We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and gentle place to really unwind. Lovely beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Merlin Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Merlin Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Merlin Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7/7 Phetkasem Road, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet and gentle place to really unwind. Lovely beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were more than happy to spend our Christmas break here. It's the kind of place to stay if you want peace and quiet, and aren't interested in adventures. We read, swam in the beautiful warm, clean waters, walked along the beach which went for miles, and did little else but unwind after a busy year. Christmas time means that the resort is largely occupied by Germans wanting to sleep (we nick named it the sleep farm) so be aware it's quiet! But if that's what you want, then do it! Beautiful grounds, well tended with pools to swim in near our room. The rooms were clean, well designed, and comfortable. Breakfast was great- fresh and fabulous. The staff were always fun- take the time to chat and joke with them. We really decompressed here, and we barely left the resort. The buffet dinners again were lovely. We ate in the little town but it was always pretty German based food, or mild Thai- I prefer the real Thai food, but found one little place over the road that did Thai-ish food. Well run resort for those that just need to be quiet.

Room Tip: We were 2nd floor overlooking a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    154
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
100
283
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just returned from a superb 10 day stay at this hotel. On arrival we did notice that it was extremely quiet, but being low season this was to be expected. Check-in was speedy, the bell boy showed us to our room and explained the controls. Room was wonderful and spacious with a sunken bath and a spacious walk-in shower. We arrived very late and were still able to get room service, which was excellent and a very good price, we also had drinks from the mini bar, which were also a good price. We travelled into Khao Lak Centre by hotel taxi for 160 Bht to visit the bank to exchange Sterling. We took an Elephant Trek from the main Elephant Trekking Camp at Khao Lak (Supaporn Elephant Tours), arranged with Unseen Khao Lak. This was very good and included lunch at Khao Lak National Park and a visit to the Tsunami Memorial. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the food, whilst not plentiful (it was low season, and the Thai people dislike waste) was delicious and well cooked, something for everyone. Apart from the lunch at Khao Lak National Park we did not eat outside of the hotel, the food offered on the menu was European or Asian and very well priced. A NZ Fillet steak was 510 Bht, extremely good value for money. I can't understand the comments about inflated food prices at the hotel! We sampled virtually every Thai dish on the menu and weren't disappointed. Wine is expensive. You can buy cocktails in the Tropical bar (Lobby Bar) for 155/165 Bht where waitresses Kung, Phi and Banpim are most welcoming and always have a smile for you. The entertainment was provided by Mr Bandim every night part from Thursday. Yes it is the same music every night, but it isn't loud and is more background music than anything. We took mosquito repellent (jungle formula) which didn't work! Get yourself to the pharmacy around the corner from the hotel by "Tiger" and ask for Sketoline (20% deet) at 90 Bht, the only thing that kept the little blighters away. A wonderful relaxing stay and would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 3223 (Deluxe) overlooks pool 3 and is very centrally located. Also benefits from internet acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is an absolutely lovely place to stay in Khao Lak. If you're looking for something with a bit of character you will love this place. It has a very rainforest/jungle-like atmosphere and beautiful grounds. You can spot wildlife pretty easily living in the grounds such as geckos, lizards and we saw a snake! The staff are wonderful. Incredibly friendly, hardworking and approachable. Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Plenty of choice for breakfast, including some more 'unique' options mentioned in other reviews. We ate in the hotel restaurant for lunch/dinner on a few occasions and weren't disappointed. It was lovely. The rooms are beautiful, incredibly spacious (we stayed in a deluxe room with a bath and shower). It was decorated in a more modern style but very 'Thai' in style which was lovely. Very luxurious. Provided with toiletries and complimentary water which was replenished every day.

There is a big pool with pool bar (there are lots of pools) which was great. Plenty of sunbeds for all if you like sunbathing. Didn't use the spa as it was expensive compared to local massage places. Absolutely loved staying here. A very magical place.

Booked trips with Eco khao lak (rep in hotel reception) and he was brilliant.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Lovely - My partner and I spent two weeks here back in the end of April – which is possible not the best time to go as some of the bars were closed and there were not many people around, we often were the only couple in the bars and restaurants.
Hotel settings are gorgeous with a lot of trees and vegetation and situated right on the beach. As it is a forest setting remember the insect repellents and take as many precautions as possible – from the market you can get coiled incense things which are used in the bars and really really help keep the mossies away but still use the normal sprays.
The beach is very long and sandy and has magnificent sunsets, thoroughly enjoyed breakfasts and we had no issues with sun beds. The pools are always clean as was the room. The room was plenty big enough for two and could have done with more storage for clothes but was not really a problem the air con and fan in the room kept as cool.
Apart from breakfast we did not eat in the hotel but drink prices are acceptable and the hotel does supply two bottles of water per day. There are about a dozen bar/restaurants and a couple of shops just outside of the hotel with more at the end of the beach. For a more varied selection the hotel is within a short taxi cab of the centre and a further ten minutes ride you can find the market with more choices. A Visit to the market is a must but as it is inland it does not benefit for a sea breeze.
Would recommend the hotel, it is ideal for relaxing holiday with easy options for varied entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just spent 10 nights at this hotel, the grounds were lovely, set in a forest, with grassy area near the sea.The hotel has lots of steps and ramps, and as been said not suitable for people with mobility problems. The rooms were spacious, with all amenities, except we only had one bar of soap, so had to remember to take it into the shower, and out again, we did ask for another one, but to no avail..We did ask for extra coffee, being coffee fiends, and we were given that straight away, maybe a soap shortage. Breakfast was fine an assortment of different things to choose from, some we wouldn,t have thought of for breakfast, like cottage pie, spinach with cheese etc, but enjoyed the change, and very nice they were to. The lobby area was large, and seemed very lonely, in fact the loneliest lobby I have ever been in on all my travels. I know it was low season, but there is usually activity, we sat there on our own, and just chilled out in silence sometimes or with a book on comfy seats. The one thing we noticed was people on the sun lounges had to go to the Veranda bar to get drinks. The staff in there never walked around to see if they could take orders. They were not overworked, and appeared to be doing nothing most of the time. Is it hotel policy not to have drinks on the lawn I don,t know. This is a nice hotel, and staff are friendly, and like I said the grounds are great, so give it a go. Some nice restaurants nearby, our favorite was Maleevan, its over the main road from the slip road that leads down to the Merlin, Emerald etc, and can be overlooked. My husband had a fantastic steak, which can be hit and miss sometimes. and great tiger prawns. Prices were cheaper than on the slip road. Its run by David and Ann ( both Thais). There was a bus load of Chinese leaving one day, so must have been recommended by their tour company, food IS good there.To sum up, it was a relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

With two teenage daughters the adjoining rooms were excellent. Spacious with pool view.
pros
good rooms
Nice and quiet
good pools
a few cheap restaurants nearby
cons
worst breakfast. Limited choice and always in limited amounts. Do not pay extra for breakfast as disappointing.
Staff seem bored

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Just come home from a two week stay at the Khao Lak Merlin Resort. The hotel lives up to the previous ratings by other guests. Rooms are modern, spacious and have everything you need. Only a few appeared to have sea views but the rainforest setting and multiple swimming pools give a variety of positions and pleasant enough views. We loved the architecture with the hotel walkways going between trees and over little bridges that made walking back and forth to our room and reception that little bit more interesting. Saving a bread roll from dinner or breakfast to feed the fish in the little river was fun. The resort seemed very quiet during our stay and we never had a problem with tables in the restaurant or sun loungers.

A big bonus for us was being able to use our half-board dinner vouchers either at lunchtime or in the evening - depending on how we planned to spend the day. The food was nothing short of fantastic. Rather than an institutionalised buffet, all our lunches and evening meals were a la carte. The menu had all the things that our three teenage children could wish for and plenty of specialist Thai options as well. My husband and I have travelled widely and are real lovers of Thai food - in our opinion some of the meals that we enjoyed at the Merlin were without a doubt amongst the best we have ever had. The chef is nothing short of outstanding and although we tried a number of other local restaurants nothing was as good as the hotel restaurant. A big thank you also to the Merlin staff who were unfailingly courteous and efficient. Our only suggestion for improvement would be to please vary the evening entertainment in the bar. It was the same singer and the same songs every night which over two weeks became pretty unbearable and meant that we ended up just avoiding the bar.

We enjoyed walking on the beach although swimming or snorkeling in the sea was impossible as the sea was rough the whole time. Trips out for us included the elephant riding, ATV driving, white water rafting, diving in Phang Nga Bay, Phuket waterpark and go-karting as well as local sights including the Police Boat and Tsunami museum. We enjoyed it all. We also made several trips along to the Bang Niang night market which had some reasonable bargains. Staying during July made the weather a bit of a challenge. We only experienced one day of solid rain followed by a week of almost unbroken sunshine. We then had mixed sunshine and showers but none of it really got in the way. Disappointingly the time of year did mean that the Similian Islands were out of reach. Having experienced Phuket on two occasions just for the day we were so glad to be staying in the much quieter and all together classier Khao Lak. This was our first visit to Thailand and I don't think it will be our last.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Khaolak Merlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Merlin Resort

Address: 7/7 Phetkasem Road, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Merlin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Khaolak Merlin Resort is a deluxe resort with style inspired by Thailand's rich culture, situated approximately 50 minutes away from Phuket International Airport yet set amongst peaceful tropical forest landscape and tranquil beaches. It has direct access to 190 meters of Khao Lak Beach front and is surrounded by 15 acres of lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khaolak Merlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Merlin Khao Lak
Khaolak Merlin Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Merlin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.