We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I've ever been” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   #9 / 9, Moo 1 Tambol Kuk Kak | Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've ever been”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I've been to many luxury hotels around the world and all of them have been fantastic, but still cannot forget this little nice resort where I felt really happy. It is just a little paradise! The staff was really polite, but I guess it's something typical of Thai people, relaxed and nice. We've got very good treatment at their SPA even though they weren't particularly cheap, and we enjoyed them so much! We traveled in two, but I hope to come back there in three :) If you wish to have a calm vacation far form the rest of the world, this place is made for you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKhaoLak, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear JustDianita,

I am happy to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that the Thai people contributed to your overall experience in this beautiful country famous for its genuine hospitality. Thank you for your very nice review and I am hoping to welcoming you back again in the future as a party of three.

Kind regards

Dominik Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    307
    129
    60
    14
See reviews for
359
621
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The resort is nice and rooms too (junior suite) in line with expectations. For a five star having to pick up your beach towel is a bit funny. The staff are mostly clueless and their english is non existent. The food is not worthy of a five star hotel with limited choice at all restaurant while prices are rather high. Worst of all the service is appaling, either you get a menu or are asked for drinks order. A glass of wine may take 25 minutes to arrive on your table, menu listings are often misleading (a bean salad meant 4 beans on your plate). Massages at the spa are 10 times more expensive than on the beach. Guess there are lots of better places in the region!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKhaoLak, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear christophetar,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am truly sorry to hear your disappointments that you have experienced during your stay and regret that our service did not meet your expectations.

We continue to conduct our regular English classes for all of our associates. In relations to the limited menu choices, we are offering a total of 6 restaurants with different cuisines and our Bamboo Beach Restaurant has over 40 choices of dishes including desserts. We will continue to review our current menu offerings and fine-tune them with our culinary team and will make change wherever suitable.

A local beach massage can not be compared with a spa treatment operated by a well-trained spa therapist using finest products in the surrounding of your private Spa villa.

I once again thank you for your feed back and hope you will give us another chance to show you our true Le Meridien service.

Kind regards

Dominik Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Le Meridien KL - there from Dec 2 - 9th 2011 and lucky to get good weather. The hotel continues to impress. Having stayed in dozens of hotels across Thailand (including the Ramada and Laguna in KL) this remains our favourite! We always book a premium room on the Spa Pool area - and hope to get a 3rd floor room. Spa pool is very quiet and ideal for our age group. This last visit we were given room 382 (?) and although it had an obstructed view of pool we were still able to enjoy a drink on the balcony whilst listening to the wildlife and watching the friendly white squirrel!!! The beach area is superb for walking and, at present is still very quiet. This may change with the Kata group opening their new, large hotel 'next door'. We had a look round and even though it looks really impressive I can't imagine their staff being as professional, experienced, trained, efficient or as friendly as those at Le Meridien. We saw another large hotel being built further down the beach and hear that it is due to open next year - I suppose it is inevitable things will change - hope not too much - for now now I can highly recommend the are and Le Meridien inparticular. So much so that we have booked to return on February 27th for 11 nights - counting down the days!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKhaoLak, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear BBnSTours,

I thank you for your recent review of our resort posted on this forum and I am glad that we have succeeded in meeting your expectations. Furthermore, we are very pleased to read that you have already been staying at our resort for 4 times. Thank you for your trust in our resort’s facilities and its services.

Hotel developments continue also in Khao Lak and the closest new resort that has recently opened belongs to the Kata group and is approximately 600 meters away. We are all hoping that the nature of our beautiful beach will remain the same despite some additional developments.

Thank you again for the high ratings of your review and I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back for the 5th time to our resort in February.

Kind regards

Dominik Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have been regulars at this hotel for several years. There are many seaside resorts around Phuket and Kaho Lak, but we always return to this one because:

1. It is not too big. The staff seem to know all the guests, and are even able to greet our children by name. Khun Tippy and Khun See are wonderful.

2. The pool is wonderful. It is an adventure to explore and swim the loop. Swim with the current and you can be fast, swim against the current and you can be fit!

3. There is a wonderful, sandy, kids pool. Our kids can play there for hours, climbing in and out of the toy houses etc.

4. The kid's club is also great, ours spend the late afternoon there to relax before dinner. Khun Boon, who works there, is fabulous.

5. My wife loves the yoga on the beech at 8am. Adam is a great team leader.

6. The breakfasts are as good as anywhere.

Finally, let me share a secret. Frequent travellers do not enjoy having a dinner in a hotel every night. The joy of the Meridien is you can walk onto the beach, wander 100m along the sand either way. There you can eat wonderful, and cheap, fish on the beach, with the waves lapping up around you. We do happy hour at the hotel and then head for the local food...if those huts disappeared so would we.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKhaoLak, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Steve 123456,

Thank you for your detailed and very positive review of our resort. There is nothing more delightful, than knowing our guests are enjoying their stay with us and are well looked after. I took the pleasure of sharing your fine compliments with Khun Tippy, Khun C, Khun Boom and the rest of our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to your holiday home at Le Meridien Khao Lak in the near future.

Kind regards

Dominik Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Although it is a bit of a trek (1 hour 20 mins) from Phuket airport, I feel it was well worth it. The resort feels almost brand new, and has everything you need for a fantastic holiday on a beautiful beach. If you feel like exploring hire a motorbike for just 350 Bhat (arranged by concierge) and there are plenty of stunning little beaches to check out (reccomend Memories beach, access just near the elephant riding place, and Small Sandy beach in the national park, about 15 mins south of the hotel). i'm sure there are plenty more too. the hotel food and beverages are fantastic (although Thai cocktails always seem a little light on alchohol!) The baby elephant at breakfast and in the afternoons adds a real charm to the resort. the spa is fantastic, rooms clean and large and good quaility air con that is not too loud and you can control the temp. the pools are lovely, particularly liked the adults only area as its to tranquil. the gym and activities offered mean you have plenty of options for entertainment and fitness. i'd reccomend it to anyone, and look forward to returning one day!

Room Tip: If you are not travelling with kids, I'd highly reccomend the spa wing, as the pool is 16 years...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKhaoLak, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Bedheadwig,

Thank you for sharing your great holiday experience with other readers. Reading from your lines it looks to me that you are an adventurous traveler and that you have great interests in exploring new places. Khao Lak is rich of natural beauty and visitors can use their motorbike or get a bicycle from the resort to explore some of the national parks and beaches close by of the hotel. If you walk to the left side along the beach from the resort, you will find another long stretch of secluded nature with an untouched stretch of white sandy beach and some unique rock formations. The Poseidon beach is also a very nice beach and I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort.

Hopefully we will be able to welcoming you back for another great stay filled with lots of exciting discoveries.

Kind regards,

Dominik Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in October and we both loved this hotel. The staff are second to none as is the food in the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and were cleaned twice daily. The beach also was very nice and allowed for long secluded walks. The resort is a little bit outside khao lak village but is only 10mins (2euro in taxi) - don't let this be a negative influence as it is not, it's a positive. Hotel also provides a bus to bring u into town. Loads of great places to eat and drink in the village - we have been to a lot of places in Asia and khao lak is up there for a relaxed and authentic experience. Happy to answer any questions if readers have some over I couldn't say a bad thing about this resort. Oh do the Thai cooking lessons (extra costs) and thai kick boxing lesson (free) if you can, they are great - especially the cooking (venu for the lessons is gorgeous). Tailor in the village called monties came highly recommended - I got tailored shirts made and they were only ok quality.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKhaoLak, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear bookieboy,

It was very nice to read that you had such a wonderful holiday with us and sharing this experience with other readers on Trip Advisor. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I hope we will be able to welcoming you back again for another inspiring stay.

Kind regards

Dominik Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 10 days in a beach villa which was beautifully situated and lovely designed. This was one of our best winter vacations ever (and we travel every winter to different parts of the world). Even so we have a few remarks.
- Free WiFi in the room should be basic for a 5-star resort.
- We lack environmental thinking and this is a really important issue. For example, offer guests the possibility to use towels more than just once.
- Risk for over-pricing food and beverages.
- Favola was a big disappointment (on the other hand, why go to Thailand and ask for Italian food?).
And finally two tips, try out one of the beach reastaurants, for example Rim Lay. And visit the Pung-Chang cave, an amazing experience. Ask Asian trails, the travel agency near the lobby. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienKhaoLak, General Manager at Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Malovia,

Thank you for your stay and your overall positive review. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed our Oceanfront Pool Villa offering stunning views of the Andaman Sea and direct access to our secluded beach. Your feedback is well received and we are currently working on the upgrade of our internet offerings and we offer our guest the option that towels and bed linen are not exchanged daily. We are also reviewing our Favola menu and will launch new culinary delights in our Italian restaurant soon.
Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

With best regards

Dominik Stamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort

Address: #9 / 9, Moo 1 Tambol Kuk Kak | Amphur Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary Thai-style resort among the exotic fragrant foliage is situated on a 13km pristine beach and near to the untouched rainforests. It is a secluded and yet exciting destination for a family holiday getaway or a romantic honeymoon. 70 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The resort features guestrooms, suites, villas, three swimming pools, six restaurants, a bar with live band, gym, spa, tennis courts and water sports. 20 minutes to an 18-hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach And Spa Resort
Meridien Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Khao Lak Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.