We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday filled with peacefullness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moracea by Khao Lak Resort to your Saves list
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
1 review
“Perfect holiday filled with peacefullness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Hello!

We were there in March 2012 with my mother, and truly enjoyed our stay (especially compared with Phuket Kata Beach)!
Your hotel is a place, where I could stay my whole vacation, without even leaving to the town which is located on a walking distance.
Everything was perfect: the spa up the stairs from the beach in the "three house", the beautiful and clean beach, the rooms (even though they were a bit simple, they were really idyllic), the service with everyone so open and truly kind, the noises from the jungle and sea (and rain) to the room and terrace, and the restaurants with Super good food! ♡
It wasn't a five star hotel (anyway not less than four star in my oppinnion!), but that one I didn't mind, because you're hotel was really the best hotel over and all where I've been (and that has been a lot, due to my working history as a guide) because the atmosphere!

We are coming again to stay at your hotel this winter for christmas and new years with my own family, my father and his girlfriend, and we are already really waiting for it!
Now I would anyway like to know, what kind of renovation are you going to do to your hotel and when should you be totally finnished?
And also one other thing which I would like to know, is that is it possible to get halfboard and for what price? Could you also write some pricess of the massages, since my plan is to go every day :D

Kindly,
Nona from Finland

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Khun Nona S

Greetings from Khaolak Resort

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in 2012. We have shared your valuable comments to our staff and management and we all look forward to welcoming you back this winter.

Regarding your questions about our renovation and development of the hotel. We are closing for renovation and expansion from April 2014 to 30 November 2014. Where we are improving some telecommunication system and landscape work within the existing accomodations as well as upgrading public area and facilities. At the same time we are also expanding some more rooms into the hotel. We will be soft opening on 16 December 2014 on the existing accomodation. There may be some planting and gardening expected to be continued after the opening where we will keep these noises at the minimum level, if there is any. The resort is expected to be grand opening on 15 January 2015.

For any other queries, please feel free to write us, at our website address, and we will contact you directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    74
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
133
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Two couples stayed here together and we all upgraded to beachfront bungalows.

The upgrade was definitely worth the money as we had unobstructed views of the beach and sea. The bungalows are really spacious and very comfortable. My only quibble was the outside shower room which was grand during the day but in the dark a late evening shower could have you coming up close and personal with nature when you least expect it! The only other thing to note about this beach front bungalow is that the resort vehicles do pass you r door frequently and there is a lot of foot traffic as other guests make their way to the beach.

You need to be out early to get well located sun loungers and there definitely seems to be a shortage of loungers for the number of guests staying. The staff are all very friendly and helpful if you have any queries or problems. The hotel restaurant is very nice indeed and is a nice way to finish a lazy day in the sun followed by cocktails at the cocktail bar on the beach.

There are a lot of great restaurants located within a short walk of the resort but the climb up the steep hill out of June resort can leave you a little breathless. The walk into town only takes a few minutes and the choices of bars and restaurants are great.

I recommend getting a local tuk tuk to take you to various waterfalls and nearby tourist areas. We took a tuk tuk with King who is in a local tourist office. She was great and a very careful driver with lots of info to give as you travel along.

Be sure to visit the tsunami museum and see the rescue boat stranded well inland. It gives you a very real sense of what happened to the area. Despite the sadness of the event, the local people have really worked hard to get the area back to a sense of normality.

The resort is located in a nice quiet part of the beach and you can walk quite a long way when the tide is out which is a lovely way to see the area without climbing the hill every time. There is a good shop on site as well as a library and internet access room. You won't be bored!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a beach front or at least the row behind the beach for the best views and less jungle sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Khun Jenny 079,
Thank you for taking some time to write a comment about Khaolak Resort. We are all very pleased that you find your upgraded accommodation to your liking. Our staffs are also happy to know that you like our restaurant and their friendly service.
We will take your comments about the shower room, vehicles passing by and sun loungers into consideration while we are undergoing construction work.
We hope that you will visit us again in the future when our expanded property will be fully opened early 2015. It certainly would be my pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warmest regards,
Daeng Nithithoranan (Sun)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here last year with my friends and love the resort. Its in the middle of tropical forest atmosphere. We had breakfast in the middle of the lotus pond looking at the beautiful khaolak beach. The swimming pools are all surrounded by big big trees.
The best thing about the hotel is the location which is only a short stroll away from the Khaolak city center where you can find nice restaurants and bar. This is one best hotel in Khaolak!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Khun Chaninan,
Thank you for your comments about Khaolak Resort. We are all very happy that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us. Yes, you are correct in that our resort is one of the few that is surrounded by so much vegetation. This has given it a very natural atmosphere.
The resort is now closed as we are undergoing some major construction work. We are targeting to commence operations in December 2014/January 2015. We sincerely hope you will come back and visit us again and we are confident that you will find our expanded property just as good as or even better than what you experienced during your previous stay here with us.

Warmest regards,
Daeng Nithithoranan (Sun)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had a superior room, surrounded by trees which was shady, quiet and peaceful. The beach isn't crowded and neither are the pools. We found the staff to be very helpful, and the rooms were clean. It is in easy walking distance of bars and some good restaurants which is a plus after an energetic day lying around the pool or beside the beach! The Resort is currently undergoing some renovations and I hope there'll be a little more storage space, and for a tall person the safe was a bit low down, but these are minor criticisms. We have already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Khun Meroo,

Many thanks for your feedback on Khaolak Resort.
We are all very pleased you find the resort to your liking. All members of our staff try their best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay here with us and your complimentary write-up has made them feel that their efforts have been richly rewarded. We also thank you for your comments about storage space and will try to make improvements during this construction phase.

We are happy to learn that you are planning to make a return visit. Just a small reminder though; the resort is now closed for construction work. We plan to re-open a part of it in mid-December 2014 and the whole resort from January 2015.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Warmest regards.

Daeng Nithithoraan (Sun)
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just before it get's crowded, as much as Khao Lak can get, the Khao Lak resort is very well situated in the national park.
The resort will keep you in fit physical condition as you will have to walk plenty of stairs, but that's just make it more interesting compared to the neighbouring resorts.
The room was spatious, clean and nice view to the see.
The breakfast was not that great. Tipical for an Asian hotel (English breakfast, baked potates, noodles etc.), therefore for an European coming the first time might not be a good experience.
What I disliked was that I had to bargain with the lady from the front desk the fair for the taxi, Upon the arrival of the taxi she took money from taxi driver and when I asked the second time to call me a taxi and said that I will pay less she said the taxi won't come.
Another thing that I found less pleasent was that most the guests were elder people from Germany or the Nordics who were waking very early to ocupy the beach chairs and come later.
The staff could be trained better in customer service and English. I had to specifically ask them to clean the table on the beach or go to the bar to order drinks. One day I found the left overs from the previous day where we stayed on the beach.
Anyways the place was worth and had an enjoyable experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Khun Dragos,
Thank you for your recent review of Khaolak Resort. We are very pleased that, in general, you find Khaolak Resort to your liking, especially as a way for your exercise!
We try to maintain our breakfast to suit all our guests. In the past we have also received many comments for a good American breakfast and we have tried our best to satisfy the guests on this issue. However, in order to break this monotony for some of our guests (like you), we have also included a section serving local food.
Actually, our Front Office staff can only call the taxi stand, in front of the hotel, on guest’s request. These taxis have their own fixed price, depending on where our guests want to go. The hotel does not receive any commission from the taxis for this service. Our staff will only “bargain” with them when our guests ask for a lower price than that proposed by the taxis. In the case you mentioned, our staff did not take any money from the taxi driver, but rather the taxi driver gave her the money to change for smaller notes.
In addition, the reason why the taxi driver did not want to take you out the second time was because he was unable to accept the price you are prepared to pay him and conveyed this through the Front Office staff.
Thank you for your comments about sun-decked chairs being occupied and staff service level. We will certainly make a note of that. We have now closed our hotel for expansion construction and will re-open for business in December 2014. This will be a good time to train our staff in English and providing efficient service. Although the matter of reserving sun decked chairs early in the morning is a problem we have experienced for a while, we will try to find a way to overcome it when we commence business later this year.
We would like to invite you to make a return visit to Khaolak Resort after our expansion work has been completed and hope that you will have an even better time staying here.
Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a superior room - very clean and apparently being refurbished this year. Although the room was 85 steps up from the beach/resteraunts this really didn't phase us. The resteraunt run by David provided both excellent service with mouthwatering meals - Try the blue crab in yellow curry its amazing. Just 5 minutes down the beach is Peter's bar where you can meet Mr. Moo who will organise any trip you require for excellent prices - try a night on Ko Rat!
The experience was so good we intend to return next February to a beach front bungalow and we're already planning trips for Mr Moo to organise for us. - TOP RATE PLACE

Room Tip: All round wanderful experience - we had a superior room 85 steps up from the beach/resteraunts but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n e england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this resort after Bangkok and Krabi. Its a liitle bit of paradise in an idyllic location.We were upgraded to a superior bungalow which was great so peaceful. Just a short walk to the centre with plenty bars and restaurants and several just outside the resort entrance.Agree with previous reviewers that needed a liittle more storage space but didnt bother us as we travel light. Great air conditioning and also a ceiling fan We will definitely return for a winter break if possible

Room Tip: its personal choice but we liked the superior bungalows as they are near the beach but quite quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Annthomp,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.
Thank you for your valuable time to write and share your wonderful holiday at Khaolak Resort. We are always very pleased to know that our guests enjoyed their upgraded room to a Superior Bungalow.

We have noticed most of comments from our guests regarding the storage space. As we are closing from 1st April to the end of October to have major renovation and also expending to include more accommodation which will modernize the whole concept.

Thank you again for your stay, we look forward to welcome you back again after our renovation.

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan (Mr. Sun)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Address: 26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#22 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moracea by Khao Lak Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, carefully designed so that our guests will experience a new dimension in comfort and luxury while maintaining the original concept of a private holiday within a natural and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moracea by Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.