We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Lak Resort

Save Saved
You added Khao Lak Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khao Lak Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice resort in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just before it get's crowded, as much as Khao Lak can get, the Khao Lak resort is very well situated in the national park.
The resort will keep you in fit physical condition as you will have to walk plenty of stairs, but that's just make it more interesting compared to the neighbouring resorts.
The room was spatious, clean and nice view to the see.
The breakfast was not that great. Tipical for an Asian hotel (English breakfast, baked potates, noodles etc.), therefore for an European coming the first time might not be a good experience.
What I disliked was that I had to bargain with the lady from the front desk the fair for the taxi, Upon the arrival of the taxi she took money from taxi driver and when I asked the second time to call me a taxi and said that I will pay less she said the taxi won't come.
Another thing that I found less pleasent was that most the guests were elder people from Germany or the Nordics who were waking very early to ocupy the beach chairs and come later.
The staff could be trained better in customer service and English. I had to specifically ask them to clean the table on the beach or go to the bar to order drinks. One day I found the left overs from the previous day where we stayed on the beach.
Anyways the place was worth and had an enjoyable experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Khun Dragos,
Thank you for your recent review of Khaolak Resort. We are very pleased that, in general, you find Khaolak Resort to your liking, especially as a way for your exercise!
We try to maintain our breakfast to suit all our guests. In the past we have also received many comments for a good American breakfast and we have tried our best to satisfy the guests on this issue. However, in order to break this monotony for some of our guests (like you), we have also included a section serving local food.
Actually, our Front Office staff can only call the taxi stand, in front of the hotel, on guest’s request. These taxis have their own fixed price, depending on where our guests want to go. The hotel does not receive any commission from the taxis for this service. Our staff will only “bargain” with them when our guests ask for a lower price than that proposed by the taxis. In the case you mentioned, our staff did not take any money from the taxi driver, but rather the taxi driver gave her the money to change for smaller notes.
In addition, the reason why the taxi driver did not want to take you out the second time was because he was unable to accept the price you are prepared to pay him and conveyed this through the Front Office staff.
Thank you for your comments about sun-decked chairs being occupied and staff service level. We will certainly make a note of that. We have now closed our hotel for expansion construction and will re-open for business in December 2014. This will be a good time to train our staff in English and providing efficient service. Although the matter of reserving sun decked chairs early in the morning is a problem we have experienced for a while, we will try to find a way to overcome it when we commence business later this year.
We would like to invite you to make a return visit to Khaolak Resort after our expansion work has been completed and hope that you will have an even better time staying here.
Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    74
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
133
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a superior room - very clean and apparently being refurbished this year. Although the room was 85 steps up from the beach/resteraunts this really didn't phase us. The resteraunt run by David provided both excellent service with mouthwatering meals - Try the blue crab in yellow curry its amazing. Just 5 minutes down the beach is Peter's bar where you can meet Mr. Moo who will organise any trip you require for excellent prices - try a night on Ko Rat!
The experience was so good we intend to return next February to a beach front bungalow and we're already planning trips for Mr Moo to organise for us. - TOP RATE PLACE

Room Tip: All round wanderful experience - we had a superior room 85 steps up from the beach/resteraunts but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n e england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this resort after Bangkok and Krabi. Its a liitle bit of paradise in an idyllic location.We were upgraded to a superior bungalow which was great so peaceful. Just a short walk to the centre with plenty bars and restaurants and several just outside the resort entrance.Agree with previous reviewers that needed a liittle more storage space but didnt bother us as we travel light. Great air conditioning and also a ceiling fan We will definitely return for a winter break if possible

Room Tip: its personal choice but we liked the superior bungalows as they are near the beach but quite quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Annthomp,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.
Thank you for your valuable time to write and share your wonderful holiday at Khaolak Resort. We are always very pleased to know that our guests enjoyed their upgraded room to a Superior Bungalow.

We have noticed most of comments from our guests regarding the storage space. As we are closing from 1st April to the end of October to have major renovation and also expending to include more accommodation which will modernize the whole concept.

Thank you again for your stay, we look forward to welcome you back again after our renovation.

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan (Mr. Sun)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our three children in July 2013 for just over a week. We booked two interconnecting rooms which were simply furnished but nice and clean. We had rainy weather for much of our week but still had a lovely time wandering along the beach to town. The hotel grounds were really lovely, lots of wildlife and well tended. The pools were great and enjoyed by all. The hotel food was the biggest disappointment, room service was awful and the lunch we had upon our arrival, was the only time we ate in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was ok. There are great dining options within easy walking distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly and just wonderful to the kids.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Khun Nicole31,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and we are very happy to hear that you found the hotel surroundings a wonderful escape to nature and enjoyed staying with us.

We regret that you were not satisfied with our restaurants and food while you were here with your family.

We continually try to improve our food and service standards to please everyone of our guests and try our best to make their stay memorable experience to take back home.

If you ever return back to Khaolak area, We would like you to try our Hotel and food one more time as we are completely renovating this summer and will offer new experiences throughout the hotel and restaurants.. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you have a pleasant year....

We look forward to welcoming you back again in very near future

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks in February - this resort stands out from the rest authentic looking nestled on the edge of the jungle and fab stretch of beach.Staff were fantastic friendly and helpful especially Thid,Pon,bow,Nut and David. Food was reasonably priced and delicious,short walk into town numerous restaurants and bars take your pick! Stayed in villa 101 well kept and cleaned daily.Would definitely return had a truly wonderful time celebrated my birthday here big thank you for the cake!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Khun Tracy G,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.

It’s a great pleasure to read your positive review on TA and sincerely thank you for your valuable time to post your experience at Khaolak Resort. We are all pleased to know that our staff made you feel at home.

You may already know that 1st of April we will close for 6 months and to renovate the existing accommodations and also some of new phases. We are all look forward to have a new experience in the coming winter.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warmest regards,
Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely location on a very nice beach, with a number of hotels having access along it. However, they are not intrusive and the resort is reasonably small. We enjoyed our stay and if we were to make any comment regarding the standard of hotel, it would be that in the Deluxe Villa accommodation we were assigned (Room 237), we were expecting a slightly better standard of fixtures and fittings, which could perhaps now be updated in order to keep up with similar styles of hotel now available in this location. The half board food option was very good, however food options in the town, which is a short walk away, were very good also. Other than this, we must say we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Khun Chris K,
Greetings from the sunny beach of Khaolak Resort.

Thank you for your valuable time to post your experience at Khaolak Resort. We are very happy to read your reviews and take note of your comments. As you may know we will close the hotel from 1st April 2014 to completely renovate the whole hotel which will also include the upgrade of all rooms as we have read similar comments from other guests. The number 237 is Superior Bungalow which located in 3rd row, I suggest 1st and 2nd rows are much better location.

Thank you for your choosing Khaolak Resort and We hope that you will return to Khaolak after we do the renovation.

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan (Sun)
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath W. Sussex
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent 10 night here after a stop in Bangkok. We knew before we arrived that the hotel was due to close in April for refurbishment which made us slightly anxious. After checkng in we were ferried on a small buggy with our cases to our room. The room was very nice with a large double bed and view from the balcony down to one of the swimming pools below. One of the frustrating things was the lack of storage space and we had to leave a lot of our clothes in the suitcases as there was nowhere to put them. We also managed to find only one socket which was hidden away below a table.
Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice of Thai/European food.
Each morning I walked along the beach and passed all the other hotels. Although the Khao Lak Resort was perhaps a bit shabby in places, for instance plastic sheeting on some roofs to stop leaks, it had by far the best situation as it blended in so beautifully with the trees. Also it had probably the best bit of beach in front of it.
We had a fantastic relaxing time at this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone even if it is a bit frayed at the edges (but not for much longer).
Finally, the staff were great and so polite!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Khun Alhowt,
Greetings from the sunny beach of Khaolak Resort.

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your holiday expressing your recent experience at Khaolak Resort. We are always appreciative of our guests’ comments; whether positive or negative as in this way we are able to continue improving our hotel and service level.
We take note of your comments and from the 1st of April 2014, we will undergo a thorough renovation of all the accommodations and an upgrade of the hotel standard. This will take into consideration the amenities for our future guests.

We truly hope to welcome you back for another pleasant stay in our new Hotel in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Resort

Address: 26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#19 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Khao Lak Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Lak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.