We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khao Lak Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Moracea by Khao Lak Resort to your Saves list
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Khao Lak Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a superior room - very clean and apparently being refurbished this year. Although the room was 85 steps up from the beach/resteraunts this really didn't phase us. The resteraunt run by David provided both excellent service with mouthwatering meals - Try the blue crab in yellow curry its amazing. Just 5 minutes down the beach is Peter's bar where you can meet Mr. Moo who will organise any trip you require for excellent prices - try a night on Ko Rat!
The experience was so good we intend to return next February to a beach front bungalow and we're already planning trips for Mr Moo to organise for us. - TOP RATE PLACE

Room Tip: All round wanderful experience - we had a superior room 85 steps up from the beach/resteraunts but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    93
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
170
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
n e england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this resort after Bangkok and Krabi. Its a liitle bit of paradise in an idyllic location.We were upgraded to a superior bungalow which was great so peaceful. Just a short walk to the centre with plenty bars and restaurants and several just outside the resort entrance.Agree with previous reviewers that needed a liittle more storage space but didnt bother us as we travel light. Great air conditioning and also a ceiling fan We will definitely return for a winter break if possible

Room Tip: its personal choice but we liked the superior bungalows as they are near the beach but quite quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khun Annthomp,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.
Thank you for your valuable time to write and share your wonderful holiday at Khaolak Resort. We are always very pleased to know that our guests enjoyed their upgraded room to a Superior Bungalow.

We have noticed most of comments from our guests regarding the storage space. As we are closing from 1st April to the end of October to have major renovation and also expending to include more accommodation which will modernize the whole concept.

Thank you again for your stay, we look forward to welcome you back again after our renovation.

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan (Mr. Sun)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our three children in July 2013 for just over a week. We booked two interconnecting rooms which were simply furnished but nice and clean. We had rainy weather for much of our week but still had a lovely time wandering along the beach to town. The hotel grounds were really lovely, lots of wildlife and well tended. The pools were great and enjoyed by all. The hotel food was the biggest disappointment, room service was awful and the lunch we had upon our arrival, was the only time we ate in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was ok. There are great dining options within easy walking distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly and just wonderful to the kids.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Khun Nicole31,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and we are very happy to hear that you found the hotel surroundings a wonderful escape to nature and enjoyed staying with us.

We regret that you were not satisfied with our restaurants and food while you were here with your family.

We continually try to improve our food and service standards to please everyone of our guests and try our best to make their stay memorable experience to take back home.

If you ever return back to Khaolak area, We would like you to try our Hotel and food one more time as we are completely renovating this summer and will offer new experiences throughout the hotel and restaurants.. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you have a pleasant year....

We look forward to welcoming you back again in very near future

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks in February - this resort stands out from the rest authentic looking nestled on the edge of the jungle and fab stretch of beach.Staff were fantastic friendly and helpful especially Thid,Pon,bow,Nut and David. Food was reasonably priced and delicious,short walk into town numerous restaurants and bars take your pick! Stayed in villa 101 well kept and cleaned daily.Would definitely return had a truly wonderful time celebrated my birthday here big thank you for the cake!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Khun Tracy G,

Summer greetings from Khaolak Resort, Thailand.

It’s a great pleasure to read your positive review on TA and sincerely thank you for your valuable time to post your experience at Khaolak Resort. We are all pleased to know that our staff made you feel at home.

You may already know that 1st of April we will close for 6 months and to renovate the existing accommodations and also some of new phases. We are all look forward to have a new experience in the coming winter.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warmest regards,
Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely location on a very nice beach, with a number of hotels having access along it. However, they are not intrusive and the resort is reasonably small. We enjoyed our stay and if we were to make any comment regarding the standard of hotel, it would be that in the Deluxe Villa accommodation we were assigned (Room 237), we were expecting a slightly better standard of fixtures and fittings, which could perhaps now be updated in order to keep up with similar styles of hotel now available in this location. The half board food option was very good, however food options in the town, which is a short walk away, were very good also. Other than this, we must say we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Khun Chris K,
Greetings from the sunny beach of Khaolak Resort.

Thank you for your valuable time to post your experience at Khaolak Resort. We are very happy to read your reviews and take note of your comments. As you may know we will close the hotel from 1st April 2014 to completely renovate the whole hotel which will also include the upgrade of all rooms as we have read similar comments from other guests. The number 237 is Superior Bungalow which located in 3rd row, I suggest 1st and 2nd rows are much better location.

Thank you for your choosing Khaolak Resort and We hope that you will return to Khaolak after we do the renovation.

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan (Sun)
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath W. Sussex
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent 10 night here after a stop in Bangkok. We knew before we arrived that the hotel was due to close in April for refurbishment which made us slightly anxious. After checkng in we were ferried on a small buggy with our cases to our room. The room was very nice with a large double bed and view from the balcony down to one of the swimming pools below. One of the frustrating things was the lack of storage space and we had to leave a lot of our clothes in the suitcases as there was nowhere to put them. We also managed to find only one socket which was hidden away below a table.
Breakfast was a buffet with a good choice of Thai/European food.
Each morning I walked along the beach and passed all the other hotels. Although the Khao Lak Resort was perhaps a bit shabby in places, for instance plastic sheeting on some roofs to stop leaks, it had by far the best situation as it blended in so beautifully with the trees. Also it had probably the best bit of beach in front of it.
We had a fantastic relaxing time at this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone even if it is a bit frayed at the edges (but not for much longer).
Finally, the staff were great and so polite!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Khun Alhowt,
Greetings from the sunny beach of Khaolak Resort.

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your holiday expressing your recent experience at Khaolak Resort. We are always appreciative of our guests’ comments; whether positive or negative as in this way we are able to continue improving our hotel and service level.
We take note of your comments and from the 1st of April 2014, we will undergo a thorough renovation of all the accommodations and an upgrade of the hotel standard. This will take into consideration the amenities for our future guests.

We truly hope to welcome you back for another pleasant stay in our new Hotel in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After resort-hopping along this particular beach strip, we were nearing the end of our trip when my brother came across Khao Lak Resort. And WOW, am I ever glad he did!

We found Khao Lak's hidden paradise! It was reminiscent of those resorts/scenes from travel magazines I used to longingly look through when I was younger.
The resort spreads over an expansive lush land. Everywhere you look is green or rustic, authentic-looking Thai villas or more luscious green!
I'm desperately trying to find the appropriate words in my vocabulary to describe the gorgeous design of the room and resort. In the absence of finding the right words, I've attached some photos in the hopes that these pictures will suffice.

There is a little buggy that will take you from one end to another. You are right on the beach. You are eating delicious Thai food right on the beach. You are in Paradise. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhaolakResort, Front Office Manager at Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear khun Kat W,
Greetings from nature friendly of Khaolak Resort.
The management and staff are very delightful to read your value comment about your recent vacation at Khaolak Resort and we are truly happy that you have found us as featured in one of those Travel Magazine which you have been longing since your childhood. We are very happy that Kholak Resort made you a place of your were dreaming at.
Khaolak Resort designed as a real distinguishing character with carefully decorated as is befitting with green or rustic – to all the travellers who fascinating to (love) the style of Chinose-Portugese .
Khaolak Resort is a very unique comparing with the rest of hotels along the coastline of Khaolak area.
We pride ourselves in being able to offer the surreal unadulterated tranquility of nature, allowing you to relax along the 400 meters of quiet beachfront while watching the rolling waves until the sun disappears behind the horizon.
We always want our guests to be able to take home fond memories of their Holiday at KhoaLak Resort to tell their friends about.

Warmest regards,

Daeng Nithithoranan & Team
Front Office Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moracea by Khao Lak Resort

Address: 26/20 M.7 Petchkasem Rd | T. Khukkhak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Khao Lak Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moracea by Khao Lak Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, carefully designed so that our guests will experience a new dimension in comfort and luxury while maintaining the original concept of a private holiday within a natural and peaceful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Moracea by Khao Lak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moracea by Khao Lak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.