeymoon, as we did.

WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED!!!!!

We were hear for 8 incredible nights on my honeymoon.

Stayed in a GARDEN VIEW room next to the Adults pool. Was on the ground floor with easy access from our balcony straight to the adults pool. it was in a very quiet area, near the Spa Retreat. The room was at a very good fair rate so if anybody on a honeymoon wants to be next to the adult pool, go the garden view.

The grounds are beautiful. So green and well manicured and vast with many activities from swimming in the complex of pools to playing tennis or doing bike tours in the lush jungle to a water fall - that was a lot of fun!!!

This resort caters very very well for families and for honeymooners as there are private adults only pools and pools for kid, though i found the type of people who come to be more mature or honeymooners so the screaming kids around the pool were not to be found!

the buffet Breakfast was amazing. We always got in well before the 9am rush. Not sure if it was becuase we were still on Australian Time and were up at 7am on a morning walk down the serene beach. The variety and quality is very very good.
The beauty of the large pool at the beach is amazing. Swimming in the late afternoon with the glowing orange sun and the ocean views can only be described as magic.
We came on our honeymoon and were greeted with champaign and a cute "happy Honeymoon" cake. The staff were always happy and smiled any time you were near them.
Happy hour on the beach at sun set was fantastic. But get there early because you may find yourself waiting for a cocktail because the bar staff were at times a bit disorganised and as you may expect could speak little English, if any. But sipping a cocktail after a hard day by the pool or beach is really what holidays are all about!

As for Dinner, we ate once at the Thai Restaurant in the Resort and the food was great but very expensive. Like what most other reviews say, if you want some cheaper options, take the Bus into town. Its only 15 Minutes away and it leaves every half hour. There are plenty of places in town and the food is sensational. Throw in a singha beer and life doesnt get much better! There is also shopping down there too with the usual market stuff.

One issue I had was internet. Was very expensive and really, should be free. The resort, like others, should have this as an added vale service as people are already paying lot sof money to stay there.

So in summary, I couldnt not recommend this place more to a couple who want a quiet peaceful getaway in one of the most beautiful resorts going around.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    690
    304
    128
    60
    14
See reviews for
356
615
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town south africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

After using TripAdvisor exhaustively to plan our 10 day holiday to Singapore and Thailand, my husband made me promise to share some additional information with future readers and so I will also write a review of the JW Marriott Phuket Resort and two hotels in Singapore.

The Le Meridien Khao Lak is the second Meridien resort we have stayed in since 2007. The other was in the Seychelles. Based on that experience, we expected a certain European standard for service (not the highest but good) and a pleasant stay for our two nights in Khao Lak.

This resort is on a beautiful stretch of beach outside Khao Lak to the north of Phuket. Be prepared for the drive and we recommend booking the hotel limo service. It is a bit more expensive but the Meridien lounge and staff are waiting upon your arrival with cool drinks, face towels and a driver who know exactly where to go on the 80 minute drive to the hotel. We arrived after a 1 hour flight from Singapore so we did not mind the drive but take this into consideration if you are arriving after a long flight.

The check in staff was efficient and welcoming and the Meridien approach to check in - with comfortable desks and chairs- is much more pleasant than the stand and queue method employed by most of these resorts.

We booked a deluxe pool view room with an extra bed for our son. The room was clean, well appointed and pleasant enough. The exterior hallways are a bit dark and depressing, especially upon arrival and the rooms could use a lightening and spruce up as well. Our stay was only two days so there was not too much point in stressing about it but we would recommend booking one of the Ocean or Lagoon villas. Much more pleasant for the money. We did not encounter more than the odd gecko in terms of wildlife as others have described and, coming from Africa, we are used to sharing our space with local critters anyway. Our 5 year old son enjoyed the anticipation of seeing them on the ceiling each night after dinner.

Food at the hotel was good, and the breakfast buffet was fresh, varied, and the staff was great. At about 10 am the hotel's baby elephant and her keeper wander in the gardens to greet the children and this is definitely a highlight of the morning. If you have plans to travel with small children, this is a great destination in general. The kids club and staff could not have been more organized and pleasant. The facility was clean and calm - a far cry from the chaos at the JW Marriott that we experienced a few days later. We had no concern about leaving our son with Tle and Pancake for a few hours.

The beach and pool are beautiful, clean, and the gardens well kept. Beware the jelly fish however as we were not able to swim in the water at all during our stay. Again, the pool is perfectly designed for kids with slides, shallow areas, and a fun baby pool area.

One does not get the sense that people come here for more than R&R but the hotel does make an effort with entertainment in the evenings. Make sure to have a drink on the beach in the evenings once the lounge chairs and the DJ arrive.

We ate one night in the Twin Pavillion Korean and Japanese restaurant which was enjoyable. Only four teppanyaki tables so fun and intimate. Service was fine but we had a serious language barrier with most of the staff at the hotel in general. They try hard in English but do not ask any complicated questions.

On our second night we strolled down the beach 200 meters to Rim Lay - on the advice of other reviewers- for a local supper. We arrived early - 18:00 and so had the restaurant to ourselves. A beautiful sunset, ice cold beers and fruit shakes, and one of the best Thai meals we had on our trip all for about 400 THB. The restaurant owner and his family run a clean, pleasant enterprise and the wait staff spoke the best English of our visit to Khao Lak. They also offer massages on the beach during the day for something like 100THB.

Our visit was too short but the trip to the Similan Islands and the national park look well worth it.

Finally, one hint is to take advantage of the 30% spa treatments in the evening at the hotel's beautiful spa. The prices become reasonable and the facilities are great. Nothing better than a massage before bed!

Not sure we will return but, in general, this was a most pleasant and relaxing stay with some definite highlights. There were no busloads of tourists lining up at checkout or clogging up the lobbies. Be prepared, however, for signs in English and German to accomodate the large number of German speaking guests and their children. Anyone else will be in the minority for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The resort is new and well kept. I am a Starwood Platinum member but I was not upgraded cause they only have few rooms for upgrades and they don't use their villas for upgrades. My room was nice and clean. I had the impression thet the hotel was a german touristic village, nice but a bit boring. All sea front cheirs were already occupied at 9 am but no people sun bathing. Strange. I like to swim in the sea water and I thought the water was a not transparent as I expected. We have all dinners at a tiny nice restaurant on the beach right from the resort. They offered also a Happy Sunset beer time. Delicious food

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Le Meridien before travelling on to another Starwood hotel in Phuket and we wished we had booked our whole holiday at this wonderful hotel. We booked a Lagoon villa which was beautiful. The service was outstanding from all staff and I particularly liked the very quiet adults only swimming pool.
We thought all of the restaurants were excellent and while the food was not cheap we felt it was good value for money for a 5* hotel. Wine is certainly expensive but we found that it was actually much cheaper here than in the 5* hotels in Phuket (and the restaurants certainly had more atmosphere)..
If you are looking for a very peaceful and quiet holiday, just to relax, then this is perfect. You can walk along the beach for miles and only pass a few other people.
We weren't given a feedback questionnaire to complete at the end of our stay and so if any managers from Le Meridien are reading this I would say that I would have rated your hotel 'Outstanding' in every way (and I am not easy to please!). We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed at Le Meridien for 4 nights in mid March, this was the start of our 2 week stay in Thailand. The layout and design of the resort is lovely with massive pools, plenty of sun beds and beautiful gardens.

Resturant prices are high but management have commented on that in other reviews so no need to go into that. The food at the Baan Thai is fantastic, we basically had the whole place to ourselves when we ate.

The best thing by far at the resort is the beach, so clean, untouched, private and goes on for ages.
If you're looking for a cheap meal walk onto the beach and turn left, we ate for $15AUD with dessert. Also book your tours through here and you'll save 30-50% off the total being sold within the resort.(the tour agent in the hotel is privately owned)

Check out the Surin islands for great snokelling and the tsunami museum plus police boat.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We had an okay time here. The bike ride to rubber plantation was great. But I digress: on arrival at this huge, tired hotel, the one thing I'd asked for in my reservation request was for a quiet room "away from any elevators" on the Spa side. We were put directly in front of the elevator and stairs on the opposite wing of the Spa side of the hotel! I really loathe that. Why must the guest be placed in a position of protesting at the start of holiday? I didn't make a fuss since we were with friends but it didn't get much better. There was an enormous wedding going on that sucked all resources in, leaving everything unmanned and virtually impossible to find lunch outside of the one Italian spot. They didn't offer kids' menus for our young ones and let us order $15 individual pizzas that were identical to what the kids' menu offered - again, that kind of thing is annoying. The beach area is very pretty - this is Khao Lak, after all, but there isn't really anywhere to walk much so you're stuck with the overpriced, underwhelming hotel food. Two final things annoyed us and detracted from our stay. The mostly German tourist groups have really overrun the place. Even the signs are in German. That's all fine and well (and don't get me wrong - I'm mostly German myself and don't mean to pinpoint Germans in particular) but groups and constant buffets and all lend a certain vibe that isn't entirely wonderful when seeking a peaceful, refined vacation. Finally, we booked a trip through the hotel to the incredible Similan Islands. We were the first picked up and the last dropped off. This translated into spending nearly 3 hours in the back of a rickety, open-air, bench-seated bus as we collected and deposited guests at other hotels. What a waste of time and annoyance! Le Meridien should either provide its own transportation to the dock, offer its own excursions like Sarojin, or at least warn guests. I've never encountered such a thing and literally felt trapped in a nightmare. Next time, it's Sarojin if with the spouse, JW if with the kids.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKhaoLak, Senior Marketing Communications Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Thank you for posting your comment. We noted your comment regarding your dissatisfaction of your room location and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you during your stay. We always try our best to fulfill our guests’ request in any possible way we can to enhance the pleasure of our guests’ stay. However during the high occupancy period with minimum rooms available, it is a huge challenge for us to fulfill every request of a specific room and specific location, and we realize this fact and situation, therefore all requests of a room upgrade, a specific room (number) and specific location will be placed on request and we can only confirm this request upon arrival. To clarify and avoid confusion of the above, the above doesn’t mean that our guests won’t get the room type (Deluxe room, Suite or Villa) they have booked, they will get the room type they have booked, as our booking system well manages this, once the room type sold out the system will block us from booking this room type.

Regarding the kids’ menu, we will certainly brief our associates to ensure Kids menu is presented to our guests dining with children at all time.

At all Le Meridien hotels and resorts, all collaterals and signage at the property is using bi lingual with English as the main language, whilst the second language is dependable on the market segment of the hotel. Our resort has about 35% guests coming from Austria, Germany, and Switzerland, therefore German is used in the second language to provide the hotel information to our non English speaking German guests.

Refer to your comment regarding the Similan excursion you booked through the hotel, we believe you referred to Asian Trails office located at the hotel lobby and they are one of the largest and reputable tour companies in Thailand. All tour packages from any tour company include pick up and drop off service from and to the hotel. If our guest requested a private transfer, this can be organized through Kara C car rental company with an additional charge. If our guests require an exclusive in-land excursion, it can also be arranged with Kara C for a car with a driver. Yes, you are correct, Sarojin and also a privately owned and managed hotel on the island are the only two resorts in this region that own a boat to bring guests to the Similan Island. Certainly this exclusive service is with a charge and the price is much different from the tour company.

Why Le Meridien Khao Lak didn’t forewarn our guests with the transfer time? As a hotel operator we do not involve with the operation and services of any third party vendors, including those operated at the hotel premise as an independent company. The tour company has their appointed representative to look after their customers and to provide information required by their guest. However, if our guests contact us for assistance, we will certainly be happy to assist and we will call the tour company and get the information for our guests. The pick up and drop off timing is always varies depending on the bus route and pick up locations. Sometimes our guests are the last pick up and the first drop off. We certainly understand your frustration from a long travelling time and we will certainly share your comment with Asian
Trails.

The Management
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We hosted our daughter's wedding at this Resort. Indian weddings tend to be celebrated over several days. We had five days of celebrations from 23 to 27 March 2010 with themed lunch and dinner parties on most days culminating in a sunset wedding on the beach on the 27th followed by a Receotion and Gala Dinner & Dance into the wee hours of the morning. This was truly a faiy tale wedding!
The entire management and the GM were amazing. They ensured that every event went off impeccably with highly polished and slick organisation behind the scenes making sure that every guest was well pampered. Their team of international chefs gave us wide and varied dishes at every occasion - prepared to perfection.
What more can I say! Each one of our 100 or so guests only had one word to describe their experience ' 'Amazing'!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort

Address: #9 / 9, Moo 1 Tambol Kuk Kak | Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary Thai-style resort among the exotic fragrant foliage is situated on a 13km pristine beach and near to the untouched rainforests. It is a secluded and yet exciting destination for a family holiday getaway or a romantic honeymoon. 70 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The resort features guestrooms, suites, villas, three swimming pools, six restaurants, a bar with live band, gym, spa, tennis courts and water sports. 20 minutes to an 18-hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach And Spa Resort
Meridien Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.