We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. A little work required” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   #9 / 9, Moo 1 Tambol Kuk Kak | Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
stevenage
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel. A little work required”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

As the title says a very nice place. we had a pool view deluxe room and you cant grumble really. nice and clean, lots of space, very plush really. It was our Anniversary and the hotel supplied us with a cake and some fruit, Thank you for that Le meridien. Breakfast was great you had just about everything you could have for breakfast and more. The people who complain about breakfast must be lords or kings if this dissatisfies them. the pools were nice and big and clean. Only complaint here was some of the tiles had come away from the bottom of the pools, not a big issue but needs sorting. We ate at one of the hotel restaurants One evening, The food was ok not great and pricey. Beer and spirits are expensive, I was told by the local tailor the prices went up by 25% recently for no reason. If you face the sea and turn right then walk about Ten mins along the beach there are around Four beach restaurants that sell great food and drink (cocktails £2.00) at ridiculous cheap prices. You even get a free taxi home in Two of them if you've had a sherbet to many. Minibus into Khao Lak costs £4.00 pp return where you will find lots of eating places and market stalls and the like. so all in all a very nice hotel with good amenities and very nice staff. Would just like to say to Jennifer B the general manager, Man who pays too much for beer and food go somewhere else (Nick cotton)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the spa pool are a nice place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Nickcotton1962,

Many thanks for sharing your observations with us. We were really happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services, especially our sumptuous breakfast and appreciated your comment about Lords & Kings.

The GM, Jennifer certainly does not want quote "Man who pays too much for beer and food go somewhere else " so will ensure that, as also promised to others, we review our pricing for our food and beverage offers so that next time around you will be enticed to stay with us and enjoy !!!
The lose tiles in our pool are already being replaced.

I hope that we can welcome you back for your next Le Meridien discovery soon.

Best wishes
Jennifer Buhr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    683
    300
    125
    59
    14
See reviews for
350
610
24
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Recently spent eight nights at this hotel. We were more than pleased with our garden room. The service is excellent and the restaurants serve very good food for everyone's taste. Breakfast is particularly good with an amazing choice of different foods and fresh cooked eggs etc. the sun beds are lovely and comfortable and large, fluffy towels are brought to your bed and you can have as many as you want. I do hate it when you are only allowed one. The pool/beach service is good. The Spa is second to none and once you have had one treatment you are very tempted to book more which we did. The staff in this hotel are all very helpful, friendly and polite. We arrived. In the early hours of the morning to be greeted by two very attentive reception staff one of whom immediately got us some refreshment after a very long journey. We were then driven to our room with another member of staff who showed us our room and made sure we were comfortable. It was a wonderful start to our stay. The training is impressive. The hotel is also set in beautiful, natural grounds and has its own baby elephant which was a great favourite with everyone. You can have a wonderful rest at this hotel. We want to return.

Room Tip: We didn't notice any bad rooms but we did like our quiet garden room with the beautiful pool onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear ShirleyM

Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today, and creates a vision for tomorrow (Melody Beattie), all of which you have done today with your wonderful review. You have made my team and I very proud.

Thank you so much and I really hope that we can welcome you back to Paradise very soon.

Best wishes
Jennifer Buhr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The resort is relatively big. In fact it has about 3 pools within it n of course the beach beside it. Unfortunately if you're hoping for blue sea water then this is the wrong spot, at least not in may. I don't know about other seasons but we just get murky green water so not just swimming done there. Food is fine with the usual international buffet fare. I must compliment their fried rice though, the one from bamboo restaurant. That is yummy. Overall it is quite a pleasant stay. Nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Linknexis,

Great to hear that our Resort is the right place to relax and rejuvenate, service is good and our fried rice yummy.

Yes, the sea is affected during the Green Season; we do experience a wonderfully blue sea as well during this same season and it is most gorgeous when one can hear the sound of the sea touching the shoreline and the way it reflects the sky during our sunsets. Most spectacular and enjoyed by all.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to Paradise.

Best wishes
Jennifer Buhr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed many times before in this property and are always happy to return. Each time we go to Khao Lak, we also stay at other places, just to give it a try. But for us Le Meridien Khao Lak is still number one.
All in all, my former reviews are still valuable and we are already looking forward to our next stay in July.
Check in went smooth, but strangely enough this time no welcome drink and cool towel, probably they forgot but it should not happen in a 5 star property.
Pros : location, if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place. Comfortable rooms. Big variety in breakfast. ( Personally I would love to see some more low fat items, like low fat yoghurt,etc.) The staff is very polite and friendly ( apart from one person during our second evening at the Bamboo Bar, who was very uninterested. I would not have mentioned this if it was not for the fact that this was very unusual for us in this property and it was in a striking contrast with our experience so far). A special word of thanks to the resident manager, who was very helpful. The swimming pools are huge, the beach is beautiful, there are more than enough beach chairs, so no need to "reserve" them early morning with your towels. If you prefer the shadow : no problem, palm trees or umbrellas, plenty of them.
You can make long, long walks on the beach, both to your left and to your right. On the beach there are some small bars and local restaurants, just a couple of minutes walk.
Another nice gesture : a card that entitles you to a free drink every day, though I don't know if this is the case all year round.
Cons : Wifi in the lobby is free, but not in your room. However it is not that expensive, around 450 Baht for 24 hours, and you can use these hours during your entire stay.
If you want to go to Khao Lak, and don't have your own wheels, you can reserve a seat in the hotel bus, but it is not free. Coming back from Khao Lak you can use again the hotel bus, or take a local taxi, that charges 250 Baht for 2, for the appr. 15 minute-trip.
So a recommendable place, at least for us, and many other guests that we spoke.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Gwiedje,

Really wonderful to have repeaters like yourself, who take the time to convey their thanks and observations to us.

Yes, Thailand, the land of smiles, is special and we, here, at the Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort need to ensure that our associates reflect this image so thank you for letting us know about the incident at the Bamboo - we shall surely look at the root cause and get that smile back on our associates face again. Being an avid gym enthusiast, I also appreciate the fact that a few low fat items and health foods should be added to our breakfast - noted and will be done.

Other than that, we look forward to welcoming you back to escape to the fantastic and enjoy, rejuvenate and relax.

Best wishes
Jennifer Buhr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as a family with a 4 year old child. Hotel is quite big, nice grounds, and nice beach. Kids club was great and also other facilities like tennis or minigolf are nice. They dont have free wifi in the rooms, to me this should be standard nowadays. Sleep quality was very good. Rooms, breakfast etc are 5* standard, so no complaints there. Location was a bit a disappointment to me, it takes around 20mins by tuktuk to the town, walking is not an option. There is nothing worth mentioning in walking distance. They offer a shuttle, which is same price as a tuktuk but a bit more comfortable.
Would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear 3Sashimi,

Thank you for writing your comments about your recent stay wiith us here at the Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort.

Our location is purposly away from the buzz so that one may escape from everyday stress. Having said that, we appreciate that after so many days of sun, sand and sea a bit of "bustle" could be entertaining and as a result we are now in the process of brainstorming additional activites for big and small!! So next time around added treats will be at your disposal.

Thank you for your input and we look forward to welcoming you back. It was indeed great to have you with us.

Best wishes
Jennifer Buhr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We took over more than half the hotel from 22-25 May. Staff were very polite & rather proficient in English. Cafe Lilawadee breakfast was fine for us to have 3 mornings in a row. Italian dinner was not too shabby considering they do not really know how to make Italian food. Still, the way the chefs tossed pasta was amusing :)

Hotel rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable & their pillows are to die for! Bathtub big enough for 2 people & has a built in anti-slip strips. Rain shower gives a good light back massage. First storey has rooms with balconies facing the swimming pool- it's really convenient to just walk out for an impromptu swim.

Hotel is about 1-1.5h drive from Phuket International Airport & is quite close by a large temple for those who are looking for a cultural trip. But do stock up on mosquito repellant!

Room Tip: Try cutting across the pool to get to your room- otherwise you'd be taking a huge detour from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Lainee-XQL,

Obviously we need to learn how to toss Pasta - Our Chef will be intrigued and surely pursue every avenue available to make sure we get it right because learning never stops and excellence is not an accomplishment - it is a spirit - a never ending process (Lawrence M. Miller) and that is what we do. !! Thank you for telling us!!

Hope to welcome you back to enjoy our serene surroundings and that always needed sleep with our to die for pillows!!

Best wishes
Jennifer Buhr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at Le Meriden from 13 - 20 May. It is a very impressive hotel, and the welcoming cold drink and cold towel on arrival for check-in was an excellent first impression. Our room was beautiful - so large and comfortable, with every amenity. We had a problem with the lighting at one point, and this was fixed quickly. amd followed up with a call to check everything was ok.

The layout of the grounds of the hotel is beautiful. The pool complex is huge, with separate pools for children and adults, as well as the fabulous main pool. The sun beds are the best I have ever used - with bath sheets given out on request. Although the hotel was less than half full, it did appear that if beds were left unattended, the towels would be removed, so this would be a good solution in busy times to prevent selfish users saving beds all day, then not using them.

The baby elephant Wandee was an attraction for children and adults alike, and obviously enjoyed being fed bananas by guests! All the staff were polite and helpful, especially the staff in the breakfast restaurant. The selection of food here was fabulous, with everything you could wish for.

However, we had a meal one evening in the Bamboo restaurant, and found the food to be mediocre, and expensive by local standards. The price of drinks was extortionate, with a small half pint glass of beer costing over £3. You could buy a large pint sized bottle of beer for £2 in the local restaurants. There are several local restaurants along the beach which offer lovely Thai food at very reasonable prices. There is also an excellent massage parlour just a few meters to the right along the beach, and they also do a very cheap laundry service.

As it was the start of the low season, the hotel was less than half full, so there was little atmosphere and few people about. We investigated the Beyond Resort just along the beach, and they seemed to have a much higher occupancy with more going on. We went to a dinner and show there for less than the price of our poor meal at Le Meridien, and it was very enjoyable with an extensive buffet meal and a Polynesian show.

The hotel advertised a trip to the local market and tsunami memorial which we decided to take. This was 250 bahts each, about £5 each. We were simply dropped off in Khao Lak by the market, the tsunami memorial is opposite the market, and told when we would be picked up later. The hotel shuttle bus into Khao Lak cost 400 bahts each (about £4) for exactly the same trip, being dropped off and picked up later, so why thie 'trip' cost more is a mystery.

In conclusion, we had a lovely relaxing holiday in a beautiful location, which could have been improved by a better pricing policy for meals and drinks in the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a premium room on the 3rd floor, which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Ami2610,

Thank you for your comments.

Discovery consists not in seeking new land but in seeing with new eyes ((Marcel Proust) and we shall certainly look at our Restaurant prices with new eyes.

We hope that we can welcome you back to rejuvenate and enjoy our lush gardens, beautiful beach and romantic sunsets and our spacious pools very soon.

Thank you for staying with us.

Best wishes
Jennifer Buhr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort

Address: #9 / 9, Moo 1 Tambol Kuk Kak | Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary Thai-style resort among the exotic fragrant foliage is situated on a 13km pristine beach and near to the untouched rainforests. It is a secluded and yet exciting destination for a family holiday getaway or a romantic honeymoon. 70 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The resort features guestrooms, suites, villas, three swimming pools, six restaurants, a bar with live band, gym, spa, tennis courts and water sports. 20 minutes to an 18-hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach And Spa Resort
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Meridien Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.