We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on beautiful beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Merlin Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Khaolak Merlin Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Merlin Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7/7 Phetkasem Road, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed 5 nights with adult family.
Much quieter than Patong and much better for it.
Set on a long beautiful beach with nearby massage and bar.
Stayed on b&b basis. Breakfast good.
Rooms very spacious, overlooking main pool and beach. Air con worked well and was quiet. 2 bottles of water every day plus fresh pool and bath towels. Very clean.
Staff very friendly and courteous.
Had lunch in Verandah restaurant which has really good menu.
Dinner was taken in the many nearby great-value, restaurants, one of which we thought served the best meal we'd had during the whole two weeks of our holiday.
We stayed in May, which is low season and the hotel was virtually empty. Suited us fine. The only downside was the nightly 10pm curfew imposed as a result of the military coup

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    120
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
81
229
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Lovely hotel and grounds spotlessly clean everywhere, only stayed on B&B package and breakfast was very good. 2 bottles of water in room each day clean sheets and towels daily. Plenty of restaurants within 5-10 mins walk also a couple of small supermarkets. My only gripe was we left the cleaner 100+ baht each day and on our last day she knocked the door and said "you leaving today will you leave me a big tip" which we would have done because she did a good job but we thought it was rude of her to ask so we left nothing. Would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

On arrival we were welcomed into a large grand entrance and were promptly checked into our room by friendly reception staff. We followed the cheerful porter through the sprawling hotel, the grounds are full of flower and fauna which is home to some of the awesome "locals". The grounds are very pretty with a stream running right through to the lake at the bottom, This hotel set on various levels so if you have any mobility issues, you would be best to look elsewhere. Our pool access room did not disappoint we couldn't have selected a better location. The top pool of the waterfall at pool 1. Our room 3133, was immaculate, well laid out with a large shower, sunken bath, robes and slippers, a mini bar, free tea/coffee facilities, a TV and queen size comfortable bed. Our only complaint would be the location of the air con, it was round the corner to our bed so we couldn't feel any benefit until we moved our bed to line up directly in its flow, no trouble sleeping then !!. The patio doors opened to the balcony leading directly into "our" pool. which cascaded down to the lowest level being the main pool with swim up bar, which sits on the terrace alongside the verandah restaurant,( try the gorgeous Mango and Wasabi salad ). The beach bar leads directly onto the clean and picturesque beach, in April the waves can be a little high and a few Jellyfish made their presence known!!. There are plenty of loungers and more than enough space to move them to your chosen location. To the left of the beach are a few little bars and to the right a couple of other hotels. The 5* breakfast is served in the restaurant located on the upper part of the hotel, offering everything you could wish to eat and to compliment there are chefs making fresh, any egg dish of you choosing. There are some nice restaurants just 5 minutes walk outside the main entrance,(our favourite being the Ruan Thai kitchen, turn right at the main road junction, and its about 3 restaurants down).There are also a few shops & bars, a couple of tour operators, motorbike hire and a reliable and cheap taxi service, there's just enough for a little variety but allowing it to remain a peaceful location. And for a change of scenery with a bit of hustle bustle, the main town is only 300 BHT away .....

Room Tip: 3133, located at the top pool of of pool 1. Quiet and central, so everything is reachable within 5 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is probably the nicest that we have ever stayed in, in Thailand. could not find fault with hotel,staff or location.the beach is beautiful, sun-loungers, water-sports or any type of sales vendor are not allowed on the beach. there are a few beach bars/restaurants, but these are located along the back of the beach and jolly good value they are too.
the small village caters for all needs, with a good selection of restaurants and bars, serving excellent food again value. ( our favourite was TIP TOP ) this is located on the main road leading into the village
without hesitation, i can say we will be returning.

Room Tip: mossies are problem, because of the location, take plenty of repellent. they sell good strong stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent 10 nights at this Hotel in Khao Lak and it was simply one of the best holidays we had (16th to 27th of April);
Relaxing
Rooms were done up to high standards
Pools may on ocassions look more dirty, but it is only normal when the Hotel is full of Trees and life!
The kids loved trying to spot the frogs, gekos, birds, bugs,.. the place was full of life
The Beach was just great, clean and not busy at all
We though the Hotel staff were very nice and helpful, the cleaning lady did a great job every day setting up the room
And the food!! The food was great! we really like Thai food and the Hotel had every evening different tasty meals, the desserts were incredibly yummi as well.
Next time we go to Khao Lak will stay same Hotel, We could not find any negatives, also the guys from Infinity Tours down the road were incredibly helpful and when our little one got ear infection two days before coming back to London, they got us to a Doctor friend of them who helped us out of hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 12 nights at the Merlin Hotel. It truly is a gem set in a jungle of fragrant flowers and with plenty of pools for all. The food was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Khao Lak is a very beautiful resort with spectacular beaches which were very quiet whilst we were there. There enough restaurants locally to the hotel to offer a choice of venue and all were extremely reasonable in price - average meal was less than £8 including a couple of cocktails/beers. Only thing that is expensive is wine.
Excellent excursion prices if booked locally at the Khao Lak Elephant Trekking travel agency at far end of town - did the Similan Islands - stunning; elephant trekking and kayaking - brilliant and James Bond and kayaking - great but very touristy.
Overall this was a brilliant holiday booked through Best at Travel using the hotels taxi for transfers. Would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: We had a standard superior room that had plenty of space and a lovely balcony overlooking one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel is built on a hillside so lots of ramps and steps - definitely NOT for someone with walking difficulties but superb in every other way.
A few minutes by bus south of Khao Lak and on a gorgeous sandy beach the main reception is large and cool. The Superior (= standard) rooms are quite big with comfortable beds, sunken baths and efficient air conditioning. The deluxe rooms are so much bigger and with big seperate shower cubicles, big enough or four or five adults (no we didn't!!!!!). Again the air conditioning is brilliant and, with temperatures in the high thirties, it needed to be.
Lunch was served in the sea front restaurant which meant a long descent if you were in the upper part of the resort - and, of course, the reverse journey was a long ascent!!!
Breakfast and evening meals were served in a beautiful restuarant called The Veranda which was in the higher regions....close to the reception area.
Evening meals teneded to be a choice between themed buffet or a la carte, One night the buffet would be in the Veranda, a la carte at the sea front, next night vice versa so pleanty of choice for both venue and food served.
At both venues the food was superb and the staff were pleasant in the extreme. It was hard to believe these people work for less a day than most of us earn per hour - and I'm talking minimum wage UK here.
The spa was a beautiful experience (an aroma therapy massage) and I lost count of the number of pools....some very small but all clean and blended in with the almost jungle feel of the resort.
Good choice of drinks for all inclusive....better than its sister resort in Patong and plenty of menu choice too.
A great place for a quiet romantice stay.

Room Tip: Don't go here if you are not good on your feet....the steps/ramps with the high temperatures and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Merlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Merlin Resort

Address: 7/7 Phetkasem Road, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Merlin Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Khaolak Merlin Resort is a deluxe resort with style inspired by Thailand's rich culture, situated approximately 50 minutes away from Phuket International Airport yet set amongst peaceful tropical forest landscape and tranquil beaches. It has direct access to 190 meters of Khao Lak Beach front and is surrounded by 15 acres of lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Khaolak Merlin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Merlin Khao Lak
Khaolak Merlin Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Merlin Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.